Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold rum

Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold

Puerto Rico | Spiced

4.3/10
430 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
22
36
71
87
113
62
27
7
5

Rate Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

430 Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by James Young from United States with 6 ratings

What is there to say... Capt and Coke please. Not as good as others, but it works.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by CJ1999 from United Kingdom with 84 ratings

It’s just so simple. A last resort for someone on a night out wanting some consistency okay spiced rum. Nothing special.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Stercky from Belgium with 1 rating

I always have a bottle of this rul at home for making a rum cola

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by evets0452 from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

Does what it says on the tin, 'cheap and cheerful'. Not the worst tasting but not the best, wont break the bank.
Has to be mixed

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 74 ratings

This not be a sippin' rum. Not unless you already be three sheets to the wind, you just don't care, or you gave up the ghost weeks ago. Aye, she smells nice. A little sweet, with a little vanilla, and the tiniest hint of oak. As taste goes, she's less sweet, but vanilla comes through more. Not pickin' up any other spices in this "spiced" rum. She be relatively smooth, but weak. Weak in flavor, and weak in body, like a swab on his first day at sea. Aye, there be better captains in this fleet, but this one? Be ready to pollute it up with any other libation you have on hand...

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by ultralisk from Canada with 3 ratings

There is no reason why you should ever buy spiced rum. Add your own spices if you want spiced rum you don't know what the fuck they put in there.
There is also no reason why you should ever buy Captain Morgan or Bacardi.. There are so many options around the same price point that are way better, there is no reason for you to keep buying this garbage.

Stop following the crowd, and buy a good rum.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Supreme from Canada with 37 ratings

This is the gateway rum haha started with this one in highschool as I think we all did !

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 80 ratings

This is where rum begins for nearly everyone. As an introduction to rum you can do worse (*shudders at the thought of Kraken*) but of course you can do way better with a little research too. If you go to your local bar and order a rum drink, odds are this will be the rum they use (unless you ask for something else). It’s decent enough for what it is, just know that there is a whole universe of rums that are waaaay better and can be found with some research. Basically Capt Morgan Spiced is to rum what Jack Daniels is to whiskey.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mayfield017 from United States with 3 ratings

It is cheap and it is good for mixing drinks. Not a solo drinker

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 89 ratings

I bought this in a supermarket in Edinburgh a couple of years ago. I was on a city trip with my wife and we wanted something to sip before going to sleep in our hotel. It should have been something in between the sweeter taste of my wife and my more adventurous taste. I am glad to say our marriage is a lot better than this.

Ok, this is a mass product to please the masses. Operates in the same market as Breezer and Vodka/Redbull 15 years ago and Hugo and those horrible sweet semi-cidres these days. The character comes mainly from sugar. Worst thing is that it doesn't even taste as horrible as some say, apart from the sugar overload, it is just going nowhere and you are not supposed to even think about that. But does it actually say rum anywhere on the label?

It is on Rumratings, I drank it once so I reviewed it. Can we get back to real rums now?

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 21 ratings

even coke can't hide how cheap and artificial this rum tastes