Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold rum

Rate Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


311 Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Joakim Cederlöf from Sweden with 35 ratings

En bra rom att ha hemma när det är dags för en Rom & Cola.

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

If you're still drinking this one its time to put on your big boy pants and experiment with better rums. I would even put this in Coke because I wouldn't want to ruin my soda...

Posted over 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 35 %
Původ: neupřesněný Karibik
Aroma: Vanilka, mléčná čokoláda a med. Bezprostředně po Liberté white překvapivě příjemné. Ale to jen v přímém srovnání, jinak je to takové obyčejné, nic světoborného. (70 b)
Chuť: Chuť plitká, řídká, jen tak jako uměle ochucená, se sice olejnatým dojmem, ale je to nevyzrálé pití bez špetky charakteru. Chemicky ochucená výčepní lihovina. Vanilin, lihovost, trochu krémová olejnatost. (55 b)
Body: 62
Shrnutí: Srovnával jsem napřímo Liberté white oproti Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold, oboje jsme měl (naštěstí) jen po vzorku, a ani jeden jsem nedopil. Ani v jednom případě jsem si vůbec nepochutnal, ale Morgan měl aspoň tu vůni oproti Liberté docela ucházející. Doporučit nemůžu ani jeden, ale jestli si z toho chce někdo dělat drinky, tak tam se to asi ztratí. Ostatně i přímo na lahvi Liberté se píše, že je určen do drinků. Bída s nouzí, ale aspoň člověk vidí, jak daleko lepší rumy pijeme a co si lidé běžně kupují za komerci.

Posted over 3 years ago by Maik22 from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Uživatel "Morgan" to tady jasně a jednoznačně zhodnotil. Opravdu se hodí maximálně do nějaké míchačky. A samostatně? Jedině na "ex".

Posted over 2 years ago by Koozieguy225 from United States with 6 ratings

This is a very average rum, drinking this right now mixed with a cherry coke. Not too strong tasting, goes down easy.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory from Australia with 27 ratings

Good for getting smashed as a uni student. Not comparable to real complex rums.

Posted about 4 years ago by Dr. Brittlebone from Sweden with 17 ratings

Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold 35% (Jamaica)

Eye: Gold

Nose: Pretty forward smell of hard lemon drops, public toilet, industrial soap, faint vanilla, over ripe fermented honey dew melon and something like sour star fruit. Very light and thin impression. It also reeks of old fridge-damaged vegetables. There is also something that has a slight resemblance of light, cheap chocolate.

Mouth: Sugar and diluted eau-de-vie with a twist of lemon and artificial vanilla sugar. It is thin and unrefined with no trace of self-worth or dignity. This is the captain of a sinking ship in lukewarm salty water. For a second I thought I sensed cinnamon but that could be wishful thinking.

Reaction: I have had this in coke with ice before and have enjoyed hundreds of them. Now I wonder why? Well, I was young and stupid - just like this beverage right here. Maybe it is unfair to taste it as a sipping rum but at the same time, and in all fairness, a drink should be able to stand on its own I think. How else can I compare? Well, this may be the last I see of this horrible rum-like booze.

32p

Price: 243 SEK
Tasted: 2016, in a Riedel Sommelier Cognac XO glass at room temperature.

Posted 9 months ago by Jason Berman from United States with 44 ratings

Tell someone you’re into rum and instantly they’ll think of this. There’s so many better budget minded rums that are far superior. Just buy some Cruzan if you want to save money.

Posted over 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 134 ratings

This is perhaps the first one to be named by most people, when they are asked to list rums. That is a little funny, when you think about the fact, that it is illegal to call this a bottle of rum in some markets.

Nose: Vanilla, vanilla, vanilla and a little caramel. Very sweet.
Taste: Nothing but the sweetest artificial vanilla flavour. Can feel my blood sugar rising.
Overall: The most famous bottle and perhaps the worst I have ever tasted. This has nothing to do with rum and is not even fit for mixing.

Posted about 2 years ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

This is one of the worst "rums" I have ever drinked. Is it even legal to create something like this without warning sign?

Smell: Nothing. You only smell pure alcohol from this thing. No fruit, no flowers, no nothing.

Taste: This is what you put to your coca-cola if you want to ruin your day.

If you hate your life, this is rum of your choice.

Posted about 2 years ago by Martin from Slovakia with 13 ratings

- taste: 19/100
- value for money: 18/100
- score: 18.5/100
- price: under 20 eur

Posted over 2 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

Legitimately just a Diageo bottle of sugar and artificial flavours.

Posted over 3 years ago by FilipT from Czech Republic with 42 ratings

Hodí se pouze do drinků. K pití samostaně jedině na ex.

