Posting your rating...
Pusser's Gunpowder Proof rum

Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Virgin Islands, British | Overproof

7.1/10
128 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
3
22
34
51
11

Rate Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

128 Pusser's Gunpowder Proof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 67 ratings

It's fine essence of navy rums, great for punch or grog.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 68 ratings

54,5 abv navy style rum from Guyana or Barbados or a blend of Guyana, Barbados and Trinidad depending of which batch you happen to get. Mine happens to be just Guyanese rum.
Nose:
Strong raisins, salty caramel and vanilla

Taste:
Very strong burnt salted caramel, raisins, butter ,vanilla and slight oak in the end, its little harsh without water added because the high alcohol content, but i still liked it more neat than with water.
It is bit sweet but in no way too much (added sugar?)

Finish: Very long and light oak with the raisins and vanilla lingering a bit.

Overall: Unique rum that has a bit different profile compared to most generic run of the mill rums. This rum is heavy bodied and very caramelly and strong. I strongly recommend for everyone, especially tiki cocktail lovers are going to have lots of fun with this rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Paul Unwin from United States with 14 ratings

Definitely a rum that would have been enjoyed by navy officers, quite strong and probably wouldn't be enjoyed by people who go for the sweeter rums. I thought it was good, not the best I've tasted but this is a full bodied overproof rum, and it was under $30. Cheers!!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 315 ratings

Alkohol: 54,5 %
Původ: Britské Panenské ostrovy/Guyana
Aroma: Melasa, karamel, připálené rozinky, z koření tu je znát nejvíc skořice, lehce muškátový oříšek, těžší exotické dřevo, ale občas se mihne i něco ovocného, připomíná pomerančovou marmeládu, je to taková ovocná nakyslost, ale pod tou těžší a výraznou melasově připálenou vůní to je znát jen trochu. Celkový dojem je pro můj nos velmi příjemný, konejšivě hřejivý. (88 b)
Chuť: Připálený karamel, melasa, silná hořká čokoláda, připálená topinka, lékořice, spálené rozinky. V dochuti vysychá, trochu tím připomíná některé sherry whisky. (86 b)
Body: 87/100
Shrnutí: S nákupem lahve jsem spokojen, tenhle rum se mi líbí, je robustní, přiměřeně silný a poměr cena/výkon taky velmi pěkný, lahev stála 645 korun.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2746 ratings

I really love the Pusser's 15 year old. It easily fits my top 10 aged rum list. The Pusser's Gunpowder Proof is another story. It exhibits the very essence of Navy rums, but it simply is too strong to be enjoyed several glasses. One drink it enough since you will get an amazing spice and pepper overload, but you will also get a long aftertaste lingering due to the high alcohol contain. Far cry from the Pusser's 15 year rum, but not a bad Navy strength rum at all. Treat this like any Cask Strength Single Malt whisky, and you will get the point.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike from Austria with 1 rating

I love this rum, especially the strenght (I add a bit of water though) and it comes at an excellent price to make this an every day/evening rum. Much better than the 40% Pussers rum, which I consider a bit weak.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 97 ratings

Tried at Cane Rhum Bar in Charleston SC - this is much more palatable than I thought overproof would be. Looking forward to buying a bottle when I can.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Weis from Israel with 8 ratings

Amazing rum. Among the very best I've tried at any price. Very smooth, full flavoured, perfectly balanced. I enjoy every sip.
Don't be fooled by rather simple bottle and label, it's a top quality rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Kevin from United States with 21 ratings

If I'm sailing on the high seas & we need to punch through the approaching storm, this is by far the go to, get the job done, rum period! A must have in the ships stores for any vessel fixing to take on an ocean crossing. This is serious deck mustering grog, straight & forward. A hail of "A Grog for all crew members" & the Captain's guarenteed, all hands on deck! A true Navy Rum. Otherwise, if you want to kick back and sip some rum go to the 15yr old. It never disappoints.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 5 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 220 ratings

First I just tasted a sample of it, but come to the conclusion that I had to dig deeper into it. Now done and first impression lasts.

