Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (1058 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
23
83
269
438
187
46

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1058 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Oak wood taste, also a bit like smoked or tobacco flavour, followed with orange and fruity tones, smooooth delicious, good one to me. No burns, great.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Too much sugar for me, but if your into the smooth and sweet your going to like it. Think the opposite of funky dry Jamaican. If your idea of rum is a mixed cocktail but would like to have a sipping neat rum this is probably a safe bet.
Once was enough for me, I'll never buy it again.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rinesh from Netherlands with 1 rating

When opening the botlle you smell something sweet. It looks like the honeybee brought a fresh load of honey. At first you taste a sweet and strong rumtaste. When you hold the rum in your mouth the magic happens. The afterkick of the honey flavour is a experience to remember.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by SP3000 from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Prior to purchasing the 12-year old El Dorado I have bought the 15-year old. Having read many reviews with some people saying they prefer the 12 to the 15 I thought the two rums were at least en par.

The ED 12 tastes sweeter compared to the ED15, even though the ED 15 is supposed to have quite a bit more added sugar. The ED 12 is a pleasant rum on its own and given that it's reasonably priced, I can recommend trying it. You won't like it if you're not into sweet rums thoug

Compared to the ED 15, it's hands down just not as nice. The 15 is much more complex and has a lot more body to it.

Edit: It's best on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by TommyVinegar from Belgium with 46 ratings

It's no secret quite a bit of sugar is added to this one. As shown by more serious drinkers/reviewers and their hydrometer tests. Such knowledge will influence your judgement when drinking but luckily I tasted the El Dorado before reading about it. And yes, it is clearly overly sweet. Most of my drinking buddies agree. I think it aims to a part of the (novice) market that thinks rums should taste like this, because, after all, the stuff is made from sugar cane. If you are looking for a smooth, sweet rum you are better off with the Diplomatico Exclusiva or the Zacapa 23. I found the El Dorado 12 quite monotonous.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Has some nice flavors but the absurd amount of added sugar masks what otherwise may have been good rum. El Dorado is notorious for sugaring their rums far beyond any reasonable standard...so who knows what this rum really tastes like, without the added sweeteners and coloring agents?

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 307 ratings

Aroma: Ve vůni mi jako nejvýraznější přijde kořenitost, a to hřebíček, ale s přechodem (při hlubším zkoumání) až celer, libeček, taková ta polévková kořenitost, skoro bujón.
Chuť: Chuť je fantastická, nejsladší ze zatím ochutnaných rumů, a vůbec mi ta krásná medová sladkost po rozinkách nevadila,takový nektar, který má zajímavé kořenité dokončení, opět se vkrádá hřebíček s celerem.
Body: 89

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Decky from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

The smoothest 40% drink I've ever had. Always a treat. Tastes of dark caramel.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Pavel Strnad from Czech Republic with 19 ratings

Little bit sharp. Not so balanced. Not bad, not excellent.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Craig from Canada with 16 ratings

My review of the El Dorado 15 year old was actually a comparison with the 12 year old. I purchased this rum after reading another review suggesting it was even better than the 15 year old. I would say that my taste differs than that reviewer. I felt the 12 was much harsher on the palate and even the aroma was much harder on the nose. It is a nice rum but fails in comparison to the 15. I tried both neat and on ice. I would not even consider using the 15 in a mixed drink and would prefer not to use the 12 but it would be rhe more likely choice if I did.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Hefron from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Hladký, nasládlý, vynikající chuť a vyvážené aroma. Není ostrý. Rychle dochází...