Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


987 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

especially in an old fashioned. This is good. They story is great. Wooden stills are the greatest. This could be better but it’s towards the top of my list and some of the best not made in Barbados.

Posted over 5 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Was really looking forward to this one but didn't totally do it for me. The first thing that got me was the incredible chemical like aroma. Reminded me of my Dad's plastic model glue. While not a terrible smell, it was the strength of it that caught me off guard. It has more of a burn than some of my favorite, couldn't drink this all night but pleased I picked a bottle up. Finishes with a nice caramel aftertaste.

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

This is sweet smoky deliciousness at a bargain price! (less than $30 locally)if I add a little El Dorado EHP Single Barrel, it gets even better!

EDIT- this went from being a fav to, damn this is undrinkably sweet in about 18 months.
edited to add sugar test results- 35-39g

Posted almost 7 years ago by Phil Chiricotti from United States with 2 ratings

Michael from the US is way off. The El Dorado 15 is not good. This is up there with the best of them, regardless of price. Far better than the 15.

Posted about 7 years ago by rafeener from Canada with 25 ratings

A very oaky rich and blended aged Rum. Not a "all nighter" but with a couple around a fire or in a hot tub is marvelous.

Posted 5 months ago by Jack from United States with 1 rating

Molasses, vanilla notes, dark chocolate, oak. Very easy to put down, great for a beginner or someone who has a sweet tooth

Posted 6 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 42 ratings

I find this rum to be a safe bet for anyone just getting into the world of rum. I like it and want to rate it higher than a 7 but i like the El Dorado 15 year old just a little better. In reality i would give this a 7.5 if it were possible. The only negative i find about it is that it is just a little too far on the sweet side but it's still good. On ice this one becomes an 8/10 because it tones down the sweetness a bit and makes it more enjoyable. I was amazed to visit a bar in Southend, Essex, which actually had this behind the bar! I was so happy to see a bottle of this rather than the usual rums like Captain Morgan etc that this became a 10/10 for the night haha. Every sip was pure gold because of my happiness to find this stocked.

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

This is NOT a great example of Demerara. Too much sweetening done - It covers flavours badly. The age statement is hard to believe from taste, no oak present. Just burned molasses, and sugars.

Posted about 2 years ago by Dr. Brian West from Canada with 2 ratings

Beautiful amber colour, pleasantly aromatic, smooth, sweet, nice finish. If you can find a better rum anywhere near this price please let me know, immediately!

Posted over 2 years ago by paaf from Czech Republic with 49 ratings

I don’t like this rum. Fells bitter without anything special to find in it.

Posted over 2 years ago by Stephen from Canada with 4 ratings

Normally I drink my rum straight, this rum however is something I will break down and add in a combination with a mix (rum mule is a good option). This rum is smother than some others in this price range with a hint of Carmel but has a slight ethanol finish.

Posted over 2 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 28 ratings

The color in the glass is the standard dark, glowing brown hue induced by caramel coloring.

The nose is warm, inviting, with a slight turpentine-like off note usual in El Dorado rums. Dried fruits, ginger bread.

Sugar dominates the palate, counter-balanced by some oak and moderate smoky spice. Notes of apricot marmelade and dates. The mouthfeel is rather thin, with an acidic overtone, the finish is oak with lingering sugar.

IMO weakest of the 12, 15, 21 offerings.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

I believe this rum is a blend of runs from a coffey still and wooden pot still that are all aged for a minimum of 12 years. I find that it has a good deal of complexity to keep the drinker interested. Would recommend as a sipper, or with coconut water.

Posted almost 3 years ago by TroyB from Canada with 13 ratings

This was one of the first corked runs I was ever introduced to and I quickly fell in love. This rum even has its own theme song (if you are a Tragically Hip fan you'll know what I mean). Lately, though, I find it on the sweet side so I have benched it for now, but who knows what the future will bring.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

If you dump 8 sugar cubes into your coffee, you'll love this. It has so much potential, but I can't get around the added sugar. Otherwise palatable, but I can't handle more than two before switching to something less sweet.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jelle from Netherlands with 9 ratings

This was kind of an impulse buy, because of the lovely packaging and the glasses that came with it. Maybe not the smartest move to buy only judging on the outside, but I think the aesthetics are part of the experience too.

Opening the bottle and getting the first smell after pouring didn't impress me. A short sniff gives a sweet and orange'y smell, but stay longer and it gets overpowered by a gasoline-like smell.

Tasting it there is orange, oak, smoke and sweetness. Also right at the beginning there is a very slight hint of that gasoline I smelled before. (Edit: after trying it again, but this time in a sherry glass, I find it much more enjoyable. The larger sips of a tumbler didn't work with this rum for me. I'm picking up a nice caramel now) The finish is sweet, oaky and smokey.

I payed €30 for the bottle including the two glasses, which was the same price as the bottle alone. At this price point I would probably not buy it again, but it has made me curious about the 8 year, as that bottle should be a bit cheaper.

Posted about 3 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

Very complex and earthy (some petrol notes) but quickly becomes cloying with syrupy sweetness. At 40% with additives, this rum is really holding back punches.

A very good quality to price ratio in my market but it always makes me feel some resentment.

Posted about 3 years ago by Alex Birch from United States with 12 ratings

I had this rum during our family quarterly rum nights. This has a bold flavor of fruit passion and spice for an initial impression. You can't get over the complex caramel and oak flavors as they rum settles in on your palette. The finish is smooth, satisfying, and caring. The price point is reasonable but should be higher with the level of excellence this rum gives you. If you have the chance, taste this rum.

Posted about 3 years ago by jandy from Czech Republic with 52 ratings

Po precteni hodnoceni tady, jsem se na tenhle rum opravdu tesil, bohuzel prislo mirne zklamani.

Posted about 3 years ago by Matthew Brown from United States with 27 ratings

Let me tell you this an ace in the hole cocktail ingredient for me. . I've used it in several recipes over the years in amounts as much 2 oz to .5 oz in a between the sheets riff. BUT that high sugar component is a turn off when straight sipping and not always agreeable. Flavor wise you get a super maple syrup vibe to it that hits you over the head. Oh if it were a little more balanced like it's older aged statements. I heard that its coffey still can be smelled from a mile away.

Posted over 3 years ago by Brandon from United States with 6 ratings

This one is probably my second favorite (so far) in my collection. Once it has a little time to breath, it tastes delicious neat.

Posted over 3 years ago by Kim from Australia with 53 ratings

This is a nice flavourful Rum more of a sipper than a mixer and I prefer to mix. Very fruity, very sweet and has a lovely nose. To some extent wasted on me as there are cheaper Rums (Which are not so nice straight) that are created for mixing. This has a different and almost floral flavour profile which I like but not enough to pay double the price as a regular drink. I only had a sample bottle but I would probably tire of this one quite quickly

Posted over 3 years ago by Hans-Durstig from United Kingdom with 43 ratings

A relatively sweet blended molasses rum, but wonderfully round and mellow.
Nice navy style bottle.
Glass: Amber
Nose: What you need to expect, toffee, fruit, hint of spice
Mouth: Sharper than the 21, but liveliness balancing the sugar will appeal to some more than the mellower 21.
Burn: Gentle, sustained.

Probably not for whisky lovers, but I don't know anyone that did not like it.

Posted over 3 years ago by Oliver from Canada with 4 ratings

Lots of banana and fruit. Quite sweet, but still a decent sipper.

Posted over 3 years ago by Allan Toft Noerskov from Denmark with 3 ratings

After tasting this bottle i am convinced i need to buy the older brothers