Posting your rating...
Mezan 2005 Guyana rum

Rate Mezan 2005 Guyana

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


18 Mezan 2005 Guyana ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

I've become a big fan of the Mezan line of rums. They are unsweetened, uncolored, very tasty and affordable. This one is from the wooden double pot still which was moved from Uitvlugt to the Diamond Distillery in Guyana (where El Dorado rums are made), aged 10 years. A couple of swirls in the glass quickly dissipates the alcohol enough to let the tropical bananas and green and black peppers really shine. Delicious right through the finish. If the makers of El Dorado rum had produced this it would be colored brown instead of its natural, beautiful gold, it would be twice as expensive, and it would be laced with 30 grams of sugar. The folks at Mezan, on the other hand, do rum right.

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Beautiful light golden color for this distilled rum in a double pot still wooden from Port Mourant distillery. The nose is white fruit notes such as pear, white peach. On the palate, it's more about the tropical fruits, very soft with a spicy and oaked aftertaste and a nice length. This beautiful light color is due to aging into re-used on oak cask. This beautiful light color is due to aging in oak barrels used more than 4 times and that have been impregnated with the previous alcohol. Reason why, they no longer make coloring.

Posted about 4 years ago by TommyVinegar from Belgium with 46 ratings

Straight from the famed old Port Mourant double wooden pot still at the Diamond distillery in Guyana. It's bottled at 40% - which some demerara cask strenght indie bottling afficionados will consider a missed opportunity - and, in accordance with Mezan's mantra 'unsugared, uncoloured and only lightly filtered'. This rum has tons of character. Take your average pot still funk and quadrupel it. The aroma is strong! This stuff is pungent. It reeks. Fills the entire room in seconds. You can tell this is dirty alchohol - the opposite of a triple distilled clean vodka really - which retains lots of its original flavours. It makes my stomach rumble a bit and yes it will give you a hangover, as can be expected. That's the trade off for all that character. Because the rum is so complex I find it hard to isolate flavours. Some initial ripe fruit. Pineapple, figs, banana and passion fruit and others things I can't put my finger on. It has more body than the Mezan Jamaica XO which has bold aroma's but a slightly disappointing thin body. This one is more rounded. Long dry finish with just enough oakiness, ends in a spicy bite. All in all its a very pleasant, summery rum that will never get boring. I paid 68 euro's for my bottle. Somehow I find that slightly expensive, I guess I associate that price range and above with more regal, formal, tasting rums. But for a Port Mourant single year, small batch bottling - even though it's not cask strenght - it is actually not that expensive.

Posted about 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 382 ratings

A delicious rum that is rum through and through but not a wow factor with a knockout flavour sadly decent cask rum ..

Posted 7 months ago by TY from Austria with 30 ratings

Intensiv, alkoholisch, schwer, würzig. Lakritznoten.

Posted 7 months ago by rkralik89 from Austria with 21 ratings

Fruchtig, interessanter Geschmack. Würzig, aber nicht scharf.

Posted 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

It's not bad for a blanco, better for a cocktail though.

Posted 12 months ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Pleasant nose. Def some PM, if not all. Liquorice, spice. You really have to work at it. And yes, as others have said, it really falls apart on the palate. Still delicious, but just a shell of its former self. Bright. Touch of oak. Not quite as funky as the El Dorado single barrel. 8

Posted about 1 year ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 344 ratings

Strohgelb im Glas, keine Farbstoffe.
In der Nase sehr frisch mit weissen Früchten und frisch gepflückten Blumen. Auch eine gewisse Tiefe von Kakao, Holz und Karamell ist auszumachen.
Im Gaumen richtig lecker und ausgewogen. Aromen von frischgepflückten tropischen Früchten, kandierten Früchten, trocken Früchten und noch mehr Früchte legen sich auf Deine Zunge, in einem Holz Zuber zubereitetes Karamell gesellt sich dazu, Vanille Gebäck rundet das Ganze ab.
Im Abgang schön lang, gehaltvoll hallen die Aromen nach.
Ein toller Diamant für Liebhaber unverfälschter Guyana Rums. Nichts für Süss-Rum Liebhaber.

Straw yellow in the glass, no dyes.
In the nose very fresh with white fruits and freshly picked flowers. A certain depth of cocoa, wood and caramel can also be seen.
In the palate really tasty and balanced. Aromas of freshly picked tropical fruits, candied fruits, dry fruits and even more fruits lie on your tongue, caramel prepared in a wooden pot is added, vanilla biscuits round off the whole thing.
The aftertaste is long and full-bodied and the aromas echo.
A great diamond for lovers of authentic Guyana rum. Nothing for sweet rum lovers.

Posted almost 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

N: Understated fruitness and yeast.
P: Yellow fruit and molasses, with undertones of bread dough.
F: Pineapple and olives (not quite as weird as it sounds, I promise!)
Over all, it's good. It was something different. I'm glad I tried it, and I might even come back to this at some point. Might.

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

2005 vintage guyana rum at 13 years old it's fruity and well rounded but not sweetened at all. Compare this to the el dorado 12 and you'll really see the difference!

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

I have tried several Mezan rums, and usually they are rather good, but the Mezan Guyana 2005 edition is very dry, has a rubbery smell to it, looks almost like a silver rum on color, has a very weird floral rubber taste to it finished with a strong burn.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

Pot stilly, but not too funky. A little cool spice. Creamy. Strong demerara flavor. It's good, but not wowing me.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

I like this rum but I was hoping to like it even more. I like many rum from Guyana and thought this would be another winner. I like it but I wanted to love it. It is a little raw for me. I am hoping to get to know it better in further tastings.

Having enjoyed so many rums with added sugar and color and excessive filtering getting to know this rum with no added sugar, color and lightly filtering may take some time.

Posted about 3 years ago by Olivier from United Arab Emirates with 21 ratings

Rhum étonnamment clair mais qui possède un nez de banane et de vanille agréable une fois légèrement aéré.
Le fait qu'il soit distillé "Port mourant" en fois une autre bonne surprise.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

If you like Demerera rums, this is an absolute belter.

The nose, as others have mentioned, is huge and complex. It is the first thing that really hits you, and from there it carries on through to the palate. While the flavours there are big, complex and long, they are also very soft and there is no harsh burn of alcohol, and oh so easy to drink. Guyanese rums aren't usually my first choice, but I like as a change from time to time, but this is one that can change ones opinion. A beast.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

This stuff is tasty and has it own character that shows there is no adulteration what's ever..

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rob from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

It's a good rumrum, although a bit rough and compared toto Mezan Panama much more taste of alcohol