Posting your rating...
Pusser's Gunpowder Proof rum

Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Virgin Islands, British | Overproof

7.1/10
125 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
3
22
33
49
11

Rate Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

125 Pusser's Gunpowder Proof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Phil Northcott from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I was really looking forwards to trying this one.....Whilst the flavour was pleasant, the high alchohol content did not allow me to appreciate it as a sipper. Does not mix well with coke but pleasant with some ginger.
Disappointed, but this is more I suspect down to my palette rather than the rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 110 ratings

Tasty, with a good palate and some sweetness. Good for sipping or mixning...

Small img 20201224 wa0000

Posted over 3 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

Good balance of sweetness, favour and strength. Great for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jm from France with 33 ratings

Sec long et puissant. Bon rapport qualité prix à moins de 40€ en france.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by chris ambler from United States with 23 ratings

I have a bottle of the 15 yr old and the British Navy and while the 15 yr old wins hands down this is a nice addition. Great for mixing or a sipper. side by side sipping all 3 is nice to get the differences in each.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

Recently I've become a big fan of Pusser's. I love these dry, full-flavored rums.

I tasted this one side-by-side with the "old" 109-proof offering. I liked this Gunpowder, but I liked the "old 109" better. It had similar flavors, with a much more intense nose, and hints of sherry, with a longer finish. So, I'm not sure, exactly what changed, but I do hope the consider changing back sometime :)

That said, this bottle is fantastic—both for mixing as well as sipping (it's not as high-proof or unapproachable as the marketing might lead you to believe). Highly recommended, but I'm not sure it's enough to sway me away from the lower-proof (but still full-flavored) blue label.

8, 8-

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bruno from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

As ex Royal Navy this rum holds almost a mythical status. This is the only rum to comisurate Black Tot day, the original Nelson's blood.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by DeanH from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

Loved it. Good robust flavour that didn't disappoint but whoa! not long before I was feeling the strength of this one. Now it wasn't that I didn't know it was higher proof, it was more of a slam dunk, I'm drunk kinda result. Small doses from now, especially as I'm a spiced fan with a sweet tooth. I probably pour too much at a time so careful with this one. Yet to try with water but probably a better option to avoid the hit. still I loved the flavour. Fairly warming with a bit of vanilla for me. might try with ginger too but so far not had much to cheer on with that particular combo.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Moggy from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Although stronger I find this slightly smoother than the standard Pusser's - great sipper

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by charles Gallo from United States with 1 rating

Really nice stuff _IF_ you treat it like cask strength scotch. It is a bit strong right out of the barrel, but add say 5% water to it, and it is absolutely amazing.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Melda from Czech Republic with 60 ratings

Velmi dobrý rum. Silný, ale zároveň i jemný. Neřekl bych že má skoro 55% alc. Opravdu velmi dobrý rum. Hlavně pro ty, co chtějí rum, co má koule :-)