Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.6/10
1144 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
27
88
304
473
193
47

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1144 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by EW71 from Sweden with 8 ratings

Bought at the German/Danish bordershop for roughly 30 euros...complex and a very good sipper. Chose this before the 15 year old as many consider this to be a better rum regarding its price

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

You shouldnt start your rum-carrer with this one,after gaining a bit experience with light rums like 7yo Cubans,its a perfect step-up. Like the 15yrs old,it gives you a warming feeling in your belly which lasts quite long,without biting. The extra added sugar is the only disappointing fact. I edited it now from 9 to 8 ,i sampled a second bottle after years. My taste might changed

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Jan from United States with 7 ratings

One of the best rums i have tasted so far.
Gentle aftertaste, complex flavor, "oily" on the tongue.
Caramel is still very dominant though... but i kind of like it in this case.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Braeckman from Belgium with 10 ratings

une belle bouteille, un rhum à boire sec. tres equilibre, suffisamment sur l alcool mais pas trop. Beaucoup de parfum , multiples gouts d'épices.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by tftowner106 from Canada with 23 ratings

very impressed with this smooth Guyana Demerara rum. I've read the reviews about the added sugar but I just really enjoy the flavour. Excellent supper!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Richard k from Canada with 5 ratings

very nice sweet rum easy on the pallet easy on the nose goes down very well straight up

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

this is truly delicious. I have yet to try the 8, 15, or 21 but I am now looking forward to it. A deep molasses flavor is the first thing that jumps out, but the spices come out shortly after. I will enjoy the rest of the bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum is a sweet aged rum. There is a lack of complexity. The plus is that you can sip half a bottle before you realize it.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by brad from Canada with 5 ratings

Rich color with nice legs
Smell of vanilla brown sugar with a pleasant heat.
I'm the mouth the vanilla comes through with chocolate and appercots. There is the heat again but again it is welcomed.
Finish is smooth with the vanilla lingering.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

Un goût de fruit grille, excellent rhum très balancé !

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by DuPPyQ from Canada with 2 ratings

To this point in my rum tasting enjoyment, this is my favorite. Offering aromas of fruity vanilla saturated in oak with a full robust body, yet smooth with spicy notes and flavours of chocolate cherry, followed by an after taste of lingering oak. Rich, full, balanced. For the price of $30-36 a bottle (Canada), I have no problem getting frequently.