Posting your rating...
Bumbu Original rum
Bumbu Original rum

Bumbu Original

Barbados | Aged

6.5/10 (346 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
5
21
17
38
65
95
53
30
17

Rate Bumbu Original

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


346 Bumbu Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

1ed1a975c028d0d110cd4fa2020346ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

What I like most when I look at my bottles is when I can call for a particular drink, such as I want a "bumbu and coke". Meaning that the rum itself has such a distinct flavor I can discern it from the others. That's what a truly good rum should be able to do. This rum is deep complicated and rich in a flavor not like anything I have had before kind of flavor either. Something like a banana-cinnamon. Now the only reason keeping me back from 10/10 is the fact it isn't 80 proof. It's 70 proof. Which makes it cheating a little compared to the other rums so I knock a point off. Extremely smooth. This could probably be used as a contact solution no problem, it's just that smooth. Extremely high value for price. Would recommend in any drinking combination.

444db4e829fa650e01afab86587049b2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by mc from United States with 41 ratings

A nice dessert rum with a splash of coke. Intense banana. Sweet, a bit too sweet for a higher rating. Nice and unique.

D8ab2d06eb12e5b3b5a86d203e8279a5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by anfrene from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Bumbu, bananova a likerova vune. Chut po bananove buchte. Za me hodne dobre popijeni

063d7bdc5acbf662c10c618d9ad5e49f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by dml247 from United States with 3 ratings

It’s over the top, but I like it even if others think it’s cheesy.

Ab6b8768c78a642498871b008c967dab.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 127 ratings

Beau rhum pour commencer à déguster et en accompagnement avec un dessert.

3764d457ef4af6c7043a87587cd4eeb1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by locorican68 from United States with 24 ratings

This rum was recommended to me by a co-worker. I've tried once, and this was an instant sugar rush! Super sweet, like eating cotton candy. Not much on the finish, as the sugar and sweetness overpowers the elements of this rum. If you need to, I guess it's ok.

Dee4d663cd043dd2f11dd5dd7b57619f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by rgarver63 from United States with 3 ratings

This was a pleasant surprise. I enjoyed the taste and smell. Nice banana smell and taste. This would make a great Banana’s Foster. Definitely will keep this one in stock.

2b95d54b75eb9ef035fe83591c14e3de.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by TroyB from Canada with 14 ratings

More like a rum liquer than your normal run. Sweet as candy.

Fe33d1f11cdac69f2466cb4653d1aa14.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by SKing from Germany with 2 ratings

Really sweet, but okay for me, because I like it sweet.
It strongly smells like banana, but it hasn't a too strong banana taste.
Smooth.

B7299145450a30ccab1c2aa426980984.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by GoldenFlashGoudy from United States with 7 ratings

The first thing that struck me was the bottle itself, it looked cool enough, but I immediately noticed the % and became suspicious that this was even truly a "Rum". Upon closer inspection of the bottle, you realize the clever wording "Bumbu Rum Co." nowhere else on the bottle does it classify itself as a Rum (most real Rum is labeled this way) which shows its truly a liqueur. That aside, for what its worth it certainly tastes good and if you, like me bought it for the bottle anyways you won't be too terribly disappointed. I think it is ok straight, but where it shines is in mixed drinks. In the end, tasty as it is in the right concoction, a 7 is the best I can warrant giving this because it isn't a true Rum.

520a192501ec3f0a75e0ae4b5ae4b221.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Denes from Hungary with 12 ratings

Yes, more liquor then rum, yes, only 35%, yes too much banana flavour, BUT gives perfect caribbenan feeling, this lightly drink is a perfect summer drink, my friends and me, we all like it, and the girls too. It’s unique, and have a very stylish, old school bottle.