Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.6/10
1144 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
27
88
304
473
193
47

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1144 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by EW71 from Sweden with 8 ratings

Bought at the German/Danish bordershop for roughly 30 euros...complex and a very good sipper. Chose this before the 15 year old as many consider this to be a better rum regarding its price

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by rhum boogie from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

all the usual bull for the tasting note, hints of this, tones of that, cool if you not so flush to buy the 21 (which is over priced) really nice in a mix, maple syrup, good cider, and ice...can be be sipped or poured over rocks, maybe el dorado should make this in to a solera....yeah, it deserves more than a couple of shots....(the 8 is better!)

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by BerodeQuentin from France with 40 ratings

There is not much to say about that rum except that every buyer will be conquere by it's flavour profile, quality & value for money.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Distiller Evan from United States with 30 ratings

drink neat or on the rocks

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Simon from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

This is one of the nicest rums you can get - at £30 it's a bargain.
Price is not indicative of quality and this rum from this small island proves it.
If you use this in a punch, like my sister did, you need a stern talking too.
Smooth, lots of flavour and no head freeze hit - brilliant!

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by JIsurfer from United States with 17 ratings

I had this, the same time as Diplomatico Reserva. This was good, but not on the same level of complexity as the DR. It still had a slight burn to it, which I wouldn't expect with a rum over $30. I still enjoyed it though and would probably get it again, if it was available here.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

This is my first Demerara rum, and I'm glad I started here! I would characterize it as intensely flavorful and aromatic. A fresh pour exhibits an explosion of scent, taking a few minutes to settle down. Afterward, a unique (to my taste) combination of fruit/candy sweetness and cigar-box duskiness. The palette and finish, though, are almost entirely candy but with the wonderful complexities of 12 years of aging. A llllllooooonnnnnnggggg finish on this one, similar to the Ron Abuelo line.

At just over $20 in my area, a superb value for those who enjoy a sweetly-flavorul sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Shawn Lein from United States with 34 ratings

I paid $20 less than my Flor de Cana 18 YO, and it's almost as good. A complex taste build on demerara sugar cane, full body and long, smooth finish. Excellent sipper! You just can't beat the value.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Dai from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Only recently tried this rum. It is now my favorite rum. If you are looking for a nice sipping rum that won't break the bank then you have found it. This rum is smooth fruity like fruit cake with no alcohol bite what so ever. Just writing this review makes me want to have a snifter of it.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Zeck from France with 61 ratings

Comme l'El Dorado 15, ce rhum du Guyana n'est pas à mon goût. Avec celui-ci et quelques autres, mon désamours des rhums de type anglais se confirme.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by donmichelangelo from Germany with 25 ratings

comes out good in cuba libre but also it is a very nice sipper.
It's a rum that should be always in your rum cabinet.