Posting your rating...
Pusser's Gunpowder Proof rum

Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Virgin Islands, British | Overproof

7.1/10 (114 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
3
20
29
41
13

Rate Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

114 Pusser's Gunpowder Proof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Harry from South Africa with 44 ratings

Proper dark stuff which makes you think of better times in the Royal Navy where they served this rum to the sailors prior to 1970! Will kill scurvy, weevils and all other nasty irritating pests!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by P.D. from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

Very good as long as you like the bigger kick (due to 54.5 volts it has). Ahoy!!!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Nick from Canada with 22 ratings

A strong rum (at 55%). Not for beginners. Once the strong alcohol burn passed, notes of taste and wood. One of my favorites. Hard to find.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

It's fine essence of navy rums, great for punch or grog.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dave77 from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Bought for my dad and my for Christmas, we enjoyed it.

Small 26820

Posted over 3 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

At first on the nose and palate you get a spicy/peppery hit from the strong bitter molasses, but once it breathes a little it seems to get smoother, and then flavours separate a little and the complexity reaches its pinnacle with the notes of caramel, vanilla, and honey coming forth.

I tried straight and with a light splash of ginger, though I can imagine that the mainstream proof version would be more palatable for most as this one needs a little time and appreciation. For me, this one is a sipper with a ball of ice.

Ffffff

Posted 12 days ago by Tony from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

A bit on the strong side but add a splash of water or a cube of ice and this is a great rum.

Small screenshot 2020 09 05 at 09.58.03

Posted 13 days ago by Boyse69 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

Had a bottle arrive today

Very well priced Rum for the 54% product of Guyana
What a nose on this one got to give this some time in the glass a heavy Rum then super light Smokey Dates, prunes FRENCH AGEN PRUNES in a burnt Caramel Tart given time in the mouth .

You've got to give this one a go, this is not a skinny women but it is great Value
I own a bottle and only rate what I have bought

Small 621e696e 569f 4f12 a55a b39bbb717650

Posted 23 days ago by geroji from United States with 26 ratings

The tobacco and chocolate flavors dominate this delicious rum. With some ice, this becomes a very good go-to sipping rum.

Small img 20201225 193437

Posted 24 days ago by HMS Scotian from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

As an Ex Sailor this is my rum of choice for special occasions. Not one you could drink all night though.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Centy from Czech Republic with 9 ratings

Good rum. .