Background of Pusser’s & Gunpowder Proof:
Pusser is a slang term for the Purser.
In the English navy it was the Purser, the ships supply officer, who distributed the daily ration of rum. This was a tradition that started around the year 1655 and lasted until July 31, 1970 when the English sailors received their last ration. This day is thereafter called The Black Tot Day.
In 1979 Charles Tobias obtained the rights and the blending information for the British Naval Rum, and formed Pusser’s Ltd. on Tortola in the British Virgin Islands.
Regarding the term Gunpowder Proof, it originates from the sailors testing the strength by drowning in some gunpowder and then checking if it was still ignited. If this were not the case, the Purser would have diluted the rum too much and could have a bad experience.

Gunpowder Proof, The Black Label, can unfortunately be found with different blends. I believe that it’s the oldest one that consists of rum originating from Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados (Imaged bottle). Then you can find a blend of rum originating from Guyana and Trinidad. Finally there’s also one, the latest after what I have understood, that just contains rum from Guyana. Which one you buy/taste you can detect at the bottom of the front label cause it’s written there. Before they changed the name it was called “Blue Label British Navy Rum” consisting of a blend of rum originating from Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados.
To complicate it even more their standard rum at ABV 40% (42% in some markets) have a and are called Blue Label. Also that one can be found in three different blends. The Pusser’s Overproof (75%), can also be found with a blue label but also with a green label, don’t know which one is the latest. Could be the blue one cause that one is a blend of rum from Guyana and Trinidad while the Green Label also contains rum from Barbados.

Over to the rum. The one a review here is the one that’s just contains rum originating from Guyana.
The nose is of course a little sticky because of the 54,5%, but without harming me.
On the palate I can recognize vanilla and notes of spices and smoke.
The finish which is relatively long tastes the same.
Overall it’s a quite complex rum with a good balance between sweetness and dryness.
Pictures: My Pusser’s shelf, My opened bottle & My finished sample.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 332 ratings

I like Navy style rums, so it was just a question of time, when I get my hands on this one.
The nose and the taste are quite dark. Not very fruity, but with molasses and honey.
I like this combination and the balance. The blend is still strong with 54.5%, but this abv was a very good choice. There is something musty in the nose, that I know from Demerara rums (molasses coated casks - MDXC). That's why it's pretty clear, this blend is a Guyana rum. Because of the raisins there is also a proportion of Enmore still rum in the blend.

In the taste Demerare flavors are very dominant but I get also some Jamaica flavors first (don't know how they delevoped them out of Guyana rum) and then Guyana in the middle and the finish.
The taste is dark with molasses and some tanins in the background. I like the molasses, raisins, wood flavors. This is what I expect from a good navy blend.

The old label says it was a blend of Guyana, Trinidad, Barbados rum. Now it's a pure Demerara blend. I don't have the medical note in the taste, it's pretty clear that there is no other rum inside. But there is also a typical Jamaica note in the taste, the question is how they created it.
For 21€ this one is a great bargain, unbeliveable cheap and good. If you like navy rums, I recommend this one.

This one is almost the best classic navy blend and I think the rating of 83 is appropriate.

Nose: musty walnuts, caramel, raisins, burned sugar, coffee, black tea, fruits (papaya), earth, molasses, honey, chocolate
Taste: burned sugar, raisins, jamaica fruits (like in Plantation OFTD) with molasses (salt/coffee), wood/tanins
Middle: caramel, raisins (Enmore), molasses, coffee, tanins and wood, mint, dry fruits, honey
Finish: spice, dark fruits, wood with tanins, molasses with honey, coffee
Aftertaste: molasses, coffee, honey, raisins, caramel/vanilla, apple

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Spice: 3.5/5
Mildness: 2/5
Complexity: 4/5
Value (21€): +5/5
Experience level: professional

Other ratings that I agree with:
https://ruminations.blog/2016/11/08/rum-review-pussers-black-label-gunpowder-proof/
https://thefatrumpirate.com/pussers-navy-rum

Nice fact:
"The navy tot by the way was often mixed with a little lime juice (to prevent scurvy) and sugar (undoubtedly to smooth out what would have been very young rum). This process may have pushed rum into the "anything goes" spirit we often see in products today. But by the way, a squeeze of lime is pretty good in rum…"