Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (1010 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
20
80
257
423
175
43

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1010 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

B7f9ef06fcee60844529e9879a21ec5a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Dimitris from Greece with 73 ratings

Taste 7,6/10. Nice sweet with little wood, maybe some fruits , also finish with very little cognac taste & some burn. Overall enjoyable....

5137af7ad1677347be616b78a7a258e9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Diana Roberts from Canada with 4 ratings

This is a Rum for Rum drinkers. I prefer not to mix it, sometimes i will add ice
Absolutely my favorite Rum. I get a sweet woody spice taste with hints of fruit and a mild warm finish.
Affordable price for the quality of the rum

F21b05fb77bc778c5a88a9c8a0be09e5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Rumtastic from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Nose: Oak. Immediately there is wood on the nose, some liquorice and a touch of aniseed. A little tar, some petrol and smoke. Once the savoury notes die down there is some sweet honeycomb, caramel, almost bourbon’esc. A lot going on in there, lovely nose.

Palate: Sweet delivery, shame – too much sugar. Good mouth-feel. The sweet hit moves out of the way and then it’s oak again, but more restrained than on the nose. Little of that liquorice with the smoke and then it gets fruity; bananas and that dried tropical fruit that you get in those snack packs in the “healthy” section of supermarket aisles. This actually reminds me of single pot still Irish whiskey, think Redbreast 15 year old if you’ve ever had that.

Finish: Medium in length and stays sweet; that honeycomb is back, caramel, some vanilla and a touch of milky coffee. A little tiny bit of smoky leather in there somewhere too. Given the sugar that is in this it’s not bad at all actually, sticky on the lips still but the sugar isn’t dulling it down half as much as I expected.

more here:
https://rumtastic.wordpress.com/2016/01/19/el-dorado-12-year-old-review/

25772542abd78fc100ae141efa4d19d6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by DrMajki from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Jantarová barva, jemnà vyvážená chuť. Ideální k večerním posezení s dýmkou

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 191 ratings

Sugar: 35 gpl. Updated August 24, 2017.
This is a very good entry level sipper. It's sweetness, spice and smoothness is well balanced, and the strong oak and whisky-bourbon taste has grown on me in subsequent tastings. In comparison to the other aged El Dorado rums, I think the 12 year old has a better taste than the 15 year, but the 21 is their best so far for me. Keep in mind that the 21 Year old version is sweeter and you can buy 3 bottles of the 12 year old for the price of one bottle of the 21 year old, which makes the 12 Year Old a great value.

84898c5924af05e854359af24b9e4a08.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Was really looking forward to this one but didn't totally do it for me. The first thing that got me was the incredible chemical like aroma. Reminded me of my Dad's plastic model glue. While not a terrible smell, it was the strength of it that caught me off guard. It has more of a burn than some of my favorite, couldn't drink this all night but pleased I picked a bottle up. Finishes with a nice caramel aftertaste.

A5ee0d909520bbda04c9aa2f41f90179.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

This is sweet smoky deliciousness at a bargain price! (less than $30 locally)if I add a little El Dorado EHP Single Barrel, it gets even better!

EDIT- this went from being a fav to, damn this is undrinkably sweet in about 18 months.
edited to add sugar test results- 35-39g

399edda35bdbb1406088c46c98b09d25.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 7 years ago by Phil Chiricotti from United States with 2 ratings

Michael from the US is way off. The El Dorado 15 is not good. This is up there with the best of them, regardless of price. Far better than the 15.

8b358cd7963408d84c0c6bd573d793ee.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by rafeener from Canada with 25 ratings

A very oaky rich and blended aged Rum. Not a "all nighter" but with a couple around a fire or in a hot tub is marvelous.

F5390d1f2d44f79a9e27296ed7016b85.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Strike69 from United States with 3 ratings

I have not found an El Dorado I don't like. Consistent across the years.

9ea8706b99dce29dd4ebb456285ade17.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Roger Catan from Netherlands with 1 rating

After some research I decided this was going to be my first rum. The reviews were promising, it wasn't too expensive and I wanted to try something different. I thought of it as a nice pleasant rum to sip, a great starter. It doesn't get boring and I can recommend this one to anyone who is considering to by their first bottle of rum.