Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


987 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Jimmyan from KR with 19 ratings

when you base rum quality with Bacardi as standard, it just shows that you would drink anything with three letters on the label. but if you base all other rums with this one, it will make you seem like a very well versed rum taster.

the quality of the liquid itself speaks for itself. great flavor and character. if you want a great sipping rum in your cabinet, this should belong at top tier selection. toss out those mediocre rums and make this your standard rum of choice stat!

Posted over 4 years ago by Fokakya from Canada with 11 ratings

This rum is very smoothe, and interestingly complex. It is an incredible value for such a great sipping rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Francesco from Italy with 5 ratings

Lo puoi bere in qualsiasi modo con o senza ghiaccio assoluto o con un mix

Posted over 4 years ago by Jonas R from Denmark with 13 ratings

Som ved 15-års udgaven indeholder denne en god sødme, dog med mindre kompleksitet. - en rigtig fin, god til prisen must rom på hylden.

Posted over 4 years ago by Trevor from Canada with 3 ratings

Right now this is probably my favorite rum. I'm terrible at describing the flavors but this one has the perfect combination for me. Pour it over an ice cube or two and you have the perfect sipping rum.
Whenever someone wants to try a rum from my stash I offer this up and so far everyone has enjoyed it.

Posted over 4 years ago by FR4N901S from Belgium with 53 ratings

Voici un rhum, à base de mélasse, très suave et parfumé.

Premières impressions, au nez, c'est doux et sucré, sur le miel. En bouche, il est rond et riche. La finale se fait tout en douceur.

Je le conseille pour les amateurs de mélasse :)

Posted over 4 years ago by EW71 from Sweden with 8 ratings

Bought at the German/Danish bordershop for roughly 30 euros...complex and a very good sipper. Chose this before the 15 year old as many consider this to be a better rum regarding its price

Posted over 4 years ago by rumroel from Netherlands with 22 ratings

Een lekkere rum zeker het geld waard wou dat ik meer had gehaald

Posted over 4 years ago by Mike from United States with 10 ratings

The only reason why this rum did not get 10/10 for me is only because I have not tried the 15 year rum yet :) This is a great choice in rum. As someone mentioned about sugar, yes this rum does have a certain sweetness to it. However that is what I look for out of rums personally. This one is great for sipping either neat or on the rocks. And it also mixes very well with the simple juice or coke/rum setups or the more advanced cocktails. This rum is also good in cooking or as a slight topper in desserts. A shot of this on top of a triple fudge Brownie along with a scoop of vanilla ice cream is amazing.

When you have a shot of this it will leave you craving for more. My favorite rum to date. And the price range for this is typically in the high $30s.

Posted over 4 years ago by IGT from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Extremely smooth, pleasantly sweet and very enjoyable.

One of my favourite rums readily available in Europe.

Posted over 4 years ago by sulohanuri from Finland with 27 ratings

This one is really great. Allmost good as Appleton Estate 12. So far my two favorite rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by gilel from France with 29 ratings

Très bon rhum à déguster sec. Je suis toutefois un peu déçu par rapport à mes attentes au vu des autres commentaires. Il ne se démarque pas autant que j'espérais de mes autres rhums.
Rapport qualité/prix moyen (47€).

Posted over 4 years ago by Garden from Czech Republic with 2 ratings

I love this rum example with peanut crackers or alone:-)

Posted over 4 years ago by Cal from Canada with 4 ratings

Good colour, body, and aroma. It is a good everyday rum. I drink IT occasionally with ice but mostly with Pepsi

Posted over 4 years ago by brodequin from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

One of my first rums. I enjoyed it very much! Now, when I tasted better rums, it is not as much prefered as before. But still, I have another botlle, and looking forward to drink it again.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Very easy to sip. Lives up to its expectations, sweet and just not to complex compared to higher end rums.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ghandimaster from CZ with 29 ratings

Good and powerfull aroma and same in taste. A lot of scent like wood, vanila, dark fruits and dark chocolate. No oversweet but sweet. Quite smooth with average power. Very long afterburn. Good for start with rum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Devin from Canada with 14 ratings

in the same price range as Malibu, this is a sipper...seriously, cheapest sipping rum you can buy and it's great. Buy it you can't go wrong!

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jack Panic from Canada with 4 ratings

When compared to its fifteen and twenty-five year counterparts this rum is truly astounding. Very sweet, and with a richness usually reserved for more expensive drinks this has quickly become one of my personal favourites. That being said I would not recommend this be mixed with anything to avoid overloading the already robust character.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Reddew from United States with 53 ratings

I'm more of a rum and coke fan than just rum straight. But this is good on the rocks.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Joshua from United States with 2 ratings

This is hands down my favorite rum. Very easy to drink, great depth, and everyone I share this with immediately becomes a fan.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marcin from Poland with 10 ratings

Nice sweet sipping rum but not so sweet like Diplomatico RE.

Posted almost 5 years ago by mr.wazzotic from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

One of my favs - complex and rich in all aspects with a smooth taste. Very pleasant to drink.

Posted almost 5 years ago by katsaros antonios from Greece with 17 ratings

δεν είναι απο τα αγαπημένα μου αλλά το οτι είναι ένα γνήσιο ρούμι θα το πώ.έχει όλα τα στοιχεία που πρέπει να έχει(χρώμα αρωμα γεύση) απλά μου βγάζει λίγο παραπανω αλκόλ απο οτι ήθελα

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jim from United States with 10 ratings

I am a big fan of the Molasses / Caramel type flavoring in a Rum. Not too sweet, but the flavors are there. This Rum doesn't disappoint on those flavor notes! This one is definitely in my rotation.