Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10(1109 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
24
85
293
456
192
47

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1109 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Luke G from Czech Republic with 4 ratings

I really like this rum, with Pampero aniversario it is the best for its price. I think it might be apreciated by rum beginners.
Aroma: Light, sweet and spiced
Taste: Well balanced spiced/fruity taste with specific tone, smooth, sweet but not too sweet.
Copared to:
Pampero anniverasario: Eldorado is bit more sweet, Pampero little more fruity
Diplomatico res exl.: Eldorado is less sweet and more full body

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

This is my first Demerara rum, and I'm glad I started here! I would characterize it as intensely flavorful and aromatic. A fresh pour exhibits an explosion of scent, taking a few minutes to settle down. Afterward, a unique (to my taste) combination of fruit/candy sweetness and cigar-box duskiness. The palette and finish, though, are almost entirely candy but with the wonderful complexities of 12 years of aging. A llllllooooonnnnnnggggg finish on this one, similar to the Ron Abuelo line.

At just over $20 in my area, a superb value for those who enjoy a sweetly-flavorul sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Shawn Lein from United States with 34 ratings

I paid $20 less than my Flor de Cana 18 YO, and it's almost as good. A complex taste build on demerara sugar cane, full body and long, smooth finish. Excellent sipper! You just can't beat the value.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Dai from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Only recently tried this rum. It is now my favorite rum. If you are looking for a nice sipping rum that won't break the bank then you have found it. This rum is smooth fruity like fruit cake with no alcohol bite what so ever. Just writing this review makes me want to have a snifter of it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Zeck from France with 61 ratings

Comme l'El Dorado 15, ce rhum du Guyana n'est pas à mon goût. Avec celui-ci et quelques autres, mon désamours des rhums de type anglais se confirme.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by donmichelangelo from Germany with 25 ratings

comes out good in cuba libre but also it is a very nice sipper.
It's a rum that should be always in your rum cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Simon Richard from Canada with 15 ratings

Meilleur rapport qualité-prix pour mixer ou boire sec.
The best value to mix or straight

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by muppet from United States with 49 ratings

Very nice rum

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Mike McPhee from Canada with 13 ratings

Fantastic colour and flavour. For the price it is superior over any other in its price range. On the rocks or mixed with cola it is satisfying.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by MMihran from Canada with 27 ratings

You can drink it on the rocks, straight up, even with Pepsi! All the possibilities works cuz it's an amazing rum!

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Newf from Canada with 5 ratings

Really liked this rum but prefer the Flor De Cana (12 or 18)