Posting your rating...
Pusser's Gunpowder Proof rum

Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Virgin Islands, British | Overproof

7.1/10
125 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
3
22
33
49
11

Rate Pusser's Gunpowder Proof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

125 Pusser's Gunpowder Proof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Gunpowder proof phew ! 56% it's strong can't sip this it's way too strong mixing a single with coke it lasts a while. It's proper dark navy rum at its finest though!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by poosu from United States with 39 ratings

A rum drinking friend brought this over for me to try. He is primarily a mixer and I can see how he might find this rum OK. I drink mine on the rocks and this rum is not OK. First off, I don't care for over proof anything. I don't drink to get drunk, just the nice mellow feeling. 80 proof is plenty to allow for enjoying the drink without a quick drunk. If you want a quick buzz that hits pretty hard this is a candidate. However it's taste is totally not to my liking and it is far from smooth. Surprised so many rate this as high as they do.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

Whiskey like rum with a big punch. For the nose it's like a smooth rum but for the gum it comes with a big kick in the balls. Only for sailors. Poured some water in it and it got better. If you got a hairy chest this one is for you.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Kjeld Hansen from Denmark with 16 ratings

Thisted is just to much. As well the alcohol as the smoke is far to strong, I Cannon drink it without a lot of water.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Jan Mynar from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

The taste is same as you would expect, strong and intensive. You feel the alcoholic bite right from the beginning; whole sip of the full-bodied rum is followed by caramel, toffee and sugar. But it is different that you are used from other sweet rums, the 109 proof reminds you that you are drinking strong navy rum and not a Cuban elixir. Its finish is warm and long as you could expect, but it is surprisingly smooth. I believe this is interesting experience to taste such a good quality strong navy rum - one that you can really enjoy.

my full review:
http://www.rumtips.com/2018/01/pussers-gunpowder-proof-original.html

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Louis M from United States with 16 ratings

This is powerful stuff. This Rum is strong from nose to mouth to throat. Yet I actually like its potency.It has a unique taste that incorporates a pain and pleasure effect like a good hot sauce . I drank this neat and I will say it did its job. It is not great but very good and a must taste if you enjoy Navy style Rums . It’s Gunpowder monicker is absolutely on point.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Steven Hern from United Kingdom with 14 ratings

I tried this for the first time today (after previously having tried the standard 'Pusser's British Navy Rum'. I can honestly say this was excellent - Rich and spicy with flavors of spices, molasses and caramel - easy over ice or with a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 45 ratings

This rum has a very harsh flavour. Not for everybody.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Phil Northcott from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I was really looking forwards to trying this one.....Whilst the flavour was pleasant, the high alchohol content did not allow me to appreciate it as a sipper. Does not mix well with coke but pleasant with some ginger.
Disappointed, but this is more I suspect down to my palette rather than the rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rico from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

A little too unrefined as a sipping rum. Aftertaste left on palate.