Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


986 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Nice Rum, it goes in the direction of Whiskey. not to Sweet, very pleasant.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mywordsandstuff.com from Canada with 1 rating

Great flavor, inexpensive compared to similar tasting rums.

Posted over 4 years ago by TIE-BONE from Germany with 33 ratings

Nice smell of coke when poured in the glass. With the sweetness the alcohol is not the first taste. Various notes one the sweetness has disappeared from the tongue.

Posted over 4 years ago by Phil from French Guiana with 146 ratings

Rhum du Guyana qui s'est forgé une belle réputation.
Design : jolie présentation, avec un bouchon en liège, ce rhum a une belle couleur ambrée.
Nez : fruité et caramel.
Goût : attaque très douce puis montée en puissance des arômes, boisé, pointe d'amertume puis longue finale très moelleuse.
Même si on retrouve la rondeur des rhums de tradition anglaise, ce rhum est trop sucré pour être honnête.
Niveau goût, on se rapproche du "diplomatico reserva exclusiva" avec un arôme caramel moins prononcé.

Posted over 4 years ago by Bearded Dude from Canada with 1 rating

I'm fairly new to spirits so I read some reviews on good sipping rums and this was up near the top as a good beginner and beyond. I do see that there is added sugar in this but it's not enough to concern me.. i'm not exactly a connoisseur yet.

That said I do find this very smooth and easy as a beginner, quite sweet. My previous purchases were for Kraken and Sailor Jerrys which are both spiced and a bit harsh so I just mix those. This El Dorado 12 straight up is fantastic to me though. If you're just getting into rums and sipping, this is definitely one to ease into with. Picked up a 750ml for $35 in Canada.

Posted over 4 years ago by SL from Canada with 12 ratings

Nice but I was expecting more from a 12 year old rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Fred from France with 13 ratings

Très bon rhum guyanais; s'il est certes moins complexe que le 15 ans, et un peu plus agressif au palais, il est d'une très bonne facture, rond, moelleux et sucré. Le nez est très fruité, en bouche on retrouve le caramel et des touches de fruits rouges, de noix, ainsi que des notes un peu amères d'écorces d'orange. La finale est persistante et très agréable. Pour le prix, c'est un très très bon produit!

Posted over 4 years ago by Mirko Zapletal from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

At the beginning smooth and sweet with a strong nice finish. Very good choice

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Canada with 5 ratings

I just got a bottle of this El Dorado 12 year rum in from a friend I did consulting for, and this is a great bottle. Distinct caramel notes, certainly fruity hints in this rum. Smooth finish, no more to be said. One of my favorites. I have not tried the 15 year to compare, however the 15 year would have to be absolutely outstanding to outshine the 12.

Posted over 4 years ago by Claus Kaplov from Denmark with 6 ratings

I got this rum as a gift from my mother. It was my first rum and as such my first love in the world of rum. It is sweet, has a lot of smoke and wood flavours and is an easy rum to enjoy, even for beginners.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum has a nice deep golden-red colour, with a pleasantly mild sweet alcohol smell. This is a well balanced sweet tasting rum, with enough of a smokey finish to make it an enjoyable sipper.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jacob Saaby Nielsen from Denmark with 20 ratings

The bottle is to small ;) Great for just sipping. Sweet with a gentle sharpness. Love it.

Posted over 4 years ago by Linas from Norway with 33 ratings

Very smooth and nice aroma. Good choice for that money.

Posted over 4 years ago by IceBear from Germany with 22 ratings

Sweet and smooth straight up. Easily recommendable to people new to rum.

The differences between the 12-year and 15-year El Dorado are existent but slim in my opinion. While I do prefer the 15-year overall, if you can get the 12-year for much cheaper, go for it.

EDIT: After comparing the 12-year and 15-year again, I'd say the 15-year has a more complex taste compared to the 12-year and the 12-year overall just goes down easier since it is sweeter.

Posted over 4 years ago by JCarter from United States with 27 ratings

The aftertaste is a bit stale after mixing this with cola. I'm not sure what it is but it seems to just linger in a bad way after a sip.

Posted over 4 years ago by Brad Cannon from United States with 27 ratings

Not sure if I'm doing this rum justice as I had it only the once after a couple of whiskeys but I found it a bit lighter and sweeter than its 15 yr old brother which I prefer. Will have to try again with the 15 year sometime and perhaps revise my score if it impresses me further

Posted over 4 years ago by Steve62lee from United Kingdom with 1 rating

My absolute favourite it's smooth warming aroma lifts my spirits if there is one to better it let me know

Posted over 4 years ago by Tim from United States with 2 ratings

I am just starting drinking rum, so I need to learn more before giving reviews.

Posted over 4 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

The El Dorado 12 Year rum is sweet but spicy. I always catch myself comparing it with the even sweeter but somewhat similar Ron Botucal. I like El Dorado more. :)

Posted over 4 years ago by Tobias from Denmark with 29 ratings

First sip burns and warm up your throath with a nice sweet smoked tast. Second sip leave you with a pleasant smooth tast of karamel and spicies almost coating your mouth.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mr. Dave from Slovakia with 6 ratings

Has nice demerara flavors and goes down lightly and smoothly.
The oakiness is a bit stronger, than I would like and the sugar content knocks down a point from the rating. Sweet alcohols give me headache and I've surely felt those ~40g/l.

Posted over 4 years ago by Tchad from France with 13 ratings

De la douceur, c'est le mot pour définir ce rhum! J'ai adoré. Légèrement sucré. Vraiment sur le fruit, la finesse de ce rhum m'a laissé séduit!

Posted over 4 years ago by Meikomat from Germany with 34 ratings

Nicht mein Geschmack da ich lieber etwas milderen Rum bevorzuge. Der erste Eindruck ist recht intensiv. Einen deutlichen Unterschied kann man im Vergleich mit dem 21 Jahre alten El Dorado deutlich feststellen. Nicht meine erste Wahl, kommt nicht in mein Regal.

Posted over 4 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

Kan rigtig godt lide den. Personligt ville jeg offer lidt mere og købe 15 års modellen

Posted over 4 years ago by Fokakya from Canada with 11 ratings

This rum is very smoothe, and interestingly complex. It is an incredible value for such a great sipping rum.