Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10
1128 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
25
87
298
466
193
47

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1128 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Niet 'bewust' gekocht, maar meer onder het motto 'doe er maar zo een flesje ook bij'.
Ooit stiefmoederlijk behandeld, maar nu een vaste waarde in mijn collectie.

Hij verliest enkele punten bij de neus. De nogal stevige alcoholgeur misleid je van wat er moet komen.
Eens in de mond zal je tong verrast worden van de subtiele zoete, licht rokerige smaak. Het gehemelte geniet nog stevig na van wat lijkt een hoog alcoholpercentage (maar wat niet is).

De prijs zou je doen denken aan een instaprum, maar ik zou dit niet als eerste kennismaking willen krijgen. Ik zou het niet waarderen en laten voor wat het is. Pas later na heel wat gerenommeerde en prijzige rums te hebben geproefd herken je het vakmanschap van deze masterblender!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by MeyersFan from United States with 5 ratings

A smooth and sweet rum with great texture. Very nice with hints of Carmel and Vanilla. Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by davevr from United States with 4 ratings

Not bad, a bit too much burn for the payoff. Wide flavor that fills the mouth. Good for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Hefron from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Hladký, nasládlý, vynikající chuť a vyvážené aroma. Není ostrý. Rychle dochází...

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 72 ratings

*Update* Since my original review and edit, I have since discovered that this rum contains chemical flavoring additives beyond just sugar. I personally don't mind added sugar by itself, but I draw the line at any non-natural flavor additive in rum beyond sugar. The ALKO notes via therumproject list this as containing additives beyond sugar. I deduct 2 points off of my original scores for rums that I discover containing flavor additives beyond sugar that do not disclose them. In light of those findings I deduct 2 points from my original score. According to ALKO, El Dorado's 15 Year contains no additives beyond sugar so its rating remains unaffected (and I highly recommend that rum).

This rum has a wonderfully complex nose of oranges, molasses, apple, and vanilla. These aromas hit you immediately. Upon first impression on the palate all of the above flavors are present and it is delightful. Unfortunately, if you drink it neat the mid-palate has a modelers glue taste which I dislike, which could be explained by the amount of added sugar. However, if enjoyed on the rocks that dissipates. The aftertaste is absolutely lovely comprising of Apple, figs, and caramel that lingers quite a while. Given this experience, I think this rum is best enjoyed on the rocks and allowed to sit a moment. This allows the delightful aromas and wonderful aftertaste to remain while eliminating the more chemical mid-tongue experience. Neat this rum is a 6; on the rocks and allowed to breathe this rum is easily an 8.

**Additional Note** I have found this rum to be the PERFECT baking rum. It’s sweetness and orange notes add amazing character to Rum cake and Crema de Mascarpone recipes

Post edit: Having tried the 15 Year, the 15 year is far superior as a sipping rum, though the 12 year is better as a cocktail rum

Nose: 8
Palate: 5
Aftertaste: 8
Smoothness: 6
Versatility: 9
Price: 7

Total: 7.1

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Lembu from Finland with 7 ratings

I don't know how this rum won any prices with so much added sugar. It's not a bad rum, whole profile is quite basic (similar to zacapas) but that added syrap sweetnes is a real turn off. Maybe for a teenager taking first sips of alcohol this can be very nice experience but for a grown up man - no, no, no.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Viktor from United States with 16 ratings

As my rum palate has developed I have found this rum to taste better and better. It seems to me like a sweet finishing whiskey, that smells much sweeter. I find oak and Carmel on the front, but sweet vanilla and toffee on the finish. Mellow sipping rum, but not as mellow or sweet as the 15 year. I like the 15 more, but if you aren't a fan of sweet rum the 12 is a great choice.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Diana Roberts from Canada with 4 ratings

This is a Rum for Rum drinkers. I prefer not to mix it, sometimes i will add ice
Absolutely my favorite Rum. I get a sweet woody spice taste with hints of fruit and a mild warm finish.
Affordable price for the quality of the rum

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Rumtastic from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Nose: Oak. Immediately there is wood on the nose, some liquorice and a touch of aniseed. A little tar, some petrol and smoke. Once the savoury notes die down there is some sweet honeycomb, caramel, almost bourbon’esc. A lot going on in there, lovely nose.

Palate: Sweet delivery, shame – too much sugar. Good mouth-feel. The sweet hit moves out of the way and then it’s oak again, but more restrained than on the nose. Little of that liquorice with the smoke and then it gets fruity; bananas and that dried tropical fruit that you get in those snack packs in the “healthy” section of supermarket aisles. This actually reminds me of single pot still Irish whiskey, think Redbreast 15 year old if you’ve ever had that.

Finish: Medium in length and stays sweet; that honeycomb is back, caramel, some vanilla and a touch of milky coffee. A little tiny bit of smoky leather in there somewhere too. Given the sugar that is in this it’s not bad at all actually, sticky on the lips still but the sugar isn’t dulling it down half as much as I expected.

more here:
https://rumtastic.wordpress.com/2016/01/19/el-dorado-12-year-old-review/

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by DrMajki from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Jantarová barva, jemnà vyvážená chuť. Ideální k večerním posezení s dýmkou

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Was really looking forward to this one but didn't totally do it for me. The first thing that got me was the incredible chemical like aroma. Reminded me of my Dad's plastic model glue. While not a terrible smell, it was the strength of it that caught me off guard. It has more of a burn than some of my favorite, couldn't drink this all night but pleased I picked a bottle up. Finishes with a nice caramel aftertaste.