Posting your rating...
Bumbu Original rum

Bumbu Original

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV

6.4/10
517 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
9
8
29
24
61
95
129
80
55
27

Rate Bumbu Original

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

517 Bumbu Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Schultem from Canada with 6 ratings

Phenomenal flavour from the spices. Great at $37, Unbuyable at $72 (which it may sell for)

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2758 ratings

I recently purchased a bottle of Bumbu rum from the local grocery store and what a weird surprise. It is a tad too sweet to earn a higher score than a six and contains too many artificial flavors. Vanilla and caramel are very strong on both the nose and the taste, whereas there is hardly any burn at the end. It's a decent neat sipper for one glass, and then moving into something more flavorful. Well done for a new comer, that's for sure.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jack from United States with 10 ratings

Well blended with great spice overtones, nice taste an mixes well or drunk alone

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Keven Grenier from Canada with 1 rating

Un excellent rhum. Très sucré. À déguster. La bouteille est très belle et correspond à look " pirate " recherché.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kurt from Canada with 1 rating

Amber in color and delicious in flavour. Hints of banana and vanilla, a true delight to sip with a little ice.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

Bumbu is a very unique flavour, bordering on liqueur. Like being punched in the face with bananas. If you like very sippable, very sweet rums, this should tickle your fancy. It's fairly unidimensional, with banana being the star of the show accompanied by some caramel and sweet melon. If I'm craving something different, I reach for Bumbu.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

Aged for 15 years which is surprisingly long for a rum that is going to be infused with spice to hide some of the nice rum flavor of such a well aged rum.
Anyway, this rum, from Barbados, I was able to get for 25$...a steal!
Sweet, fruity, spicy and rich, Bumbu really has created a masterpiece. Throw in some cardamom, butterscotch, sage, cinnamon and ginger and you have a nice flavorful and somewhat complex rum that was helped out by being aged in ex- bourbon barrels.
Enjoy sipping...

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 94 ratings

Trop sucré pour moi. La bouteille est vraiment belle, mais le rhum.... Trop de vanille et trop de goût en même temps.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by caillan from Canada with 30 ratings

A vary tasty rum that i will definitely keep on hand, I would have rated it hight for how smooth it is but that may be due to its lower Alc. content. all in all I really like it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Matt A from Canada with 12 ratings

Smooth elixir type rum with unique burnt banana flavours

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by jolly_roger from Canada with 21 ratings

The moment I opened this bottle and sniffed the cork I knew this was going to be different. It in fact completely surprises you with notes of butterscotch and bananas. Yes, I said bananas.

There are notes of banana, pineapple, mango, peaches and orange zest. There are subtle spices like sage, cinnamon, ginger and some cardamom .This has a lower proof at 35%. I will keep this on my shelf for sharing with other rum drinkers but it is not for your typical go to rum for sure. You are either going to like it or you are not. For those that do not like sweeter rums, this is not for you.