Posted about 1 year ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 15 ratings

even coke can't hide how cheap and artificial this rum tastes

Posted about 1 year ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 46 ratings

This is cheap bottom shelf "rum" "spirit drink" with a very unnatural lookin colour and taste.
Very heavy on artificial vanilla concentrate, some baking spices can be found underneath the vanilla.
Very syrupy and oversweet.
Has very artificial taste profile, probably the heavy use of artificial liquid vanilla concentrate.
Makes cuba libres and other cocktails too sweet but works very well in hot coffee drinks though.
Final verdict: I understand this is popular beginners rum but i would recommend bacardi oakheart instead if you want a budget spiced rum, its not perfect by any standard but it is bit more natural than this.

Posted almost 2 years ago by FamousOlSpiced from United States with 8 ratings

Captain Morgan's fairly low hanging fruit for a bad review, but honestly it's one of the worst things I've had to drink in a very strange way. My nose and palate are far from developed, and I haven't had a chance to try more expensive and intricate rums, but I feel like having a better sense of the flavors involved would only make this rum worse.
When I first opened the bottle I was greeted with a sweet, vanilla scent, mixed with alcohol and what I can only describe as plastic/play dough. I foolishly tried it straight, only to get that full, awful plastic-like flavor right down into my stomach. I've seriously never had anything that immediately made my stomach upset that quickly.
My next move was to pour it into some coke, a classic combination that I've heard many people say was acceptable. Well, it made the coke undrinkable, so I gotta give props to someone who can stomach it.

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Is this even rum? Tastes like syrupy vanilla and cinnamon with cheap spirit

Posted about 2 years ago by Freek Lambrechts from Belgium with 40 ratings

Chemical, too sweet and sugar flavour. Not even good enough as a mixer

Posted about 2 years ago by Dagot from Russian Federation with 12 ratings

Prepare your brain for russian english:
Unmatured spirit is generously dressed with vanilla and a little more other spices. Other spices are added apparently to make it possible to write "Spiced". In fact, it's must be called "Vanilled". Sugary aroma as a whole is not bad and pleasant, but it's senseless to drink, only vanilla and alcohol feel. Watery.
The official site says that the distillate is aged in oak barrels, on the bottle it is written - unmatured distillates. The company itself does not know what it is selling. Something is brought from Jamaica (I hope that from there, I hope that it's still rum, although who knows), fill with vanilla, add dye and sell under the guise of a drink based on rum. Purely marketing is a cheap product for youth parties with cocktails, when you need a cheap and sweet product. Well, women like it. For lovers of Spiced rum and classic rum do not recommend.

Невыдержанный ром щедро заправленный ванилью и еще немного других специй. Другие специи добавленны видимо для того чтобы можно было написать Spiced. По хорошему надо писать Vanilled. Слащавый аромат в целом неплох и приятен, но пить его бессмысленно, чуствуется только ваниль и спирт. Водянистый.
На сайте написано что дистиллят выдерживается в дубовых бочках, на бутылке написано - невыдержанные дистиляты. Компания сама не знает что продает. Что-то привозят с Ямайки (надеюсь что оттуда, надеюсь что это все же ром, хотя кто знает), заправляют ванилью, добавляют краситель и продают под видом напитка на основе рома. Чисто маркетинговый дешевый продукт для молодежных вечеринок с коктейлями, когда нужно подешевле и послаще. Ну и женщинам нравится. Любителям Spiced рома и рома вообще не рекомендую.

Posted about 2 years ago by Angel from Mexico with 3 ratings

It's ok as a mixer. This is the first rum that almost everybody tries, including me, because is cheap and famous. Alone it tastes kind of awful, but as a mixer with coke is fine. A lot of artificial vanilla taste and smell.

Posted over 2 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

This is the type of product that gives rum a bad name. It's distilled to a neutral grain spirit and then has artificial coloring and flavoring put back in. If your favorite beverage calls for spiced rum, you're better off using a higher quality straight rum, a splash of Pimento dram and a dash of Angostura bitters. You'll get a much better flavor than Captain Morgan.

Posted over 2 years ago by Alejo from Argentina with 29 ratings

This cant be called rum. Pure vanilla taste, lack of spirit aroma and pure bullshit. Dont even consider buying this bottle. Total rip off.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mati from Poland with 15 ratings

Taste very good in evry drinks, especially mixed with lime.

Posted over 2 years ago by Greg from Belgium with 23 ratings

Excellent à l'apéro pour qui aime le goût un peu vanillé, coca/glaçons

Posted over 2 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

If you want to drink rum, drink rum, not cheap mass produced spirit with flavours.