Posting your rating...
Bumbu Original rum

Bumbu Original

Barbados | Aged

6.4/10 (403 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
26
18
43
75
105
66
38
20

Rate Bumbu Original

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


403 Bumbu Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jjimmy from Slovakia with 23 ratings

Pri tomto rume som mal velke ocakavania pre jeho recenzie a vsebecne renome. No bol som strasne sklamany. Chut ako pri lacnom alkohole plneho bananovej a vanilkovej umelej prichute. Pozitivne hodnotim iba vzhlad flase.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Daniel Lether from Netherlands with 67 ratings

The owner of my local liquor store ( also a rum drinker ) showed me this rum. He had a open bottle for tasting because that is where this rum is special.
Again just as the plantation pineapple this is a fruity rum. The rum itself is a pretty smooth sipper not to sweet, but then you get hit with a sweet wave of bananna. Cool experience and a definate contender for summertime cocktails!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by TommyVinegar from Belgium with 46 ratings

Tons of added sugar (sticky lips), added banana extract and vanilla extract, an ugly, childish bottle that screams 'themepark giftshop': this is a joke. Those 'professional' reviewers on spirits/lifestyle-websites that say this is good rum have either been bribed by Bumbu or have no idea what rum really tastes like. This is not rum, this is a banana licqueur It is so sweet, I was sick after half a glass. Only if your diet consist of liters of sugary energy drinks - and your ability to discern anything but sweetness has long since died - could you appreciate this rum. It's a disgrace.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 448 ratings

I really liked this rum, except the added banana flavor. Might have been an '8' rating had they not added all that banana.

Smells and tastes of banana, vanilla, sweet caramel, spice, nuts, and cinnamon. Not bad, except the banana flavor. :-p If you like natural banana in your rum, then you might like this a lot more than I did.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Darrell from United States with 2 ratings

Being a bit new to the rum world and after trying the mainstream brands , I want to try something different . What drew me to this was the bottle . Reminds me of pirates ( and I love anything pirate) . I like the color almost whiskey like , the nose gave me hints of vanilla and bananas foster. The taste was about the same with a hint of caramel , I don't think you can add enough O's in the word smooooooth . If you can find this rum I highly recommend it

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mic from United States with 4 ratings

This crap is overpriced and overloaded with an unnatural sweetness. There is strong smell of alcohol, vanilla extract, and banana laffy taffy as you lift your glass to take a sip. The body is weak and sugary with a finish that is chemical tasting sprinkled with peppered bananas. This stuff is only good for maybe making mixed party drinks. I can definitely see a bad hangover from over indulging in this one due to the high sugar content. Traditional rum drinkers this is a pass. There are A TON of better rums out there for $30+ that I paid for this one like appletons 12 year rare blend.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

Quite tasty, but overwhelmingly banana flavors hit you. If this was marketed as a dessert rum, or a banana liquor, it would be a different story. But it's a rum, and an eye-catching one at that.
I think this would mix very nicely into a rum punch, but I've only ever had it neat. And, as the picture will show, I've had a few glasses. Maybe one day I'll mix it up...

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jeff Hamilton from Canada with 1 rating

Got this rum as a Christmas present from my kids, acting on a recommendation from our local liquor store - evidently they can't keep up with the demand!
Very attractive presentation with pirate-like "X marks the spot" bottle design and a big cork stopper.
The taste was notable, BIG banana flavour, will plenty of vanilla and caramel in the background, quite a sweetness to it, and very minimal finish with little after-burn. Very smooth, and the first glass was gone before I even realized it.
I do agree with some of the "not like a true rum" reviews others have posted, but taken for what this is, which is more of a dessert drink or almost a liquor, this is a very nice addition to the bar, to be enjoyed straight up on a cold day.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Cardene from Belgium with 17 ratings

More of a sweet liquer than a rum. Too much banana, toi sweet and not enough depth or complexicity.

Ffffff

Posted 17 days ago by Lelly72 from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

I honestly don’t know what to make of this rum, in regards to whether I actually like it or not. To me it has a slight nutty smell, which I do like, so off to a good start. Neat it’s a tad on the rough side, but to counter act that burning sensation, there is plenty of sweetness going on (some argue too much) giving this rum a nice yin and yang balance. With Coca-Cola any unpleasantness evaporates leaving you to enjoy a rum packed with plenty of flavours. Now here is my problem. The majority of people say the predominant flavour coming through is banana. Me, I’m not so sure, because from my first impressions, I thought I could taste hazelnut! Weird I know! Then some people have said they can taste caramel and others have said they taste vanilla. So it comes as no surprise to me that I can not definitively say what this rum actually tastes off. I’ll have to let you work that out for yourselves.

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by Cowboy Neal from United States with 13 ratings

Good mixer, it has its place. Just not good for sipping unless you like loads of sweet