Posting your rating...
Pusser's Gunpowder Proof rum

Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Virgin Islands, British | Overproof

7.1/10
125 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
3
22
33
49
11

Rate Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

125 Pusser's Gunpowder Proof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Phil Northcott from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I was really looking forwards to trying this one.....Whilst the flavour was pleasant, the high alchohol content did not allow me to appreciate it as a sipper. Does not mix well with coke but pleasant with some ginger.
Disappointed, but this is more I suspect down to my palette rather than the rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mephisto from Germany with 38 ratings

Very intense nose with ripe banana, brown sugar and mediterranean herbs. Taste: The initial sweetness turns slowly into a dry and herbal bitterness. Also a medium to long finish with banana taste. High alcohol content, nevertheless, easy to drink.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mambo Pirata from United States with 4 ratings

The color has a little darker shade without being in the dark rum category but the flavor is delicious. Great spice yet fairly smooth with a nice bite at the end and some oak. A good quality strong rum that’s affordable.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by P.D. from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

Very good as long as you like the bigger kick (due to 54.5 volts it has). Ahoy!!!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Nick from Canada with 22 ratings

A strong rum (at 55%). Not for beginners. Once the strong alcohol burn passed, notes of taste and wood. One of my favorites. Hard to find.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 67 ratings

It's fine essence of navy rums, great for punch or grog.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Dave77 from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Bought for my dad and my for Christmas, we enjoyed it.

Small 26820

Posted almost 4 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

At first on the nose and palate you get a spicy/peppery hit from the strong bitter molasses, but once it breathes a little it seems to get smoother, and then flavours separate a little and the complexity reaches its pinnacle with the notes of caramel, vanilla, and honey coming forth.

I tried straight and with a light splash of ginger, though I can imagine that the mainstream proof version would be more palatable for most as this one needs a little time and appreciation. For me, this one is a sipper with a ball of ice.

Small 1612468679129

Posted 3 days ago by Montana from Germany with 40 ratings

A strong dark aroma, dark chocolate, fruity, coffee, light alcoholic, very nice.
The taste has also dark chocolate, spicy, light woody. A very nice rum.

Small img 20210319 145517

Posted 22 days ago by Skene from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

If you like Naval rums, you'll probably enjoy this. The extra proof makes it worth adding ice, or water, to release some changing flavours as you sip. A worthy drink, if not a great one

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by CaptainMorgan.07 from Poland with 21 ratings

I decided that my first Pusser's will be Gunpowder. And this was good choise. Strong but smooth with good flavor