Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold rum
Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold rum

Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold

Puerto Rico | Spiced

4.4/10 (324 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
19
26
49
65
81
48
24
7
5

Rate Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


324 Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

A65d48d927c8df776a88a8a333a07348.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

There are so much more and better rums out there compared to this. Nose: alcohol and vanilla. Taste: vanilla and punsch

B51ac25464f3bbca104994d27dcbe76f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

If you're still drinking this one its time to put on your big boy pants and experiment with better rums. I would even put this in Coke because I wouldn't want to ruin my soda...

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 35 %
Původ: neupřesněný Karibik
Aroma: Vanilka, mléčná čokoláda a med. Bezprostředně po Liberté white překvapivě příjemné. Ale to jen v přímém srovnání, jinak je to takové obyčejné, nic světoborného. (70 b)
Chuť: Chuť plitká, řídká, jen tak jako uměle ochucená, se sice olejnatým dojmem, ale je to nevyzrálé pití bez špetky charakteru. Chemicky ochucená výčepní lihovina. Vanilin, lihovost, trochu krémová olejnatost. (55 b)
Body: 62
Shrnutí: Srovnával jsem napřímo Liberté white oproti Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold, oboje jsme měl (naštěstí) jen po vzorku, a ani jeden jsem nedopil. Ani v jednom případě jsem si vůbec nepochutnal, ale Morgan měl aspoň tu vůni oproti Liberté docela ucházející. Doporučit nemůžu ani jeden, ale jestli si z toho chce někdo dělat drinky, tak tam se to asi ztratí. Ostatně i přímo na lahvi Liberté se píše, že je určen do drinků. Bída s nouzí, ale aspoň člověk vidí, jak daleko lepší rumy pijeme a co si lidé běžně kupují za komerci.

16d2ff0d99742fd3be4423676e492b25.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Maik22 from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Uživatel "Morgan" to tady jasně a jednoznačně zhodnotil. Opravdu se hodí maximálně do nějaké míchačky. A samostatně? Jedině na "ex".

6e8da84f28147182cb877196862ec771.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Koozieguy225 from United States with 6 ratings

This is a very average rum, drinking this right now mixed with a cherry coke. Not too strong tasting, goes down easy.

85cbb700b553f00d5058e58c1aee5b61.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory from Australia with 27 ratings

Good for getting smashed as a uni student. Not comparable to real complex rums.

85f3a17553ad46273ae71229bbf9207a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Dr. Brittlebone from Sweden with 17 ratings

Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold 35% (Jamaica)

Eye: Gold

Nose: Pretty forward smell of hard lemon drops, public toilet, industrial soap, faint vanilla, over ripe fermented honey dew melon and something like sour star fruit. Very light and thin impression. It also reeks of old fridge-damaged vegetables. There is also something that has a slight resemblance of light, cheap chocolate.

Mouth: Sugar and diluted eau-de-vie with a twist of lemon and artificial vanilla sugar. It is thin and unrefined with no trace of self-worth or dignity. This is the captain of a sinking ship in lukewarm salty water. For a second I thought I sensed cinnamon but that could be wishful thinking.

Reaction: I have had this in coke with ice before and have enjoyed hundreds of them. Now I wonder why? Well, I was young and stupid - just like this beverage right here. Maybe it is unfair to taste it as a sipping rum but at the same time, and in all fairness, a drink should be able to stand on its own I think. How else can I compare? Well, this may be the last I see of this horrible rum-like booze.

32p

Price: 243 SEK
Tasted: 2016, in a Riedel Sommelier Cognac XO glass at room temperature.

315c45f8dd5e7131cf9e869c0202035f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Jason Berman from United States with 44 ratings

Tell someone you’re into rum and instantly they’ll think of this. There’s so many better budget minded rums that are far superior. Just buy some Cruzan if you want to save money.

10025d4670ff50de5c2b9a20aec4c8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

This is perhaps the first one to be named by most people, when they are asked to list rums. That is a little funny, when you think about the fact, that it is illegal to call this a bottle of rum in some markets.

Nose: Vanilla, vanilla, vanilla and a little caramel. Very sweet.
Taste: Nothing but the sweetest artificial vanilla flavour. Can feel my blood sugar rising.
Overall: The most famous bottle and perhaps the worst I have ever tasted. This has nothing to do with rum and is not even fit for mixing.

9b73fcd85f18fb2c830c1312681220d6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

This is one of the worst "rums" I have ever drinked. Is it even legal to create something like this without warning sign?

Smell: Nothing. You only smell pure alcohol from this thing. No fruit, no flowers, no nothing.

Taste: This is what you put to your coca-cola if you want to ruin your day.

If you hate your life, this is rum of your choice.

0a6baec5d7f918fa976e8f5b26c43517.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin from Slovakia with 13 ratings

- taste: 19/100
- value for money: 18/100
- score: 18.5/100
- price: under 20 eur