Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold rum

Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold

Puerto Rico | Spiced

4.3/10 (368 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
19
30
60
73
97
53
24
7
5

Rate Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


368 Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by belgiumtom from Belgium with 9 ratings

Tastes like Chocolate with vanilla , good to blend to give it a special touch.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Mayfield017 from United States with 3 ratings

It is cheap and it is good for mixing drinks. Not a solo drinker

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 58 ratings

I bought this in a supermarket in Edinburgh a couple of years ago. I was on a city trip with my wife and we wanted something to sip before going to sleep in our hotel. It should have been something in between the sweeter taste of my wife and my more adventurous taste. I am glad to say our marriage is a lot better than this.

Ok, this is a mass product to please the masses. Operates in the same market as Breezer and Vodka/Redbull 15 years ago and Hugo and those horrible sweet semi-cidres these days. The character comes mainly from sugar. Worst thing is that it doesn't even taste as horrible as some say, apart from the sugar overload, it is just going nowhere and you are not supposed to even think about that. But does it actually say rum anywhere on the label?

It is on Rumratings, I drank it once so I reviewed it. Can we get back to real rums now?

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 17 ratings

even coke can't hide how cheap and artificial this rum tastes

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 64 ratings

This is cheap bottom shelf "rum" "spirit drink" with a very unnatural lookin colour and taste.
Very heavy on artificial vanilla concentrate, some baking spices can be found underneath the vanilla.
Very syrupy and oversweet.
Has very artificial taste profile, probably the heavy use of artificial liquid vanilla concentrate.
Makes cuba libres and other cocktails too sweet but works very well in hot coffee drinks though.
Final verdict: I understand this is popular beginners rum but i would recommend bacardi oakheart instead if you want a budget spiced rum, its not perfect by any standard but it is bit more natural than this.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by FamousOlSpiced from United States with 8 ratings

Captain Morgan's fairly low hanging fruit for a bad review, but honestly it's one of the worst things I've had to drink in a very strange way. My nose and palate are far from developed, and I haven't had a chance to try more expensive and intricate rums, but I feel like having a better sense of the flavors involved would only make this rum worse.
When I first opened the bottle I was greeted with a sweet, vanilla scent, mixed with alcohol and what I can only describe as plastic/play dough. I foolishly tried it straight, only to get that full, awful plastic-like flavor right down into my stomach. I've seriously never had anything that immediately made my stomach upset that quickly.
My next move was to pour it into some coke, a classic combination that I've heard many people say was acceptable. Well, it made the coke undrinkable, so I gotta give props to someone who can stomach it.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Is this even rum? Tastes like syrupy vanilla and cinnamon with cheap spirit

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Freek Lambrechts from Belgium with 40 ratings

Chemical, too sweet and sugar flavour. Not even good enough as a mixer

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Dagot from Russian Federation with 12 ratings

Prepare your brain for russian english:
Unmatured spirit is generously dressed with vanilla and a little more other spices. Other spices are added apparently to make it possible to write "Spiced". In fact, it's must be called "Vanilled". Sugary aroma as a whole is not bad and pleasant, but it's senseless to drink, only vanilla and alcohol feel. Watery.
The official site says that the distillate is aged in oak barrels, on the bottle it is written - unmatured distillates. The company itself does not know what it is selling. Something is brought from Jamaica (I hope that from there, I hope that it's still rum, although who knows), fill with vanilla, add dye and sell under the guise of a drink based on rum. Purely marketing is a cheap product for youth parties with cocktails, when you need a cheap and sweet product. Well, women like it. For lovers of Spiced rum and classic rum do not recommend.

Невыдержанный ром щедро заправленный ванилью и еще немного других специй. Другие специи добавленны видимо для того чтобы можно было написать Spiced. По хорошему надо писать Vanilled. Слащавый аромат в целом неплох и приятен, но пить его бессмысленно, чуствуется только ваниль и спирт. Водянистый.
На сайте написано что дистиллят выдерживается в дубовых бочках, на бутылке написано - невыдержанные дистиляты. Компания сама не знает что продает. Что-то привозят с Ямайки (надеюсь что оттуда, надеюсь что это все же ром, хотя кто знает), заправляют ванилью, добавляют краситель и продают под видом напитка на основе рома. Чисто маркетинговый дешевый продукт для молодежных вечеринок с коктейлями, когда нужно подешевле и послаще. Ну и женщинам нравится. Любителям Spiced рома и рома вообще не рекомендую.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Angel from Mexico with 3 ratings

It's ok as a mixer. This is the first rum that almost everybody tries, including me, because is cheap and famous. Alone it tastes kind of awful, but as a mixer with coke is fine. A lot of artificial vanilla taste and smell.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

This is the type of product that gives rum a bad name. It's distilled to a neutral grain spirit and then has artificial coloring and flavoring put back in. If your favorite beverage calls for spiced rum, you're better off using a higher quality straight rum, a splash of Pimento dram and a dash of Angostura bitters. You'll get a much better flavor than Captain Morgan.