Posting your rating...
Black Coral Spiced rum

Black Coral Spiced

United States | Spiced

Black Coral Spiced rum, an unfiltered version of their Black Coral Rum that’s infused with natural spices and bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

7.2/10 (18 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
1
1
2
3
2
6

Rate Black Coral Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


18 Black Coral Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by M from United States with 30 ratings

This rum has to be the worst I've tasted . I realize it's more of a budget type but there are FAR better choices out there . Artificial tasting almost like cough medicine - absolutely not drinkable by itself with just slight improvement when mixed .

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Black Coral rum is distilled and bottled in Riviera Beach, FL and is family owned and operated. It is a small-batch operation with great attention paid to detail.

The describe their spiced rum thusly: "Our Black Coral Spiced Rum is carefully flavored using all natural ingredients, if it doesn’t grow in the ground it’s not in our rum. Our rum and these spices infuse to create a profile with an amazingly complex aroma and flavor. Not too sweet, and not too dry. Many enjoy it neat, but a few cubes and a splash of cola and you’ve got a drink that will slap a smile on your face. But don’t take my word for it, give it a try. If you like it then awesome, but of course you will like it, it’s delicious! And you can “pour with pride” knowing that you have helped a Veteran in need, by just enjoying a drink of Black Coral Rum."

They also have the following on their website: "As a family owned craft-distillery, our product is our life. It is the water we fish in and the woods we live in. Our vision is one few ever see. Call us crazy, but, wouldn’t it make sense if people and moreover businesses based their goals not only on how to help themselves, but also how we can help others? And so we ask you to join us in helping a cause very close to our hearts, United States Veterans. There are so many young men and women that have given so much to serve our country, and are finding themselves in need. In light of these brave men and women, we have based this business on the pledge that $1 from the sale of EVERY bottle of our Black Coral Rum goes towards U.S. Veterans organizations."

This rum is a light amber and swirling it in the glass snifter shows the same long legs as their white rum. I once again admit I am unable to distinguish aromas well but can only tell you if I find the aroma good or not. This rum's aroma is quite excellent. The flavor, however, is was makes this rum quite good. In the interest of full disclosure I want you to know that I am no expert and have had no training in recognizing flavors. I am merely giving you my opinions.

With that said I am going to impart something I thought I never would write...

The initial flavor I detect was cloves.

And normally I hate...no...DESPISE cloves...however the folks at Black Coral rum make it work. Heck, even I like it. There are other spices at work here but are well blended to give it a complex delicious flavor. I taste a butteriness along with some vanilla and caramel undertones. Even though it's 80 proof (40% ABV) there's really no burn at all. Not even much of a warmth. It is remarkably smooth! Somehow they have managed to produce a very smooth spiced rum worthy of being sipped straight as well as in mixed adult beverages (try having a daiquiris made with this!). This is flat-out excellent rum. Seek it out. Buy it. It's worth every penny.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Robert from United States with 58 ratings

A decent spiced rum with a good molasses flavor. It would go good with a cola or a cocktail but I don't think I would enjoy it neat.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 47 ratings

Aye, this rum be truly different, and clearly from the same family. She smells even sweeter than her "clear" sister, which not be a bad thing considerin' there ain't no sugar added to her, but she does smell sweet, like candy floss (a favorite), with spice, and just a bit of oak. As for the taste, there be a sweet, buttery, spicy quality about it, and again, with a hint of... mocha? The after reminds me of cake frosting. Nowhere near as much burn in the mouth as her sister, and none down the hatch. This be the more popular of the two Black Coral rums - for good reason - but unless you like sippin' dry rums, she still be best for mixin'. arrgh!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Nose is unique with a full body, almost a coffee smell that was not expected. On the younger there is several spices, vanilla, caramel and more that is much smoother than most spiced rums. Mixed with coke it was a nice treat, almost a desert. With ginger ale and citrus it was refreshing with the spices adding to the taste not overpowering or getting lost.

This may be my favorite spiced rum, of course I’ll have to keep sipping it to make sure.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 334 ratings

Since this one had so many mixed reviews, I have been hesitant to try this one until now. So I thought WTF and bought my bottle two days ago. I get hints of cinnamon, caramel, and nutmeg, but no telling what else lies in this family secret formula. Definitely no added sugar as stated on the notice hanging around the neck.

I ranked it in my master list based upon how well it stacks up against the other spiced rums that I have rated so far. It is not my best spiced rum, but it is also not the worst. So I initially rated it as a 7 at best until it tumbled down to a 5. Don't ever let one's emotions over ride one's brain.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by chris167 from United States with 14 ratings

Added to my collection for decoration at first. Vanilla forward and somewhat basic it seems, this bottle fits a space that has gone long unoccupied on my bar, the spiced rum category. They seem to be a small company and do their own thing, which I respect. I used to use Sailor to fill this space but now used this as a go-to for the need. Keep it up guys.
P.s. you guys get an extra star for supporting the causes you donate to.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Chino from United States with 1 rating

To Who may concern:
Ink Mania Expo has been having the honor to count with Black Coral Rum company as our official sponsor for our annual tattoo convention since June of 2015 , from West Palm Beach to Fort Lauderdale, to St. Petersburg, Florida.

Having Black Coral Rum as a sponsor has been given us a remarkable recognition and prestige to our show. BCR has been so supportive and unconditional to our project from the beginning stages of Ink Mania Expo and that is something we eternally are grateful.
Our guess and attendees already recognize BCR as our yearly sponsor and identified their Run
from the samples, BCR gladly gave us to share with them.

Ink Mania Expo will be honored to count with Black Coral Rum one more time as our
official Sponsor for our next tattoo convention at The Coliseum St. Petersburg, Fl. this next June 5th to 7th 2020!

Thank you Black Coral Rum, always grateful for you have been an important
part of Ink Mania Expo Tattoo Convention!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by jamesshaffer from United States with 24 ratings

This is a great spiced rum. Even better, the company donates a portion of its profits to our blessed veterans. Call me crazy, but this adds even more enjoyment when buying a bottle. As always, I enjoy my rum over ice with a healthy splash of Coke.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Black Coral Spiced Rum bottle and label design looks decent but nothing special. Strong alcohol and artificial flavors abound coming through to the nose and palate. Quite a harsh burn at the end, so better to mix it up with your favorite soda.