Posting your rating...
Pusser's Gunpowder Proof rum

Rate Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


95 Pusser's Gunpowder Proof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 46 ratings

54,5 abv navy style rum from Guyana or Barbados or a blend of Guyana, Barbados and Trinidad depending of which batch you happen to get. Mine happens to be just Guyanese rum.
Nose:
Strong raisins, salty caramel and vanilla

Taste:
Very strong burnt salted caramel, raisins, butter ,vanilla and slight oak in the end, its little harsh without water added because the high alcohol content, but i still liked it more neat than with water.
It is bit sweet but in no way too much (added sugar?)

Finish: Very long and light oak with the raisins and vanilla lingering a bit.

Overall: Unique rum that has a bit different profile compared to most generic run of the mill rums. This rum is heavy bodied and very caramelly and strong. I strongly recommend for everyone, especially tiki cocktail lovers are going to have lots of fun with this rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul Unwin from United States with 10 ratings

Definitely a rum that would have been enjoyed by navy officers, quite strong and probably wouldn't be enjoyed by people who go for the sweeter rums. I thought it was good, not the best I've tasted but this is a full bodied overproof rum, and it was under $30. Cheers!!

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

I really love the Pusser's 15 year old. It easily fits my top 10 aged rum list. The Pusser's Gunpowder Proof is another story. It exhibits the very essence of Navy rums, but it simply is too strong to be enjoyed several glasses. One drink it enough since you will get an amazing spice and pepper overload, but you will also get a long aftertaste lingering due to the high alcohol contain. Far cry from the Pusser's 15 year rum, but not a bad Navy strength rum at all. Treat this like any Cask Strength Single Malt whisky, and you will get the point.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mike from Austria with 1 rating

I love this rum, especially the strenght (I add a bit of water though) and it comes at an excellent price to make this an every day/evening rum. Much better than the 40% Pussers rum, which I consider a bit weak.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Tried at Cane Rhum Bar in Charleston SC - this is much more palatable than I thought overproof would be. Looking forward to buying a bottle when I can.

Posted over 2 years ago by Kevin from United States with 19 ratings

If I'm sailing on the high seas & we need to punch through the approaching storm, this is by far the go to, get the job done, rum period! A must have in the ships stores for any vessel fixing to take on an ocean crossing. This is serious deck mustering grog, straight & forward. A hail of "A Grog for all crew members" & the Captain's guarenteed, all hands on deck! A true Navy Rum. Otherwise, if you want to kick back and sip some rum go to the 15yr old. It never disappoints.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Nice dark amber colour. Nice hint of sweet molasses, bit of Jamaican funk but surprisingly little alcohol fumes.

Full bodied taste of Molasses, spice, cinnamon and perhaps ginger.
Long finish with a bit of oak.

Great taste and great value.

Posted over 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 54,5 %
Původ: Britské Panenské ostrovy/Guyana
Aroma: Melasa, karamel, připálené rozinky, z koření tu je znát nejvíc skořice, lehce muškátový oříšek, těžší exotické dřevo, ale občas se mihne i něco ovocného, připomíná pomerančovou marmeládu, je to taková ovocná nakyslost, ale pod tou těžší a výraznou melasově připálenou vůní to je znát jen trochu. Celkový dojem je pro můj nos velmi příjemný, konejšivě hřejivý. (88 b)
Chuť: Připálený karamel, melasa, silná hořká čokoláda, připálená topinka, lékořice, spálené rozinky. V dochuti vysychá, trochu tím připomíná některé sherry whisky. (86 b)
Body: 87/100
Shrnutí: S nákupem lahve jsem spokojen, tenhle rum se mi líbí, je robustní, přiměřeně silný a poměr cena/výkon taky velmi pěkný, lahev stála 645 korun.

Posted 4 days ago by Rod from United States with 16 ratings

This is another outstanding rum from Pussers. With clear molasses and woody flavors. The is an excellent sipping and mixing rum.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mephisto from Germany with 36 ratings

Very intense nose with ripe banana, brown sugar and mediterranean herbs. Taste: The initial sweetness turns slowly into a dry and herbal bitterness. Also a medium to long finish with banana taste. High alcohol content, nevertheless, easy to drink.

