Posting your rating...
Grander 8-Year rum

Grander 8-Year

Panama | Aged

6.5/10 (11 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
4
1

Rate Grander 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


11 Grander 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 331 ratings

I have been seeing this rum for sale at around $30 US, but I saw a bottle today going for only $17. Thinking that I had little to lose, I brought it home. It is an 8 year old dry Panamanian rum with no additives. The aroma is almost nothing. However, the 90 proof burn is quite high and obliterates any flavors that could be hiding underneath. Thankfully, the fine print etched onto the back of the bottle was too difficult to read in the store, but this rum clearly does not live up to it's claims. Think of this as a much cheaper competitor to R.L. Seale rums and you can't go wrong. However, this one is just too boring for me. If ice cubes bring out the flavors on a later date, then I will update this review.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

First off, let me say I really like the bottle's overall design with the heavy glass, image of a marlin, and cursive font. This make it stand out visually from most of the rums on the shelf. Secondly the information on the bottle itself intrigued me. Namely that it "wouldn't require any coloring, flavoring or blending additives". This rum, according to the bottle as well as their website (http://granderrum.com/) the rum is made from molasses that originates from sugar cane which came from Herrara, Panama and distilled in "1922 American Copper and Brass Works copper stills ". It is then aged in "ex-bourbon barrels from Kentucky". In this rum's case it is aged for 8 years in Panama (they do have a 12-year rum but the store I obtained this rum did not carry the 12-year...too bad). It also is present at 90 proof (45% ABV) which is higher than standard rums so keep that in mind when sipping this rum.

The aroma of this rum in my snifter is crisp, clear, and nice. Definitely tickles the nose. It is a light amber color and has very good legs.

The flavors reveals no sugaring whatsoever IMHO. It has a hint of sweetness with some caramel tones and some definite pepperiness. There is a mild burn all the way through from the tongue to the back of the throat. There is some oak bitterness from the tannin in the barrels that lasts through the finish. Not objectionable.

This is definitely not a rum for the novice rum drinker. Instead I think this would be a good sipping rum for the bourbon connoisseurs.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 45 ratings

I enjoyed it better slightly chilled, good for sipping, definitely present the bourbon hints.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by aldogerez from United States with 2 ratings

Awesome Rum, excelent flavor, excellent price, good choice

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Love the general profile but the proof is lower than I prefer. If you can find private barrels then that's where it's at with the higher proof!

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Grander 12y Rum bottle and label design looks very nice and unique. Light amber color. There is some unmatured alcohol to the nose and palate with plenty of wood and dryness. Some burn at the end. For whisky lovers, add 2 points. Not my cup of tea being way too dry and woody.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

A little reference to the VanHalen song to get started. Pretty good rum. Nice smell good taste, with a fair amount of burn at close to 100 proof. The usual rum flavor with a little bit of Bourbon toward the end. Pretty smooth for the high alcohol content. I’m not sure Panama is known for it’s rum, but this is a good import.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 39 ratings

I have yet to try it as it is still on my bar untouched for a few months. I just wanted to give it the benefit of doubt with the scoring prior to me tasting and adjusting accordingly.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Co Ka from Switzerland with 86 ratings

It was a special offer here on the web.
I got it because it has 45% alcohol.
In the nose i smell wood, oak, spices.
If you let it stay for 15 minutes, the burn is gone and smooth vanilla and berries are exploring your mouth. Long lasting.
But i expected a little more.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 53 ratings

A new find. Said to be an 8y laid on bourbon barrels. Slight spicy notes with an oaky undertone.
The taste follows through with the smell. Starts smooth but immediately follows through with spicy notes akin to an OP Rum.
For an 8y I was expecting the flavor to be a little more subdued, with rounded mellow flavored.