Posting your rating...
Bumbu Original rum

Bumbu Original

Barbados | Aged

6.4/10 (404 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
26
18
43
75
105
66
39
20

Rate Bumbu Original

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


404 Bumbu Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Dirk from Canada with 39 ratings

I have been looking at this at the local liquor store. This last visit they gave us a staste. Wow. The smell of banana hits you before the rum hits your lips. The smell is strong but it is not overpowering and tha flavour is milder than the aroma. The banana caramel and vanilla notes work well together. My liquor store can’t keep enough of it they are always running out. It has its place, its nice to sip but I am looking forward to having it in a cocktail. Enjoy....I did.😋

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Regan from Canada with 70 ratings

Yep that's what you get with this rum a sweeeeeet , cloy, desert rum and well maybe a cavity or two .
If you like sweet sweet rum go for it ,
if not steer clear way clear

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 160 ratings

Sampled this rum and my first impression was the sweet smells of banana and vanilla which felt very un-rum like to me. Tasting this rum confirmed this was an overly sweet rum, probably from extracts rather than from a natural distillation process. While this may appeal to those who prefer sweet rums, I did not like it at all.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Lawson from United States with 64 ratings

And that's about it. Hard to believe this claims to be from the rum haven of Barbados.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 190 ratings

Super rhum que j ai découvert, un goût de caramel avec une finale de banane flambée. Il est très doux je sens que je vais en commander deja une autre bouteille.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

It looks like rum but it smells and tastes vanilla. Too much vanilla for sipping. The vanilla takes over your mouth. I would only have it for sweet drinks.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by FilipT from Czech Republic with 42 ratings

Velmi sladký rum jak ve vůni tak v chuti. Vzhledem k ceně dobrá volba pro všechny kteří mají radši sladké rumy.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Lenka from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Its very sweet, non burning rum. Some ppl may like it. I felt tooons of vanilla and caramel, maybe fried bananas. But i felt vanilla so much, that it taste to me like some chemical aroma which u add to the cake. So thats why myrate is just 5. Here are better rums. (bottle is nice)

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Marco from Netherlands with 44 ratings

How do I start. Confusion is the word that comes to my mind. After two tastings still don't know what to think. Very, I mean VERY sweet smell of bananas and allmost no alcohol. Judged by the smell you'd think it's a liqor. Drinking it you recognize rum at the very end only. A little burn and very thin legs. Strangely enough I still like it but I don't no exactly why. Maybe it's psychologically because the bottle is a jewel. I repeat, the bottle is the master of my cabinet!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 369 ratings

Die Flasche sieht richtig gut aus. Piraten Style. War auch mein Kaufentscheid.
In der Nase: Frucht ? Grüner Apfel ? Nein jetzt eindeutig Banane !
Im Gaumen: Alles Banane !
Abgang: ? Was wohl ? Banane !
Sehr wohl ein süffiger und sehr süsser Rum, natürlich nicht nur Banane, auch Vanille, Karamell und mehr sind mit allen Sinnen zu erfahren.
Eher als Dessert Rum zu trinken, 35 % Vol.

The bottle looks really great. Pirate Style. Was also my purchase decision.
In the nose: fruit? Green apple ? No, now clearly banana!
In the mouth: All banana!
Finish:? What? Banana !
Very much a tasty and very sweet rum, of course not only banana, but also vanilla, caramel and more are experienced with all senses.
More likely to drink as a dessert rum, 35% Vol.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Jeff from Canada with 5 ratings

Had two drinks of this, one straight up, one mixed with Coke.
Couldn't get past the sickly sweet smell of bananas and toffee in either case.
Some may like it, far too sweet for my palate....rum should taste like rum, not a banana dessert