Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold rum

Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold

Puerto Rico | Spiced

4.3/10 (368 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
19
30
60
73
97
53
24
7
5

Rate Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


368 Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Dr. Brittlebone from Sweden with 17 ratings

Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold 35% (Jamaica)

Eye: Gold

Nose: Pretty forward smell of hard lemon drops, public toilet, industrial soap, faint vanilla, over ripe fermented honey dew melon and something like sour star fruit. Very light and thin impression. It also reeks of old fridge-damaged vegetables. There is also something that has a slight resemblance of light, cheap chocolate.

Mouth: Sugar and diluted eau-de-vie with a twist of lemon and artificial vanilla sugar. It is thin and unrefined with no trace of self-worth or dignity. This is the captain of a sinking ship in lukewarm salty water. For a second I thought I sensed cinnamon but that could be wishful thinking.

Reaction: I have had this in coke with ice before and have enjoyed hundreds of them. Now I wonder why? Well, I was young and stupid - just like this beverage right here. Maybe it is unfair to taste it as a sipping rum but at the same time, and in all fairness, a drink should be able to stand on its own I think. How else can I compare? Well, this may be the last I see of this horrible rum-like booze.

32p

Price: 243 SEK
Tasted: 2016, in a Riedel Sommelier Cognac XO glass at room temperature.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Avalius from Belgium with 1 rating

Better than bacardi, a decent cheap one to mix rum and coke

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Jonbee56 from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

Tend to use this as a generic spiced. It’s inoffensive and smoother than supermarket brands and only a little more expensive

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

sorry CM but this is deadly, taste like spirits with carmel and some spice, but even with drink it is just deadly, do not recommend even on hardcore party, Sorry i just feel disappoint. taste 3 glasses, thats really deadly taste.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Dan from Romania with 6 ratings

Maximum 1-2 glasses, at the beach or at the beach bar 😁

Small img 20201129 151150

Posted at Restaurante El Velero 10 months ago by Pacorro from Spain with 51 ratings

Le encuentro bastantes notas y no es ni demasiado fuerte ni dulce, no llega a los 40 grados, aunque si se compara con otros especiados pues......bueno siempre hay mejores, también en el otro sentido, lo prefiero solo y por 6€ el litro que más se puede pedir?

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by TherealslimJJ from Canada with 4 ratings

Every bar has this, mixes well, but will go for something else on the shelf if I have a choice.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 62 ratings

Na festival nebo party stačí, ale beru to jako levné pití. Určitě žádný požitek z dobrého rumu se nedostavi. Levný alkohol s colou na zábavu, nic víc.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Anny1996 from Netherlands with 6 ratings

Smaakt okay. Ik word er wel elke keer ziek van. Zelf zal ik het nooit meer drinken.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by NobleEskimo from Canada with 13 ratings

I’m a Spiced Rum guy so if I’m sipping it, or using it in a craft cocktail, it needs to have personality. Captain Morgan is not that, although it would be a crime to give it anything less than 5/10. It’s not bad, it’s generic, and works perfectly with Coke or Ginger. Should always have a bottle on hand if you’re a fan of simple mixed rum drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Philinarium from Russian Federation with 25 ratings

Нет яркого вкуса, хотя ромовый аромат присутствует. Отдаёт дешёвой спиртягой. Возможно, в коктейлях норм.

Doesn't have rich flavour. Some rum-like aroma is present, but with cheap spirit harshness. Maybe it's good in cocktails, but not as a sipper.