Posting your rating...
Bumbu Original rum

Bumbu Original

Barbados | Aged

6.4/10
489 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
9
8
27
22
57
91
124
76
50
25

Rate Bumbu Original

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

489 Bumbu Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by DavidFiggé from Denmark with 14 ratings

Rigtig flot mørk farve uden at være tilsat farvestoffer eller andre tilsætningsstoffer.
Duften er meget domineret af banan og vanilje og smager følger dette efterfulgt af karamel. Næsten lidt Werthers Ægte agtig.
Bananen er meget dominerende i smag også, men jeg finder det ikke negativt for rommen - det er blot en af karaktertrækkene og noget som gør den skiller sig fra mængden.

Flasken er ekstraordinær. Rigtig oldschool pirat-look! Giver næsten et point i sig selv

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Cowboy Neal from United States with 18 ratings

Good mixer, it has its place. Just not good for sipping unless you like loads of sweet

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by 1000 Beaches from Canada with 1 rating

First of all anything under 80 proof should not even qualify as rum. Then to replace the missing alcohol with sugar water and banana flavouring makes it a liqueur at best. Yes, they also have an XO version at 40% but it is still way too sweet. This is really just a marketing afterthought because they buy it from a completely different distillery and just slap their name on it. I cannot believe some of the high ratings as no serious appreciator of rum would ever consider this stuff good. As a side story I recently witnessed a top-knot in a suit order this in a bar with a full coke mix. I see dialysis in his future.

Small img 20210318 181935441

Posted over 2 years ago by Peter from United States with 27 ratings

If you like your rum to taste like syrup with banana flavouring then this is for you, otherwise I'd stay away! I ended up using mine to soak rasins for baking with! Far too sweet and artificially flavoured for me!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Mr Coone from Belgium with 10 ratings

Bottle has been opened for several weeks before this tasting

Light intense orange-copper colour.

Very intense in the nose with aroma's of ripe banana which is dominating, vanilla and some citrus peel which gives some freshness (and keeps it in balance)
Very soft and smooth on the palate. Alcohol is nicely balanced (only noticed it is only 35% afterwards).
Aroma's of banana, vanilla, citrus peel, marzipan and white chocolate.
Not a long finish, however.
Score: 84/100

This is a very enjoyable and smooth rum.
The banana aroma is perhaps a little bit too dominant, but let it just happen to be that I just love banana's :-)

I think this is also a rum which can be used in some deserts. I was thinking of some good caramelised pastry like canneles de Bordeaux or baba au rum.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Rumislove from France with 5 ratings

True nice bottle with a gold cross. The cork is coated with wax. Color is good smell is toffee, alcohol and something else strange...
First sip and... It taste like child cough syrup and it is almost sweet.
Definitely a deceipt, once again marketing won.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Paddyspubb from United States with 1 rating

A fairly sweet rum that brings a nice change of pace to the traditional tastings. For some it may be a bit too sweet, and if it is to be mixed it should definitely be mixed with a diet soda or it may be overpowering in sweetness. Can be purchased for around 35 dollars in Arkansas and Missouri, and with a really cool glass bottle. It makes for an awesome inexpensive gift!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 50 ratings

I’m indebted to Bumbu for re-igniting my interest in rum. Last year when I tried it I thought it was one of the very best rums I’d ever tried. Having sampled a few more since, I can see the criticism levied against it: too sweet, too much vanilla, more like a liqueur, etc. Yes, those are fair critiques but is that a complete portrait? Having not touched it in a year, I tried it again today and here’s how I see it. The nose has a nice mix of oak, vanilla and toasted coconut. It’s not complex but is certainly far from repugnant. The palate is rather simple too, with sweet vanilla but also something like a maraschino note or almond extract. Yes, it’s sweet, but is it as absolutely unpalatable as some suggest? No! In fact I like this better than Captain Morgan Private Stock, with which it shares some similarity with in terms of overall profile. Both are “dessert” rums, if one had to suggest a name for the category. I think this would be a good rum to serve guests who were not used to rum. The sweetness would be appealing, just as it was for me a year ago. It’s easy to simply “copy cat” criticism here, but while I see this rum’s limitations, I don’t really think it’s as bad as some suggest. De gustibus non disputandum est - there is no disputing taste! Some will like, some won’t. I think it’s ok - neither great but not horrible, either.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by SirZalka from Canada with 7 ratings

Like others have said, it's definitely sweet with a lot of banana. I definitely enjoy it, but if you don't like sweet rums, this might not be for you. That said, if you're just getting into rum and are looking for something smooth, this is far from a bad choice.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 49 ratings

I bought this on the recommendations of several people I know in real life. The bottle has great presentation and looks appealing.

I was excited to try a new rum and I was seriously disappointed with this one. In fact, I wouldn’t call it rum at all. It has a very chemical taste. It’s sweet but with no definable flavors and the aftertaste is horrible. So bad in fact, I needed to wash the taste out with some good rum.

If this was the only rum available I’d pick any other alcoholic beverage first. Moral of the story? Find people here who’s ratings you trust and research before buying. I’ll give this back to the store if the guy wants it. I wouldn’t even give this to guests unless I didn’t like them :)

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

The first thing you can say about this drink is that it definitely has plenty of banana. I hesitate to call it rum. As others have said it's more of a banana/vanilla liqueur. The first sip confirms the aroma.... with a bunch (no pun intended) of banana and vanilla. Warming and then a slightly bitter banana (surprise) finish. I don't think I'd want to have to drink this very often.

There is not really much if any rum character that I can find in this. Too much spice, banana, vanilla etc. It's sweet but not sugary if that makes sense. The flavor of the drink coats the palate and lingers on and on. The longer I sit here with it next to me the more I dislike it. The aroma is overpoweringly banana. I like sweet rums, dry rums and those right down the middle but I don't like this.

I'd have a hard time recommending this to anyone who wants to taste rum. There are a lot of people out there who like spiced rums and think that is what rum is all about but even to them I'd say just stick with Captain Morgan or CM Private Stock. It's infinitely better and much less expensive.

At $36 in Ohio it's WAY, actually obscenely overpriced. Don't waste your money.