Posting your rating...
Pusser's Gunpowder Proof rum

Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Virgin Islands, British | Overproof

7.1/10 (114 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
3
20
29
42
13

Rate Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

114 Pusser's Gunpowder Proof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Harry from South Africa with 44 ratings

Proper dark stuff which makes you think of better times in the Royal Navy where they served this rum to the sailors prior to 1970! Will kill scurvy, weevils and all other nasty irritating pests!

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Chet from United States with 193 ratings

Can’t deny that this is a Pussers product. Plenty of fire and a really tasty libation.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by eddieo from United States with 95 ratings

It hits the marks for strength, color and mixability, but is dosed a bit much for my palate. The sweet aftertaste kills the overall experience for me, and it’s a little flabby, but it’s a decent beginner navy-style rum since it’s easily accessible and can be utilized in any preparation. Yes, it’ll light on fire. You can make an intro-level grog without adding more than water and lime. I prefer Hamilton’s navy rum to this for character, flavor and body.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jagged from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Prvá ochutnávka zo sveta navy rumov chutila. Už vo vôni cítiť tu silu. Hlavne karamel, korenie a trochu dymu ako vo vôni tak aj v chuti. V ústach príjemné poprhli a po prehltnutí zahreje. Príjemné silné pitie za dobrú cenu.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 64 ratings

After drinking the boring Pusser's red label I didn't expect anything from this one apart from an alcoholic kick. This is still a very young and non-refined rum but there is much more balance, it is not too sweet and there is definitely more depht to it. Fruit (banana), wood, molasses and very herbal; almost a spiced rum in taste. The 54% ABV gets your attention but it is perfectly drinkable neat, you just should count the number of refills to keep it straight! Not a rum I would stock but certainly a nice glass after a day outdoors in winter.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Haden from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Full-bodied, coppery amber-coloured. Molasses, raisins, toffee, black tea, marmalade, peppery spice; even a little ginger on the nose.
Full-strength on the palate but easily good enough to sip; benefits from a little water or a single ice cube.
Tiki Island sighted off the starboard bow, Sir.
Magnificent.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 6 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 237 ratings

My favorite rum 35 years ago was Pusser’s Blue Label that was cask strength or overproof. I actually boycotted the rum when they cut it back to standard proof. I thought it ruined the rum. Little did I know the Gunpowder release was actually back to close to original Pusser’s glad I picked it up. Smooth light brown deep golden hue lots of depth.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 382 ratings

Aroma is full of caramel. First taste is strong, warm with caramel, honey and vanilla tones. Aftertaste is average ending in bitter tail. Not so strong and burning as you would expect from 54,5%

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 30 ratings

Beautiful caramel, toffee, brown sugar and a mild smokiness with a hint of fruity Jamaican funk in the background. Favorite navy rum - excited to hunt down some fancy bottles of Pusser's to add to my list of favorites.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 329 ratings

- vůně hutná, je cítit větši množství alkoholu, nasládlost, karamel, vanilka a koření
- chuť, 54,5% je cítit na jazyku, koňaková chuť, koření, velmi příjemný👏

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Adam Freij from Sweden with 28 ratings

Kraftig smak, ganska spritig eftersmak dock hög procenthalt