Posting your rating...
Saint James Quintessence rum

Saint James Quintessence

Martinique | Aged

8.3/10 (11 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
2
3

Rate Saint James Quintessence

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


11 Saint James Quintessence ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by TommyVinegar from Belgium with 46 ratings

My heart will weep when this bottle is gone. My bottle is currently half full (or half empty, depending on your outlook on life). Seeing as it retails for over a 100 euro's, I won't be able to replace it quickly. Saint James Quintessence is truly a great spirit. I like rhum agricole in general - I don't have much of a sweet tooth - but they can get a little heavy on the grassy-leavy-horsemanury-side. This rum is generally quite dry, though there is an initial subtle wave of vanilla-butterscotch-sweetness. There is a little burn, enough to get me excited (I don't like my rum too smooth), not enough to put me off. In the aroma I smell vintage books, old museums and tapestries, and a grand stable with prize horses, greased leather sadles, wood, hay and manure, but it has a mineral quality as well, evoking an image of boulders in a mountain stream next to a meadow. The finish is loooooong, longest I've ever experienced. And very dry, almost like a brut champagne. A little sour, like a granny smith apple, but not at all unpleasant. Some dark, bitter chocolate, oak, burnt coffee and orange peel in there as well. When it's all gone a slight butteryness lingers in the mouth, though my tongue feels dry. The bottle is very regal and french looking with a huge cork, very Napoleonesque, and this rum definitely shares some flavours with other typically french drinks like cognac, calvados and pastis, although I am not at all an expert on those. All in all: if you are into rhum agricole, or rums that are not too sweet in general, pick this one up when you get a chance.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

The sugar cane is present with hint of vanilla, honey, brown sugar. Wooded side and the typical flavors of agricole rum. A lot of complexity and develop in the mouth several waves coming aromas of fruit and spices while remaining on the plant. Very long aftertaste. Waiting two years to taste it but not disappointed. Rate = 8,5

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

A true rhum agricole, excelent aftertaste, elegant and sublime. Fantastic flavour.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

I was waiting for this moment since a long time. I'm now reconciliated with agricole rums. I have to say that my first experience was the St James Cuvée 1765. This was clearly not a good idea but now it is a totally other story with the Quintessence. I have really enjoyed tasting this one ! :-)

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Laurent Folichon from Belgium with 37 ratings

Ce rhum est dominé par des arômes doux et fruités de figue et de datte séchée. En bouche, les saveurs classiques d'un vieux rhum avec des notes de café torréfié et d'épices. L'usage du terme classique pour évoquer un prix trop élevé à mon goût pour ce mélange de 6 cuvées.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Gilles from Luxembourg with 31 ratings

You taste immediately the saint james quality. Very good not too strong. Expensif but worth every sip.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Rum tasting in the Finnish wilderness with my good old friend started with Saint James Quintessence XO. Very nice high end bottle and label design. Light golden color. Awful grassy Rhum Agricole notes followed with plenty of young alcohol to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Nasty and very cheap burn at the end.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

Smooth, a bit smoky in the nose and on the tongue. But also prunes and coffee.Very nice and long aftertaste of toffee. Like every Agricole: not sweet. One of my all-time favourites

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Melda from Czech Republic with 60 ratings

Opravdu neuvěřitelně jemný rum. Chuť švestek, datlí.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc-André from Canada with 29 ratings

D'une élégance et d'une finesse sans pareille dans l'univers des rhum traditionnel ( agricole ), la Quintessence est un petit bijoux.

Une succession de goûts nous éclatent en bouches les uns à la suite des autres.

Cacao en entré, pelure d'orange suivie de noix, et pour finir une descente chaude et longue qui nous laisse un goût de vanille sur tout le palais. ( et la gorge bien chaude )

Une grand parmis les grand.

Top 3 à vie.