Posting your rating...
Bumbu Original rum

Bumbu Original

Barbados | Aged

6.4/10 (406 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
26
18
43
76
105
67
39
20

Rate Bumbu Original

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


406 Bumbu Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Birkved from Denmark with 6 ratings

With a wery Nice caramel color, smooth taste and a lot of notes like bandana, papaya and other excotic fruits, a pleasure.....

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by RumLee20 from United States with 4 ratings

This one leans more to the sweet side with some heavy caramel and vanilla notes. It's the perfect dessert sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Caverns from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

I enjoyed this, but I knew exactly what I was getting from it. Artificial banana smell is unfortunately a weakness of mine so this was always going to succeed, but that doesn't make it great by any means.
Will definitely find success amongst people who want to say they love rum, but actually just get drunk on this and the Kraken. Overpriced.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by gkyler from Finland with 24 ratings

The scent is dominated by banana. The palate is overly sweet and the banana flavor is overwhelming. I mixed this with various soft drinks including coke and sprite. Sprite made it tolerable and coke turned into a juice. Lastly, the price is not right.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Jpg89 from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

I really like it! The banana init makes it for me it’s not something I have come across in run before it’s one of my favourites!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Fofozem from United States with 3 ratings

Honestly among the worst rums I’ve tried. Tastes so overwhelmingly of banana and is a pretty adulterated rum all around.

Might make a decent cocktail but I haven’t found a good use for it yet.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Mista.c from Australia with 12 ratings

Had to shop around for this and after reading many mixed reviews I was keen to taste this drop. Alot of my excitement came at the fact it had a banana essence- can you get more tropical than that!? After opening the bottle its by far one of the best smelling rums. After taking my first sip I was pleasantly surprised at the great mix of flavours (Banana/Vanilla mostly). There was no toxic burn -just a strong pleasant aftertaste. I have to say this is probably one of my all time favourites. (Full disclosure - Im partial to the sweeter things in life and this is no exception although it mentions no artificial flavours or colourings are added- allll natural) 9/10

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by carl from United States with 46 ratings

This rum is truly not good. I thought some of the other reviewers were just being pretentious and giving low ratings due to a bias against sweet rums. That is not the case. The flavor profile of this rum is just bad all around.

I bought a bottle thinking I was getting a sugary sweet rum. It is sweet, but there is also an overpowering taste (and smell) of artificial additives. I think it is supposed to be banana and/or vanilla, but it is some perversion of those flavors mixed with pure damn it.

I also agree with other reviewers that the bottle looks a bit childish, like an over-stylized prop from a Pirates of the Caribbean movie. I might be more forgiving if this were a low-cost rum, but at $35 per bottle, it is definitely overpriced. Maybe I can get rid of this by mixing it into Mai Tais?

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by DarkrumandRunning from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

It has a very pleasant, though sweet, banana taste that lingers nicely in the mouth afterwards, it very much leans towards a liquor than a rum and as such I can understand many of the reviews that weren't happy, however I enjoyed it thoroughly and recommend you make your own decision.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Muro9919 from Slovakia with 14 ratings

The banana is great for smell and taste but this one is only for dessert

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Flauda from France with 14 ratings

Sweet Rhum but too much added sugar with banana flavor overwhelming, and quite expensive.