Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.6/10
1144 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
27
88
304
473
193
47

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1144 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by EW71 from Sweden with 8 ratings

Bought at the German/Danish bordershop for roughly 30 euros...complex and a very good sipper. Chose this before the 15 year old as many consider this to be a better rum regarding its price

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Malmberg Olli from Finland with 1 rating

I have tasted about 6 - 7 rhum so far and this one is my favourite. I will continue searching the ultimate rhum, but until then this is my number one rhum

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Scott from United States with 13 ratings

Gorgeous amber color.
Nose is of burnt caramel, oak, and baking spices. Banana!?
Great balance between oak and sweetness. Not overly complex, yet possesses some complexity (if that makes any sense)
Finish is long and smooth. Very lil bite.
Will always stock this.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

With an ice cube this rum is nice. It is a complex rum for a 12 year old. It is abalanced rum , balanced between spicy and sweey. After one glass you will want another, just to clarify that the rum was as good as what you just tasted..

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Mike Anthony from Canada with 8 ratings

Truthfully, this was the best rum I'd ever drank until I tried the 15 year ED. The slight spiciness makes it one of the nicest flavoured rums I have ever tried. I enjoy the finish and the fact that there is no nasty after taste makes this rum a pleasure to sip on.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Mingo from Denmark with 4 ratings

Decent well balanced rom, plenty of sugar, mild. Ready for a glass straight up - I would add ice for extra smoothness.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Aubreywan from United States with 20 ratings

My first sip, I was in heaven. Smooth & sweet. This is the rum that started me exploring quality sipping rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by TDR24 from United States with 3 ratings

I'm not much of a reviewer, but I know what I like. Tried this on recommendation for the "rum guy" at a large liquor store chain in the Houston area. Dark in color, with a hint of vanilla to the nose. Some say it's too sweet, but then rum is made with sugar. I like the sweetness. $27.00/ bottle not bad. The 15 yr old was 38.00. May try it in next to compare.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Markku from Finland with 12 ratings

This is so sugary, that aftertaste suffers. this is full of exotic fruits and sweetness. I don't like too sweet rums, but this is high quality stuff, no doubt.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Kenneth from Puerto Rico with 17 ratings

This is a sweet rum that leaves you wanting more. Tried the 15yr and it just didn't leave as good of an impression. Would definitely recommend....

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

I find this a smooth sipping rum that is over-rated. I prefer a rum on the rocks with slices of lime. I find I use more limes to take off the hard edge of this rum. Good but far from favorite. Aargh!