Posted about 2 years ago by Mambo Pirata from United States with 4 ratings

The color has a little darker shade without being in the dark rum category but the flavor is delicious. Great spice yet fairly smooth with a nice bite at the end and some oak. A good quality strong rum that’s affordable.

Posted about 2 years ago by P.D. from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

Very good as long as you like the bigger kick (due to 54.5 volts it has). Ahoy!!!

Posted about 2 years ago by Nick from Canada with 22 ratings

A strong rum (at 55%). Not for beginners. Once the strong alcohol burn passed, notes of taste and wood. One of my favorites. Hard to find.

Posted about 2 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

It's fine essence of navy rums, great for punch or grog.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dave77 from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Bought for my dad and my for Christmas, we enjoyed it.

Posted over 2 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 28 ratings

Coppery-brown, intense, caramel-induced color in the glass.

The nose has warm undertones, candied fruits, marmelade, mixed with sulphuric, pungent boozy note.

Can be a bit harsh on the palate, but it develops into an interesting, complex experience. A splash of water helps a lot, opening up a heavier bodied, intense taste with notes of spice, dried fruits, marmelade, toffee, black tea, licquorice, with slightly sweet undertones (the modest dosage added sugar helps to balance the taste rather nicely this time) intertwined with bitter, tart tones from the oak.

It's love or hate rum - I have seen some spit it back into the glass, but those who allow its unique charm to work its magic will usually revisit. Personally, it's one of my favorites.

Posted about 3 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

At first on the nose and palate you get a spicy/peppery hit from the strong bitter molasses, but once it breathes a little it seems to get smoother, and then flavours separate a little and the complexity reaches its pinnacle with the notes of caramel, vanilla, and honey coming forth.

I tried straight and with a light splash of ginger, though I can imagine that the mainstream proof version would be more palatable for most as this one needs a little time and appreciation. For me, this one is a sipper with a ball of ice.

Posted about 2 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 23 ratings

Beautiful caramel, toffee, brown sugar and a mild smokiness with a hint of fruity Jamaican funk in the background. Favorite navy rum - excited to hunt down some fancy bottles of Pusser's to add to my list of favorites.

Posted 3 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 220 ratings

hutný, nasládlý, karamel, vanilka a koření, 54,5% je cítit na jazyku, příjemný

Posted 4 months ago by Adam Freij from Sweden with 28 ratings

Kraftig smak, ganska spritig eftersmak dock hög procenthalt

Posted 5 months ago by stonytokes from United States with 12 ratings

Since I enjoy the blue label so much, I've been itching to try the Gunpowder Proof, but it hasn't been available in my area until just recently. So when I saw it pop up on my local spirits distributor's shelf I had to grab it.

Sipping this definitely brings the heat which fades to a warm, satisfying glow; I prefer a dollop over a cube of ice to mellow it out some. This is how I imagine proper Navy rum should taste.

Edit: Having now consumed most of my initial bottle I'm convinced this pretty much ends my search for rum of choice. Upped my rating from an 8 to a 9.. Great straight, on ice, or mixed. Mixed with lime and ginger is pure heaven. Incredibly hard to beat considering the value in my opinion and just what rum should taste like.

Posted 5 months ago by chriscathcart (PREMIUM) from Canada with 14 ratings

Yummie
A good Rum drinkers drink. Was very tasty and smooth

Posted 5 months ago by Haz (PREMIUM) from Denmark with 20 ratings

Отличный крепкий ром да еще по отличной цене(по акции). Насыщенный густой аромат, 54% может для кого будет крепок но стоит того.

Posted 5 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Naozaj špecifický rum,ktorý má rado veľa nadšencov. Je naozaj rozpoznateľný s vysokým obsahom alkoholu až 54,5%. Mňa osobne nenadchla vôňa a chuť to príliš nezachranila. Síce cítiť melasu,ale je výrazne korenisty s alkoholovu stopou. Pre mňa príliš silný,doslova námornícky rum