Posting your rating...
Pusser's Gunpowder Proof rum

Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Virgin Islands, British | Overproof

7.0/10 (103 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
4
17
27
36
11

Rate Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


103 Pusser's Gunpowder Proof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 26 days ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 220 ratings

I like Navy style rums, so it was just a question of time, when I get my hands on this one.
The nose and the taste are quite dark. Not very fruity, but with molasses and honey.
I like this combination and the balance. The blend is still strong with 54.5%, but this abv was a very good choice. There is something musty in the nose, that I know from Demerara rums (molasses coated casks - MDXC). That's why it's pretty clear, this blend is a Guyana rum. Because of the raisins there is also a proportion of Enmore still rum in the blend.

In the taste Demerare flavors are very dominant but I get also some Jamaica flavors first (don't know how they delevoped them out of Guyana rum) and then Guyana in the middle and the finish.
The taste is dark with molasses and some tanins in the background. I like the molasses, raisins, wood flavors. This is what I expect from a good navy blend.

The old label says it was a blend of Guyana, Trinidad, Barbados rum. Now it's a pure Demerara blend. I don't have the medical note in the taste, it's pretty clear that there is no other rum inside. There is also a typical Jamaica note in the taste, the question is how they created it.
For 21€ this one is a great bargain, unbeliveable cheap and good. If you like navy rums, I recommend this one.

If it would be more fruity with WP influence, it would be a 10. The Tiger Shark from Velier is the best navy blend. This one is almost the best classic navy blend and I think the rating of 9 is appropriate.

Nose: musty walnuts, caramel, raisins, burned sugar, coffee, black tea, fruits (papaya), earth, molasses, honey, chocolate
Taste: burned sugar, raisins, jamaica fruits (like in Plantation OFTD) with molasses (salt/coffee), wood/tanins
Middle: caramel, raisins (Enmore), molasses, coffee, tanins and wood, mint, dry fruits, honey
Finish: spice, dark fruits, wood with tanins, molasses with honey, coffee
Aftertaste: molasses, coffee, honey, raisins, caramel/vanilla, apple

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Spice: 3.5/5
Mildness: 2/5
Complexity: 4/5
Value (21€): +5/5
Experience level: professional

Other ratings that I agree with:
https://ruminations.blog/2016/11/08/rum-review-pussers-black-label-gunpowder-proof/
https://thefatrumpirate.com/pussers-navy-rum

Nice fact:
"The navy tot by the way was often mixed with a little lime juice (to prevent scurvy) and sugar (undoubtedly to smooth out what would have been very young rum). This process may have pushed rum into the "anything goes" spirit we often see in products today. But by the way, a squeeze of lime is pretty good in rum…"

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 63 ratings

54,5 abv navy style rum from Guyana or Barbados or a blend of Guyana, Barbados and Trinidad depending of which batch you happen to get. Mine happens to be just Guyanese rum.
Nose:
Strong raisins, salty caramel and vanilla

Taste:
Very strong burnt salted caramel, raisins, butter ,vanilla and slight oak in the end, its little harsh without water added because the high alcohol content, but i still liked it more neat than with water.
It is bit sweet but in no way too much (added sugar?)

Finish: Very long and light oak with the raisins and vanilla lingering a bit.

Overall: Unique rum that has a bit different profile compared to most generic run of the mill rums. This rum is heavy bodied and very caramelly and strong. I strongly recommend for everyone, especially tiki cocktail lovers are going to have lots of fun with this rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Paul Unwin from United States with 14 ratings

Definitely a rum that would have been enjoyed by navy officers, quite strong and probably wouldn't be enjoyed by people who go for the sweeter rums. I thought it was good, not the best I've tasted but this is a full bodied overproof rum, and it was under $30. Cheers!!

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2654 ratings

I really love the Pusser's 15 year old. It easily fits my top 10 aged rum list. The Pusser's Gunpowder Proof is another story. It exhibits the very essence of Navy rums, but it simply is too strong to be enjoyed several glasses. One drink it enough since you will get an amazing spice and pepper overload, but you will also get a long aftertaste lingering due to the high alcohol contain. Far cry from the Pusser's 15 year rum, but not a bad Navy strength rum at all. Treat this like any Cask Strength Single Malt whisky, and you will get the point.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Mike from Austria with 1 rating

I love this rum, especially the strenght (I add a bit of water though) and it comes at an excellent price to make this an every day/evening rum. Much better than the 40% Pussers rum, which I consider a bit weak.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Kevin from United States with 19 ratings

If I'm sailing on the high seas & we need to punch through the approaching storm, this is by far the go to, get the job done, rum period! A must have in the ships stores for any vessel fixing to take on an ocean crossing. This is serious deck mustering grog, straight & forward. A hail of "A Grog for all crew members" & the Captain's guarenteed, all hands on deck! A true Navy Rum. Otherwise, if you want to kick back and sip some rum go to the 15yr old. It never disappoints.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 302 ratings

Alkohol: 54,5 %
Původ: Britské Panenské ostrovy/Guyana
Aroma: Melasa, karamel, připálené rozinky, z koření tu je znát nejvíc skořice, lehce muškátový oříšek, těžší exotické dřevo, ale občas se mihne i něco ovocného, připomíná pomerančovou marmeládu, je to taková ovocná nakyslost, ale pod tou těžší a výraznou melasově připálenou vůní to je znát jen trochu. Celkový dojem je pro můj nos velmi příjemný, konejšivě hřejivý. (88 b)
Chuť: Připálený karamel, melasa, silná hořká čokoláda, připálená topinka, lékořice, spálené rozinky. V dochuti vysychá, trochu tím připomíná některé sherry whisky. (86 b)
Body: 87/100
Shrnutí: S nákupem lahve jsem spokojen, tenhle rum se mi líbí, je robustní, přiměřeně silný a poměr cena/výkon taky velmi pěkný, lahev stála 645 korun.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

Tried at Cane Rhum Bar in Charleston SC - this is much more palatable than I thought overproof would be. Looking forward to buying a bottle when I can.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Nice dark amber colour. Nice hint of sweet molasses, bit of Jamaican funk but surprisingly little alcohol fumes.

Full bodied taste of Molasses, spice, cinnamon and perhaps ginger.
Long finish with a bit of oak.

Great taste and great value.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 30 ratings

Coppery-brown, intense, caramel-induced color in the glass.

The nose has warm undertones, candied fruits, marmelade, mixed with sulphuric, pungent boozy note.

Can be a bit harsh on the palate, but it develops into an interesting, complex experience. A splash of water helps a lot, opening up a heavier bodied, intense taste with notes of spice, dried fruits, marmelade, toffee, black tea, licquorice, with slightly sweet undertones (the modest dosage added sugar helps to balance the taste rather nicely this time) intertwined with bitter, tart tones from the oak.

It's love or hate rum - I have seen some spit it back into the glass, but those who allow its unique charm to work its magic will usually revisit. Personally, it's one of my favorites.

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by Weis from Israel with 7 ratings

Amazing rum. Among the very best I've tried at any price. Very smooth, full flavoured, perfectly balanced. I enjoy every sip.
Don't be fooled by rather simple bottle and label, it's a top quality rum.