Posting your rating...
Pusser's Gunpowder Proof rum

Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Virgin Islands, British | Overproof

7.1/10
125 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
3
22
33
49
11

Rate Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

125 Pusser's Gunpowder Proof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Phil Northcott from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I was really looking forwards to trying this one.....Whilst the flavour was pleasant, the high alchohol content did not allow me to appreciate it as a sipper. Does not mix well with coke but pleasant with some ginger.
Disappointed, but this is more I suspect down to my palette rather than the rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Nice dark amber colour. Nice hint of sweet molasses, bit of Jamaican funk but surprisingly little alcohol fumes.

Full bodied taste of Molasses, spice, cinnamon and perhaps ginger.
Long finish with a bit of oak.

Great taste and great value.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

Coppery-brown, intense, caramel-induced color in the glass.

The nose has warm undertones, candied fruits, marmelade, mixed with sulphuric, pungent boozy note.

Can be a bit harsh on the palate, but it develops into an interesting, complex experience. A splash of water helps a lot, opening up a heavier bodied, intense taste with notes of spice, dried fruits, marmelade, toffee, black tea, licquorice, with slightly sweet undertones (the modest dosage added sugar helps to balance the taste rather nicely this time) intertwined with bitter, tart tones from the oak.

It's love or hate rum - I have seen some spit it back into the glass, but those who allow its unique charm to work its magic will usually revisit. Personally, it's one of my favorites.

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by Carbon from Denmark with 23 ratings

Very full nose, with strong raisin notes. Within my experience, this feels a bit like the notes of a Spanish style but with the pungency of a Jamaican to back it up. On the palate, quite forceful and alcoholic at first but quickly recedes to leave lingering cola and spice notes. A great sipper and amazing value at the price!

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Hector from United States with 62 ratings

Love this rum, lots and lots of caramel and toffee on the nose and palate, really viscous, the alcohol is not overpowering at all even though this is a high proof rum. For about $35 this is must have in your bar.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 119 ratings

This is Pusser's 40% on steroids, intense English style rum, good mix of Guyana and other Caribbean colonies, spicy, with the right amount of sugar and molasses to counterbalance the strong alcohol content, yet it keeps the complexity of the less potent brother and takes it on a new level. The profile is raisins, molasses, demerara sugar, caramel, oak, butter, all spicy and strong in the nose and in the taste, intense and warming. It is a good company for winter walks where just a small sip from the hip flask will bring smile on your face, it also mixes well with tea or just about any beverage.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Hefron from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Drsný rum pro drsné námořníky. Silný a nekompromisní každým douškem. V chuti dominuje rašelinou silně vypálený dubový sud po skotské, ve vůni dub, rašelina a jód.
Je ostřejší a je to znát. Není to nic pro milovníky sladkých a jemným rumů. Je to gunpowder - střelný prach, trhavina!!!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by F_a_r_a_b_a_c_k from Sweden with 25 ratings

Gillar smaken som är intressant men känns lite rivig och spretig.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

Love Pussers. Great rums and this is no exception. Smoothest overproof I have tried. A true navy style rum. Sippable. Strong as you might expect but has body with oak, coffee and some faint apple notes. If the finish were longer I would rate this an 8. Very good stuff. I like the navy and 15 year olds better but this gives you a lot of bang and delivers it tastefully.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Rod from United States with 18 ratings

This is another outstanding rum from Pussers. With clear molasses and woody flavors. The is an excellent sipping and mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Harry from South Africa with 44 ratings

Proper dark stuff which makes you think of better times in the Royal Navy where they served this rum to the sailors prior to 1970! Will kill scurvy, weevils and all other nasty irritating pests!