Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (1058 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
23
83
269
438
187
46

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1058 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by xCorporalx from Germany with 86 ratings

The smell is fruity and alcoholic...last goes away a bit after letting it breathe...but still sensable...

The taste is good with a burn at the end...the taste sticks a while around...

I tried after the 12 year old the older brother, the elderly dorado 15. Did not like it too much...it kinda stinks compared to the 12. I am surprised as well that they differ so much from each other...the taste is Ok from the 15, but the smell and taste is in my opinion way better with the younger 12.

I give the 12 a solid 7...but there are better rums out there...for example the Plantation 20th Anniversary...from the price range closer to the 15. In the same price range of the 12 ist the Ron Barco de Vargas which tastes better than the 12.

I will keep the 12 in my bar stock though.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by SNAX-EYZ from Canada with 7 ratings

It's a rough start and finish. Even in coke it's not great.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by MichielV from Netherlands with 21 ratings

The El Dorado 12-year is an excellent rum and it is one of the best in its price range. It has a very aromatic and powerful nose; sweet and citrusy. You taste caramel and oak in a balance that is nearly perfect. The powerful aftertaste lasts long in your mouth. It's a perfect sipper!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 44 ratings

It may not be what I look for in a rum, but I can appreciate that it's a very flavourful rum with a depth that many will appreciate.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jesse Mora from United States with 10 ratings

It’s a decent rum but at the price point it’s a bit more than I could justify. If it were ten dollars less I’d say it’d be good but i don’t understand the hype on this one. It’s a bit sweet followed by a harsh alcohol burn, not terrible but for a more premium rum I expected more. However with that said I like my rum sweet, so if you like less sweet and bitier rum this is for you, but if you want a sweet rum that is smoother go get Diplomático.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Glen from United States with 53 ratings

especially in an old fashioned. This is good. They story is great. Wooden stills are the greatest. This could be better but it’s towards the top of my list and some of the best not made in Barbados.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Dieter from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Very nice rum, not difficult to drink, nice for beginners.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Svehloun from Czech Republic with 15 ratings

Dobrý rum za málo peněz. Nenadch ničím zvláštním, ale stejně tak mně na něm vůbec nic nevadilo. Pro občasné popíjení ideální. Trochu ostřejší závěr, na začátek sladší ale ne moc.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by SaidWhatWhen from United States with 9 ratings

Very similar in taste to the above, but a bit richer. Not sure how the Venezuelans are still producing anything aged as the economy is in ruins, so I like to think that this rum still holds true to tradition.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jura from Czech Republic with 28 ratings

Best rum under 20 eur. Ok taste. Not something I would buy to home bar but great within given limit.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by David Dechene from Canada with 5 ratings

Better than most, but not as good as the 15. I prefer the 2006 single still releases by El Dorado