Posting your rating...
Pusser's Gunpowder Proof rum

Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Virgin Islands, British | Overproof

7.1/10 (114 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
3
20
29
41
13

Rate Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

114 Pusser's Gunpowder Proof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 2 months ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 198 ratings

First I just tasted a sample of it, but come to the conclusion that I had to dig deeper into it. Now done and first impression lasts.

Background of Pusser’s & Gunpowder Proof:
Pusser is a slang term for the Purser.
In the English navy it was the Purser, the ships supply officer, who distributed the daily ration of rum. This was a tradition that started around the year 1655 and lasted until July 31, 1970 when the English sailors received their last ration. This day is thereafter called The Black Tot Day.
In 1979 Charles Tobias obtained the rights and the blending information for the British Naval Rum, and formed Pusser’s Ltd. on Tortola in the British Virgin Islands.
Regarding the term Gunpowder Proof, it originates from the sailors testing the strength by drowning in some gunpowder and then checking if it was still ignited. If this were not the case, the Purser would have diluted the rum too much and could have a bad experience.

Gunpowder Proof, The Black Label, can unfortunately be found with different blends. I believe that it’s the oldest one that consists of rum originating from Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados (Imaged bottle). Then you can find a blend of rum originating from Guyana and Trinidad. Finally there’s also one, the latest after what I have understood, that just contains rum from Guyana. Which one you buy/taste you can detect at the bottom of the front label cause it’s written there. Before they changed the name it was called “Blue Label British Navy Rum” consisting of a blend of rum originating from Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados.
To complicate it even more their standard rum at ABV 40% (42% in some markets) have a and are called Blue Label. Also that one can be found in three different blends. The Pusser’s Overproof (75%), can also be found with a blue label but also with a green label, don’t know which one is the latest. Could be the blue one cause that one is a blend of rum from Guyana and Trinidad while the Green Label also contains rum from Barbados.

Over to the rum. The one a review here is the one that’s just contains rum originating from Guyana.
The nose is of course a little sticky because of the 54,5%, but without harming me.
On the palate I can recognize vanilla and notes of spices and smoke.
The finish which is relatively long tastes the same.
Overall it’s a quite complex rum with a good balance between sweetness and dryness.
Pictures: My Pusser’s shelf, My opened bottle & My finished sample.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Hefron from Czech Republic with 73 ratings

Drsný rum pro drsné námořníky. Silný a nekompromisní každým douškem. V chuti dominuje rašelinou silně vypálený dubový sud po skotské, ve vůni dub, rašelina a jód.
Je ostřejší a je to znát. Není to nic pro milovníky sladkých a jemným rumů. Je to gunpowder - střelný prach, trhavina!!!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by F_a_r_a_b_a_c_k from Sweden with 25 ratings

Gillar smaken som är intressant men känns lite rivig och spretig.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Weis from Israel with 7 ratings

Amazing rum. Among the very best I've tried at any price. Very smooth, full flavoured, perfectly balanced. I enjoy every sip.
Don't be fooled by rather simple bottle and label, it's a top quality rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 280 ratings

I like Navy style rums, so it was just a question of time, when I get my hands on this one.
The nose and the taste are quite dark. Not very fruity, but with molasses and honey.
I like this combination and the balance. The blend is still strong with 54.5%, but this abv was a very good choice. There is something musty in the nose, that I know from Demerara rums (molasses coated casks - MDXC). That's why it's pretty clear, this blend is a Guyana rum. Because of the raisins there is also a proportion of Enmore still rum in the blend.

In the taste Demerare flavors are very dominant but I get also some Jamaica flavors first (don't know how they delevoped them out of Guyana rum) and then Guyana in the middle and the finish.
The taste is dark with molasses and some tanins in the background. I like the molasses, raisins, wood flavors. This is what I expect from a good navy blend.

The old label says it was a blend of Guyana, Trinidad, Barbados rum. Now it's a pure Demerara blend. I don't have the medical note in the taste, it's pretty clear that there is no other rum inside. But there is also a typical Jamaica note in the taste, the question is how they created it.
For 21€ this one is a great bargain, unbeliveable cheap and good. If you like navy rums, I recommend this one.

This one is almost the best classic navy blend and I think the rating of 83 is appropriate.

Nose: musty walnuts, caramel, raisins, burned sugar, coffee, black tea, fruits (papaya), earth, molasses, honey, chocolate
Taste: burned sugar, raisins, jamaica fruits (like in Plantation OFTD) with molasses (salt/coffee), wood/tanins
Middle: caramel, raisins (Enmore), molasses, coffee, tanins and wood, mint, dry fruits, honey
Finish: spice, dark fruits, wood with tanins, molasses with honey, coffee
Aftertaste: molasses, coffee, honey, raisins, caramel/vanilla, apple

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Spice: 3.5/5
Mildness: 2/5
Complexity: 4/5
Value (21€): +5/5
Experience level: professional

Other ratings that I agree with:
https://ruminations.blog/2016/11/08/rum-review-pussers-black-label-gunpowder-proof/
https://thefatrumpirate.com/pussers-navy-rum

Nice fact:
"The navy tot by the way was often mixed with a little lime juice (to prevent scurvy) and sugar (undoubtedly to smooth out what would have been very young rum). This process may have pushed rum into the "anything goes" spirit we often see in products today. But by the way, a squeeze of lime is pretty good in rum…"

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 199 ratings

Love Pussers. Great rums and this is no exception. Smoothest overproof I have tried. A true navy style rum. Sippable. Strong as you might expect but has body with oak, coffee and some faint apple notes. If the finish were longer I would rate this an 8. Very good stuff. I like the navy and 15 year olds better but this gives you a lot of bang and delivers it tastefully.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Rod from United States with 16 ratings

This is another outstanding rum from Pussers. With clear molasses and woody flavors. The is an excellent sipping and mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Harry from South Africa with 44 ratings

Proper dark stuff which makes you think of better times in the Royal Navy where they served this rum to the sailors prior to 1970! Will kill scurvy, weevils and all other nasty irritating pests!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mephisto from Germany with 38 ratings

Very intense nose with ripe banana, brown sugar and mediterranean herbs. Taste: The initial sweetness turns slowly into a dry and herbal bitterness. Also a medium to long finish with banana taste. High alcohol content, nevertheless, easy to drink.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mambo Pirata from United States with 4 ratings

The color has a little darker shade without being in the dark rum category but the flavor is delicious. Great spice yet fairly smooth with a nice bite at the end and some oak. A good quality strong rum that’s affordable.