Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (1094 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
24
85
286
451
190
46

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1094 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

Suger dominates the profile. Its similar to Diplomatico Exclusiva with maybe a slightly better over flavor. There is some maple syrup, vanilla, oak, and pepper on the finish with everything playing second fiddle to the sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Boslin from Sweden with 5 ratings

Tried this one on its own a couple of times and I was not so pleased with it but then I had some chocolate while sipping it and then it was really nice.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jab from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

A solid choice. Especially for its price. If you add few bucks though, than you get into a far better rum realm. Added sugar btw.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Margus Mägi from Estonia with 75 ratings

A very good sipper with ice. Similar to Real McCoy

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

Tried neat in glencairn-
Mouthfeel- very thick and syrupy
Palate- caramel balanced with spices
Finish- smooth with minimal ethanol burn

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by cocacola99 from Canada with 20 ratings

I am quite aware of what Appleton estate 12 year old tastes like ..as I have been a HUGE fan of this particular flavour...recently ,the LCBO had the El Dorado 12 year old on sale ....so , I take a gamble ....WOW !!!......never in my wildest dreams did I think that any rum could topple the Appleton ..well ,well...
so , I did a taste test ...the differevpnces between the two are remarkable...the best one I found was the taste of the cane sugar, Appleton uses Jamaican, whilst ElDorado uses Guyanese....
I wholly endorse El Dorado 12 year old ...money ..WELL spent !

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Miroslav from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Pre mňa osobne jeden z najlepších rumov pomer cena-výkon. Vynikajúci rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rummetje from Netherlands with 11 ratings

I just opened the bottle and like it very much! Nice colour. Fruity nose. For me the sweetness is one. Still have to open the ed15 so my expectation for that wan is now even bigger.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jaf from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

I like this rum. It is quite smooth, taste of vanilla in the background.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 55 ratings

Another winner from Guyana. From the first sip you realise this is a premium sipper.
Full of fruit flavours, a deceptively mild burn, lingering taste that oozes fruit and spice.
At £33 a bottle it's got to be one of the best bargains out there, I've certainly paid a lot more for rums that don't really compare.
Never mixed it , maybe 1 small ice cube is all I need
Enjoy, Graham.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 87 ratings

Reasonably priced for a decent quality rum. I'll have to try out more from El Dorado, but this is definitely a good sipping rum.