Posting your rating...
Nine Leaves Angel's Half American Oak rum

Nine Leaves Angel's Half American Oak

Japan | Gold

4.8/10
11 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
2
2
1

Rate Nine Leaves Angel's Half American Oak

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

11 Nine Leaves Angel's Half American Oak ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small stevesspirits v4

Posted 1 month ago by StevesSpirits from Canada with 34 ratings

Nine Leaves: Angel's Half American Oak Cask

Here's a rum from the Japanese 🇯🇵 distillery Nine Leaves. Nine Leaves is a relatively new distillery, starting operations in 2013, but is getting some international recognition in the world of rum. This rum uses evaporated cane juice, then distilled via pot still before being aged in American oak casks for one year. Presented at 50%ABV.

On the nose I find white wine, sake, plum, perfume, kiwi, vanilla and floral notes.

I get cream and pepper on the palate.

The finish is medium in length with pepper and is dry.

Unfortunately I was having trouble pulling out additional notes with this sample, but it was a tasty rum (just not as good as the others enjoyed during this tasting).

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Domstadtkerl from Germany with 39 ratings

Let me start with the good things: its different, its interesting, it has an incredible complex aftertaste.

What keeps me indecisive about the rum is the smell and the taste in general. Its sharp and spicy. More whiskey kind of aroma. The 50% give you a good punch at first. Then when your mouth gets used to the alcohol, you do taste lots and lots of fresh fruits. Maybe a bit like strong pot still jamaican rums.

If you like this kind of sharpness and richness this rum is definitely worth the 60-70€ and a 9 or 10. I myself cant say im a fan of it, but its definitely a nice experience.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Isegal from Germany with 78 ratings

its very special nothing i can compare with, but i like it very tastfull

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Zoltan Redbeard from Switzerland with 16 ratings

Il Nine Leaves Angel's Half American Oak, chiamato così perché invecchiato per sei mesi in botti di rovere bianco americano (contrariamente al French Oak che è invecchiato in rovere francese), è un particolare rum artigianale giapponese dall'elevata gradazione alcolica (50% alcool vol.).
All'olfatto si distiungue per l'accentuato aroma di caramello e vaniglia dal quale fa capolino un accenno fruttato, mentre al palato, oltre all'accentuata presenza di alcol, si nota inizialmente una presenza di pera che però, dandogli il giusto tempo, si evolve in bacche e frutti di bosco.

Tutto sommato un buon rum, sicuramente da provare almeno una volta.

Small img 20200524 104415

Posted over 2 years ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 77 ratings

Too strong, missing smell of rum. Sharp on first taste...

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 442 ratings

Strange aroma, burning sharp first taste. Short aftertaste with fruit tones.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Bocherens from Switzerland with 10 ratings

Au nez, on reconnaît à peine un rhum. Très agressif, limite térébenthine. Ensuite, ça ne s'arrange pas. Notes trop violente de caramel et de vanille, caractéristiques d'un rhum agricole de qualité médiocre. Finalement le prix et beaucoup trop élevé pour un rhum aussi médiocre, il devrait valoir une vingtaine d'euros et non plus d'une centaine.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Tof68 from France with 16 ratings

Au nez des fortes notes de fruit (poire notamment), en bouche très alcool. En blind test on aurait du mal à dire qu il s agit d un rhum. Très spécial et déroutant.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Dominik Starosta from Germany with 13 ratings

This is a tough one. Hard oak and caramel in the nose. Slight hints of Sake. Some sweet vanillapowder reaches out. On the palate you can find honey, apples and green lime juice. Typical sugarcane fragrance in the Finale. Unusual but great.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Klaus from Germany with 61 ratings

Der riecht schon sehr schlecht und so schmeckt er auch. Bei einer Blindverkostung hätte ich auf Grappa getippt. Grappa mag ich sehr gern, aber den nicht.