Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (1036 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
22
83
263
431
180
45

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1036 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

There are better rums. There are cheaper rums. But for the price (

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Lembu from Finland with 7 ratings

I don't know how this rum won any prices with so much added sugar. It's not a bad rum, whole profile is quite basic (similar to zacapas) but that added syrap sweetnes is a real turn off. Maybe for a teenager taking first sips of alcohol this can be very nice experience but for a grown up man - no, no, no.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Viktor from United States with 16 ratings

As my rum palate has developed I have found this rum to taste better and better. It seems to me like a sweet finishing whiskey, that smells much sweeter. I find oak and Carmel on the front, but sweet vanilla and toffee on the finish. Mellow sipping rum, but not as mellow or sweet as the 15 year. I like the 15 more, but if you aren't a fan of sweet rum the 12 is a great choice.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Diana Roberts from Canada with 4 ratings

This is a Rum for Rum drinkers. I prefer not to mix it, sometimes i will add ice
Absolutely my favorite Rum. I get a sweet woody spice taste with hints of fruit and a mild warm finish.
Affordable price for the quality of the rum

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rumtastic from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Nose: Oak. Immediately there is wood on the nose, some liquorice and a touch of aniseed. A little tar, some petrol and smoke. Once the savoury notes die down there is some sweet honeycomb, caramel, almost bourbon’esc. A lot going on in there, lovely nose.

Palate: Sweet delivery, shame – too much sugar. Good mouth-feel. The sweet hit moves out of the way and then it’s oak again, but more restrained than on the nose. Little of that liquorice with the smoke and then it gets fruity; bananas and that dried tropical fruit that you get in those snack packs in the “healthy” section of supermarket aisles. This actually reminds me of single pot still Irish whiskey, think Redbreast 15 year old if you’ve ever had that.

Finish: Medium in length and stays sweet; that honeycomb is back, caramel, some vanilla and a touch of milky coffee. A little tiny bit of smoky leather in there somewhere too. Given the sugar that is in this it’s not bad at all actually, sticky on the lips still but the sugar isn’t dulling it down half as much as I expected.

more here:
https://rumtastic.wordpress.com/2016/01/19/el-dorado-12-year-old-review/

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by DrMajki from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Jantarová barva, jemnà vyvážená chuť. Ideální k večerním posezení s dýmkou

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 193 ratings

Sugar: 35 gpl. Updated August 24, 2017.
This is a very good entry level sipper. It's sweetness, spice and smoothness is well balanced, and the strong oak and whisky-bourbon taste has grown on me in subsequent tastings. In comparison to the other aged El Dorado rums, I think the 12 year old has a better taste than the 15 year, but the 21 is their best so far for me. Keep in mind that the 21 Year old version is sweeter and you can buy 3 bottles of the 12 year old for the price of one bottle of the 21 year old, which makes the 12 Year Old a great value.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Was really looking forward to this one but didn't totally do it for me. The first thing that got me was the incredible chemical like aroma. Reminded me of my Dad's plastic model glue. While not a terrible smell, it was the strength of it that caught me off guard. It has more of a burn than some of my favorite, couldn't drink this all night but pleased I picked a bottle up. Finishes with a nice caramel aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

This is sweet smoky deliciousness at a bargain price! (less than $30 locally)if I add a little El Dorado EHP Single Barrel, it gets even better!

EDIT- this went from being a fav to, damn this is undrinkably sweet in about 18 months.
edited to add sugar test results- 35-39g
A few years later, this is still undrinkably sweet.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Phil Chiricotti from United States with 2 ratings

Michael from the US is way off. The El Dorado 15 is not good. This is up there with the best of them, regardless of price. Far better than the 15.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by rafeener from Canada with 25 ratings

A very oaky rich and blended aged Rum. Not a "all nighter" but with a couple around a fire or in a hot tub is marvelous.