Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


987 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Jimmyan from KR with 19 ratings

when you base rum quality with Bacardi as standard, it just shows that you would drink anything with three letters on the label. but if you base all other rums with this one, it will make you seem like a very well versed rum taster.

the quality of the liquid itself speaks for itself. great flavor and character. if you want a great sipping rum in your cabinet, this should belong at top tier selection. toss out those mediocre rums and make this your standard rum of choice stat!

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 344 ratings

Ein Rum für Alle.
Süss und fruchtig, Vanille, Karamell, ausgewogen und süffig.
Ein Rum für alle Tage.

A rum for everyone.
Sweet and fruity, vanilla, caramel, balanced and tasty.
A rum for all days.

Posted over 3 years ago by Stephen from United States with 10 ratings

Good, not great. Balanced flavors. Will drink neat but don't feel it's so special that I wouldn't be willing to drink on the rocks. Good "bargain" aged rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

I just revisited this and at first sip- wow it's really good. After that it's just kinda a sweet mess of semi burnt caramel n oak w syrupy sugar body. It's worth trying if u never had it but I didn't like it as much my second time around. My opinion has changed and I think ED 8 year might b their best I've had at this point. Mind you my preferences fluctuate from sweet to dry, back and forth.

Posted over 3 years ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 32 ratings

Basic brown in color. Modeller's glue on nose. Strong, soft barrel taste, oaky.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rob from Canada with 17 ratings

Well this one has ruined most other rums for me now. It's just awesome, quite sweet but I enjoy that. Pretty good deal at $40cad. I want to share this with people to get them to appreciate rum but am torn because I want it all for myself. I would highly recommend this.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mikoomi from Switzerland with 2 ratings

i love the taste that will keep in your mouth.. the flavour is just perfect, full of different spice

Posted over 3 years ago by Ellis from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Exceptionally smooth rum. Tried my friends and forgot to review so had a second try a month later and appreciated it's quality even more.

Posted over 3 years ago by RumManDan from Canada with 32 ratings

Lovely rum good sipped neat or mixed. Fruity with a touch of vanilla and a light smokey flavour that is enjoyable with a good cigar. Reminds me of a more refined Havana club seven year but, just slightly and definitely more complex. I will certainly buy again... Tomorrow actually since I'm enjoying my last 2.5oz of it as I write this.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Enzo from Italy with 5 ratings

Sweet and warm, with good essences of smoked wood. It's a rum for "every day" drinking. Not to much complex, but good structure and pleasant to taste with friends.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Alo from Estonia with 13 ratings

Drink it about two years ago, but still its my top 10 drinks.

Posted about 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Un rom fin, arome discrete și un aftertaste elgant. O alegere perfecta oricând.

Posted about 4 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

Bit unpleasant smell the beginning. But after a while it goes to oranges.
Lecorice, brown sugar and smoky oak can be recognized in the taste.
Caramel in the finish.

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Yip this is the critter that started me off down the Rum track. Before this rum it was Bacardi or whatever was cheap. This rum at first shocked me because of the way it hits you up front and not being a previous rum aficionado was slapped off my seat. Now when i partake I find that this is an excellent rum. Not real sweet, nice nose, mouth feel, body and finish. Excellent neat.

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc from Netherlands with 30 ratings

This is a sweet rum so when I looked at all the comments I knew this was one for me.
It's nice and warm and smells great.
The taste is great and I really enjoy how smooth this one is and what the aftertaste is like.
If I would compare this one to a rum in the same price range though it would say that it's quite mellow compared to the Appleton 12 year because that one really is flavorbomb.

Posted over 4 years ago by Roberto from Italy with 8 ratings

incredibile ma lo trovo addirittura meglio del 15 anni della medesima distilleria
Quindi perché spendere di più?
Uno dei migliori per qualità prezzo assieme al diplomatico

Posted over 4 years ago by Bastian from Germany with 14 ratings

Heavy, smooth, sweet and spicy. On the palate it tastes like Christmas with raisins and oriental spices. Can't get much better for the money. One point gets substracted for adding too much sugar.

Posted over 4 years ago by vk6519 from Russian Federation with 14 ratings

soft sponge sweet rum, oak, maybe a little, simple-minded, but that's nitpicking

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ole Bodenhoff from Denmark with 46 ratings

lækker let drikkelig rom. Lidt til den søde side.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I had this alongside the El Dorado 21, 15, and 5 in a blind tasting and it came in 3rd (after the 21 and the 15 - no surprise). It has a nice caramel smell and a good taste to match, but lacks the complexity of the 15, and the 21. Of the four, I'd recommend the 15 (the 21 is too big a price jump and isn't really better than the 15).

Posted over 5 years ago by Eric from United States with 7 ratings

This was one of the first aged rums I tried. It was very sweet to me at first, but after a few nights of giving it a try, it really grew on me. By the end of the bottle I came to love this rum. Strong vanilla aroma, smooth all the way through the sweet finish.

Posted about 6 years ago by Gerald from Austria with 21 ratings

I prefer the 12year old more than the 15 or 21 version.
not sharp as the 15 or 21 version, sweeter , and the perfect price
Nose: little bit sweet , spicy , fruity , caramel, smoke , wood
Taste: little bit sweet , spicy ,dark fruit , caramel,vanilla , smoke , wood

Posted about 6 years ago by Drambuster from Germany with 3 ratings

Quite good mixing rum, too much sugar added for a sipping rum.

Posted over 6 years ago by Tikihead from United States with 23 ratings

After spending more time with my El Dorado 12 and 15, I have reconsidered my rating and upped the 12 year to a 10. This is to date my favorite rum neat. I think it was slightly sweeter than the 15 year and overall, I just enjoyed it more. Don't get me wrong. No complaints about the 15 year but if I had to choose between the two, I'd take that 12 year.

Posted over 6 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

Initially there is sweet thick cut orange marmalade and spicy Christmas pudding. This is followed by cinnamon, vanilla, brown sugar and toffee. The taste has instant unfaltering sweetness with a little burn and a spice kick There is so much fruitiness to this rum. Orange, banana, apricot, peach and raisins. Sadly ruined by the fact that that it's sweetened