Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


987 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by ZZ from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

I bought this rum on a friend's recommendation and I can only agree. Excellent rum, pleasantly sweet, smooth with caramel flavor. I'm looking forward to the 15-year El Dorado.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dennis from Denmark with 4 ratings

Great taste, RAW gold color with a hint off Pirates ;)

Posted almost 5 years ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

A very inexpensive, good sipping rum. Great with coke as well.

Posted almost 5 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

i live in a place where restaurants rarely have great rum selections. I was surprised to find a 12 year old El Dorado. With so many positive reviews I looked forward to trying it. This one was a major disappointment to me. The taste was heavy on the Carmel. Sweet but not too sweet and a hint of vanallia But the overwhelming characteristic is the medicinal smell and taste. It smells and tastes like NyQuil - and that's being polite. After a couple it becomes more drinkable but I cannot recommend this rum. It says 12 year old run but it has the smoothness of 12 hour hootch.

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistervee from United States with 10 ratings

Great tasting, complex sipping rum. If I can't afford a bottle of El Dorado 15, I'll go for an ED12 any day. Slightly less sweet to me than Diplomatico Reserva which I also like.

Posted almost 5 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

In one hand you have Appleton 12, in the other you have El Dorado 12. Wonderful value for money and pretty tasty stuff. Another sipper that goes well with a cigar. You also have Mount Gay Extra Old and Cruzan Single Barrel in this particular bracket.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dan from Canada with 9 ratings

A smooth amber with no harsh tones. Definitely a sweet rum and very enjoyable with cola.

Posted almost 5 years ago by ghibz from France with 9 ratings

I don't know why I don't really like this one I've read lots of good reviews and when I finally try this one something was missing I don't know why... I must try another time and for sure I will

Posted almost 5 years ago by lo from Belgium with 20 ratings

Rum sympa mais fort sucré.

On sent bien le côté boisé et gourmand des rhum type enmore ou port mourant il me semble... Dommage que l'ajout de sucre est trop important à mon goût...

Posted almost 5 years ago by boris_dv from Slovakia with 49 ratings

Pomerne sladsi rum za prijatelnu sumu. Vonou mi trochu pripominal Mount Gay Extra old. Velmi dobre sa pije sam bez miesania ....

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jarda from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

Urcite doporucuju, s prijemnym zakoncenim chuti a sladkym nadechem

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jan Ekstrøm from Denmark with 22 ratings

Denne rom kræver ikke det store af dig som smager den - den er lige til at gå til: blød og til den søde side.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Lasse Bloch from Denmark with 59 ratings

hvis du virkelig skal forkæle din cola, så er det her vejen frem.
men bestemt også en rom som kan nydes rent.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rayden from Italy with 44 ratings

First sip, good alchool presence, with some orange notes. After a few seconds sure you'll notice a sweet aftertaste, like vanilla and caramel. For my taste is too sweet, but I absolutely recommend this one into your cabinet. A must have! Value for money unbeatable, very nice bottle!

Posted almost 5 years ago by NL from Denmark with 5 ratings

Pris og smag hænger ikke sammen her. Den har en fantastisk smag af vanilje og en dejlig efter smag af lakrids. Det er bare en god ROM til prisen.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

One of the great ones, El Dorado's reputation preceded itself, and convinced me at my first taste. This might be the classiest mixing rum there is, which can also be enjoyed neat. This will make any drink way better. And for the rum&coke drinkers, please at least consider coke made from sugar cane instead of corn syrup.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Blacky from Austria with 79 ratings

Es gibt doch einen großen Unterschied zwischen dem 12 Jährigen und dem 15 Jährigen

Posted almost 5 years ago by hanz.kubat from Czech Republic with 19 ratings

This rum is for everyone. You can sense some of Diplomatico sweetness out of it, but it's not as attacking. On the palette it's overally sweet rum with hints of complexity. Nose is very pleasant. Not my favourite, but sits between the best I've tasted so far.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ben from Canada with 58 ratings

Un tres bon rhum. Sucrée et doux comme je les aimes. Personellement, je l'aime mieux que le 15 ans.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jörn Rohleder from Finland with 23 ratings

Due to it's reasonably price this is a good rum to have around. Better than the comparable Matusalem 15 yo

Posted almost 5 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

Quite good, but do prefer the 15 year old. This is quite sweet, and taste a bit like the sugar is added.......

Posted almost 5 years ago by thearn3 from Canada with 14 ratings

The first bottle of El Dorado , I only drank it with mix. I am slowly learning to drink rum "on the rocks" and am really enjoying the true flavours of this particular rum! I bought a proper sipping glass and really enjoyed taking my time and enjoying the superb smells as well as taste.

Posted almost 5 years ago by David from United States with 2 ratings

Good sipping rum. Nice sweetness. I would be interested in trying some of the others by this distiller.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Sandro from Switzerland with 15 ratings

Sweet but light spicy fragrance. A delight for the nose.
If sipped it goes from sugar to vanilla then over to a great afterburn of wood.
A delight for the mouth.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

As a whole El Dorado rums are some of my favourite; along with Appletons and Flor De Cana products.
The 12 year old is a tasty rum and at only 35 bucks is a great value.
Most of the El Dorado products I prefer neat but this one I prefer one ice cube to curb the overly sweet taste.
Great smell, smooth finish