Posting your rating...
Bumbu Original rum

Bumbu Original

Barbados | Aged

6.4/10 (447 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
8
28
19
50
80
114
75
44
23

Rate Bumbu Original

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

447 Bumbu Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dirk from Canada with 39 ratings

I have been looking at this at the local liquor store. This last visit they gave us a staste. Wow. The smell of banana hits you before the rum hits your lips. The smell is strong but it is not overpowering and tha flavour is milder than the aroma. The banana caramel and vanilla notes work well together. My liquor store can’t keep enough of it they are always running out. It has its place, its nice to sip but I am looking forward to having it in a cocktail. Enjoy....I did.😋

Small screenshot 20201129 112551 gallery

Posted over 3 years ago by Lawson from United States with 64 ratings

And that's about it. Hard to believe this claims to be from the rum haven of Barbados.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 190 ratings

Super rhum que j ai découvert, un goût de caramel avec une finale de banane flambée. Il est très doux je sens que je vais en commander deja une autre bouteille.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

It looks like rum but it smells and tastes vanilla. Too much vanilla for sipping. The vanilla takes over your mouth. I would only have it for sweet drinks.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by FilipT from Czech Republic with 42 ratings

Velmi sladký rum jak ve vůni tak v chuti. Vzhledem k ceně dobrá volba pro všechny kteří mají radši sladké rumy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Lenka from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Its very sweet, non burning rum. Some ppl may like it. I felt tooons of vanilla and caramel, maybe fried bananas. But i felt vanilla so much, that it taste to me like some chemical aroma which u add to the cake. So thats why myrate is just 5. Here are better rums. (bottle is nice)

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marco from Netherlands with 44 ratings

How do I start. Confusion is the word that comes to my mind. After two tastings still don't know what to think. Very, I mean VERY sweet smell of bananas and allmost no alcohol. Judged by the smell you'd think it's a liqor. Drinking it you recognize rum at the very end only. A little burn and very thin legs. Strangely enough I still like it but I don't no exactly why. Maybe it's psychologically because the bottle is a jewel. I repeat, the bottle is the master of my cabinet!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 390 ratings

Die Flasche sieht richtig gut aus. Piraten Style. War auch mein Kaufentscheid.
In der Nase: Frucht ? Grüner Apfel ? Nein jetzt eindeutig Banane !
Im Gaumen: Alles Banane !
Abgang: ? Was wohl ? Banane !
Sehr wohl ein süffiger und sehr süsser Rum, natürlich nicht nur Banane, auch Vanille, Karamell und mehr sind mit allen Sinnen zu erfahren.
Eher als Dessert Rum zu trinken, 35 % Vol.

The bottle looks really great. Pirate Style. Was also my purchase decision.
In the nose: fruit? Green apple ? No, now clearly banana!
In the mouth: All banana!
Finish:? What? Banana !
Very much a tasty and very sweet rum, of course not only banana, but also vanilla, caramel and more are experienced with all senses.
More likely to drink as a dessert rum, 35% Vol.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Jeff from Canada with 5 ratings

Had two drinks of this, one straight up, one mixed with Coke.
Couldn't get past the sickly sweet smell of bananas and toffee in either case.
Some may like it, far too sweet for my palate....rum should taste like rum, not a banana dessert

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

What I like most when I look at my bottles is when I can call for a particular drink, such as I want a "bumbu and coke". Meaning that the rum itself has such a distinct flavor I can discern it from the others. That's what a truly good rum should be able to do. This rum is deep complicated and rich in a flavor not like anything I have had before kind of flavor either. Something like a banana-cinnamon. Now the only reason keeping me back from 10/10 is the fact it isn't 80 proof. It's 70 proof. Which makes it cheating a little compared to the other rums so I knock a point off. Extremely smooth. This could probably be used as a contact solution no problem, it's just that smooth. Extremely high value for price. Would recommend in any drinking combination.

Ffffff

Posted 1 day ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 114 ratings

This is the rare occasion where I do not write the review based on the whole bottle consumed, as I would not spend my money on buying the entire bottle. I got two shots of this - well, spiced rum, that is the right category - on two different occasions. For me, there is too much artificial taste and not much rum in this, it is too sweet for my taste buds, banana, toffee, honey. The price is just nonsense for this concoction, supposedly being of Barbados origin, but being actually everything but true Bajan - with all the sugar and additives which are prohibited on Barbados.