Posting your rating...
Bumbu Original rum

Bumbu Original

Barbados | Aged

6.4/10 (405 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
26
18
43
76
105
66
39
20

Rate Bumbu Original

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


405 Bumbu Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

a lot of spiced aroma, very interesting tasting, premium bottle design.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by 1000 Beaches from Canada with 1 rating

First of all anything under 80 proof should not even qualify as rum. Then to replace the missing alcohol with sugar water and banana flavouring makes it a liqueur at best. Yes, they also have an XO version at 40% but it is still way too sweet. This is really just a marketing afterthought because they buy it from a completely different distillery and just slap their name on it. I cannot believe some of the high ratings as no serious appreciator of rum would ever consider this stuff good. As a side story I recently witnessed a top-knot in a suit order this in a bar with a full coke mix. I see dialysis in his future.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by catalyst_245 from Australia with 6 ratings

I tried this once. It's watery and sweet. The fact it's bottled at 35% to save on taxes yet costs as much as a premium blend is not forgivable. Stay away.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Paddyspubb from United States with 1 rating

A fairly sweet rum that brings a nice change of pace to the traditional tastings. For some it may be a bit too sweet, and if it is to be mixed it should definitely be mixed with a diet soda or it may be overpowering in sweetness. Can be purchased for around 35 dollars in Arkansas and Missouri, and with a really cool glass bottle. It makes for an awesome inexpensive gift!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 43 ratings

I’m indebted to Bumbu for re-igniting my interest in rum. Last year when I tried it I thought it was one of the very best rums I’d ever tried. Having sampled a few more since, I can see the criticism levied against it: too sweet, too much vanilla, more like a liqueur, etc. Yes, those are fair critiques but is that a complete portrait? Having not touched it in a year, I tried it again today and here’s how I see it. The nose has a nice mix of oak, vanilla and toasted coconut. It’s not complex but is certainly far from repugnant. The palate is rather simple too, with sweet vanilla but also something like a maraschino note or almond extract. Yes, it’s sweet, but is it as absolutely unpalatable as some suggest? No! In fact I like this better than Captain Morgan Private Stock, with which it shares some similarity with in terms of overall profile. Both are “dessert” rums, if one had to suggest a name for the category. I think this would be a good rum to serve guests who were not used to rum. The sweetness would be appealing, just as it was for me a year ago. It’s easy to simply “copy cat” criticism here, but while I see this rum’s limitations, I don’t really think it’s as bad as some suggest. De gustibus non disputandum est - there is no disputing taste! Some will like, some won’t. I think it’s ok - neither great but not horrible, either.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by SirZalka from Canada with 7 ratings

Like others have said, it's definitely sweet with a lot of banana. I definitely enjoy it, but if you don't like sweet rums, this might not be for you. That said, if you're just getting into rum and are looking for something smooth, this is far from a bad choice.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 40 ratings

I bought this on the recommendations of several people I know in real life. The bottle has great presentation and looks appealing.

I was excited to try a new rum and I was seriously disappointed with this one. In fact, I wouldn’t call it rum at all. It has a very chemical taste. It’s sweet but with no definable flavors and the aftertaste is horrible. So bad in fact, I needed to wash the taste out with some good rum.

If this was the only rum available I’d pick any other alcoholic beverage first. Moral of the story? Find people here who’s ratings you trust and research before buying. I’ll give this back to the store if the guy wants it. I wouldn’t even give this to guests unless I didn’t like them :)

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

To sweet, to much added stuff, might be oke with coke but i don't even want to try, rum should be enjoyable without adding coke..

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Peter from United States with 26 ratings

If you like your rum to taste like syrup with banana flavouring then this is for you, otherwise I'd stay away! I ended up using mine to soak rasins for baking with! Far too sweet and artificially flavoured for me!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 36 ratings

While actually pretty smooth sipping, the amount of sweetness/banana on the nose & palate are just a little too much. Will still drink it occasionally & it seems relatively popular with guests, so worth keeping on hand.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Ari from Barbados with 15 ratings

When you see this is a 35, you know this is gonna get interesting. Its unique. I was surprised, but not pleasantly surprised. This is not rum. When you buy a rum, you buy a rum, and when you buy liqueur, spiced, flavoured and sweetened, you buy that. This is not an aged rum. This is a fruity (banana) flavoured alcoholic beverage, spices, caramel to taste, voila and banana on the nose.

That being said its an excellent liqueur. Mixes quite well and ok on the rocks. Not a rum.