Posting your rating...
Bumbu Original rum

Bumbu Original

Barbados | Aged

6.5/10 (354 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
5
21
17
39
67
96
55
31
18

Rate Bumbu Original

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


354 Bumbu Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

1ed1a975c028d0d110cd4fa2020346ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

What I like most when I look at my bottles is when I can call for a particular drink, such as I want a "bumbu and coke". Meaning that the rum itself has such a distinct flavor I can discern it from the others. That's what a truly good rum should be able to do. This rum is deep complicated and rich in a flavor not like anything I have had before kind of flavor either. Something like a banana-cinnamon. Now the only reason keeping me back from 10/10 is the fact it isn't 80 proof. It's 70 proof. Which makes it cheating a little compared to the other rums so I knock a point off. Extremely smooth. This could probably be used as a contact solution no problem, it's just that smooth. Extremely high value for price. Would recommend in any drinking combination.

01785a532a882e3e5d50aaf3a0007083.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by MattR from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Far too much artificial sweetness. Yes, it’s caramel and banana but it’s strayed too far.
Better rums for half the price.

Dad43bcdce8e3e77a329bab3e6f381ab.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by DangerRum from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Smooth with a fruity afters of banana, toffee and vanilla.
Enjoyable as a sipper, with a mixer and very nice as a Jolly Roger cocktail.
Saturday afternoon Lockdown favourite.

988d675e90d8dc818ccf8f915082aed8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by MapsAreCool from United States with 3 ratings

All I’m asking is for you to give it a chance. Right off the bat this rum is far too sweet and has too strong an aroma and taste of banana. Over time though, it starts to sit easier on the tongue. I recommend to drink with dark chocolate or desert which will help compliment the banana.

D7a8ec89f008b9baabeeef9a2ce85f34.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Der er kun en ting at sige om denne: Banan. I duft og smag. Jeg havde læst anmeldelser, men Jeg troede ikke, at det ville være så udtalt. Jeg købte den, så jeg kunne servere den for en af vennerne, som kun vil have meget sød rom. Men det var for meget. Giver 4, fordi den ikke er udrikkelig, den er bare en bananlikør.

Bbab1b851e3aeb6f04a1350dba16e092.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by alazzaro from United States with 4 ratings

Has a hint of a cherry flavor to it, wasn't a huge fan at first but it slowly grew on me to be a fine rum

D5703d9627f3c2f07bd5f1372daf3f45.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Mike Hurst from United Kingdom with 1 rating

I like it. I know it's more of a liqueur, but something about it is very enjoyable.

47bc0dd0c02607f7ceb7d52ff60142a7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by RockHaven from United States with 21 ratings

I am relatively new to rum, and this was my first spiced rum. A retirement gift. Much appreciated. The bottle is spectacular and likely sold itself. Color is medium amber and the nose is, not surprisingly, strongly spice laden. Very sweet upon arrival in the mouth, with an intriguing blend of spicy flavors. Surprisingly dry on the throat, given the sweetness at the front of the mouth. I did not know what to expect and did not know this was a spiced rum until AFTER first tasting. That said, I am pleasantly surprised overall.

Da7fe5e36d32fa0264c3924649dd8c1f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by EZE1999 (PREMIUM) from United States with 2 ratings

Strong banana aroma couples with a banana flavor, Carmel, and strong sweet vanilla. Lots of spice. Drinks much smoother and sweeter with an ice cube

098c7827d72c72a9276be6f3ced82436.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Therealdk from United States with 5 ratings

Very sweet tasting rum with caramel and vanilla flavors. Similar to captain Morgan Private reserve. Would like it to have a bit more ABV especially for the price and a little less sweet.

D143b657283e7badc00d3d9b05c96381.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

Not sure if it supposed to be a spiced rum but it sure tastes like it. I am not a fan. The black bottled one is way better.