Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (1087 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
24
85
281
449
190
46

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1087 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small img 20160116 212313

Posted over 5 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 85 ratings

A pleasant surprise and great Demerara rum. Before this rum I had only tasted more Spanish style rums and this broadened my view.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by KnLauwers from Belgium with 6 ratings

Rich and full taste. Quite sweet and a good value for money.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Mikkel from Denmark with 2 ratings

Great taste. Lovely straight up.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Chris from United States with 21 ratings

Some reviews state that sugar was added or artificial sweeteners. Not quite sure how this rum has high alcohol to the nose with a strong bitter burnt taste. I specifically bought this in hopes of finding a "Sweet Rum". No go for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Not quite as tasty as the 15 year old but excellent rum for the price

http://thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com/

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Mads from Denmark with 7 ratings

It have burned smel and after taste...

Think the rest will be enjoyed with Cola...

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

This one is a lot sweeter and less punchy than the 15 yo and to me this one is best used in cocktails but can sip too, if only it didn`t have so much sugar added, 36g/L is a LOT.The 12 year old is aged in used whisky and bourbon barrels. In 2006 it was reformulated, It has tasting notes of fruit, tobacco and orange peel and has tropical fruits and spice nose.This rum contains predominantly copper coffey still rum from Diamond blended with the double wooden pot still at Port Mourant and marques from the Enmore wooden Coffey.Take out the sugar that was added and it would been a great rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 245 ratings

A rum that I find so very enjoyable, especially considering the price. The nose is full and a little spicy with notes of rounded oak, leather, and sweet citrus.
The full demerara palette is smooth with molasse sweetness, tobaco, distinct citrus undertones, some barrel notes and perhaps a bit of liquorice. The aftertaste lingers with a cosy, lightly warming sensation.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Jonas Nielsen from Denmark with 8 ratings

Bedre rom fås ikke til pengene...
Der skal altid være sådan en i mit barskab.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Anders from Denmark with 4 ratings

Fantastic value for money , will always be a favorite !

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Bigdaddy from Denmark with 6 ratings

Kan sagtens drikkes rent, men er dog også ganske forrygende til en rom og cola. Vinder af mange priser. El Dorado er når rom er bedst.

Blev bla. Drukket af den Engelske flåde helt tilbage i 1800 tallet