Posting your rating...
Bristol Classic 1998 Caroni rum

Bristol Classic 1998 Caroni

United Kingdom | Aged

6.8/10 (12 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
5
1

Rate Bristol Classic 1998 Caroni

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


12 Bristol Classic 1998 Caroni ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This 15yo rum from Trinidad gives you a noseful of tobacco and dried fruit. The taste is full of wood, wood and more wood, plus butterscotch and spice. Adding a few drops of water does little to soften the burn but it's so smooth and easy to drink regardless. Aftertaste of smoky liquorice and oak. Delicious and warming. A rum to savor neat on a cold day.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

A very worst rum, nothing special, very harshing, strong, to alcoholic. I'm very disapointing, Secret Treasure Old Trinidad Rum 1996 Caroni Distilery is a dream compared with this shit. It also has a "delightful" taste just like smoky diesel.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jesper Frandsen from Denmark with 50 ratings

Meget lækker Bristol Caroni - kan klart anbefales.

Ffffff

Posted 15 days ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 73 ratings

Not as powerfull as I hoped for. Bit mild actually taken to account it’s a Caroni Taste and nose is good. Try it If you want to challenge the sweet tooth.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 195 ratings

Like all Caronis from 1998, this one is rather dirty. But I discovered also some fruits in the background. I think this is because of the dilution to 40%. We should consider the times where it's almost impossible to get a Caroni under 100€. I like it also with the dilution, it offers nice flavours.

The nose is characterized by leather, car tires (rubber) and tar. In the background are some fruit aromas (black currant and plum).
The same is reflected in the taste. Leather, car tires and tar, followed by fruits such as black currant, plum, citrus.
Finish: short/middle long, citrus, molasses, bitterness, some tar

I like also to mix this rum with the 10y Bristol Caroni. The 10y Bristol is more medical/fruity but not dirty enough. In combination with this one the two Caronis become spectacular.

Sweetness: 1/5
Spice: 2/5
Fruit: 2/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Value (99€): 3.5/5

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

A very good natural (no cask finishes) 10 yo Caroni, bottled at easygoing 40%. The low alcohol % does take away from the spirit some, but you get the typical Caroni notes of vanilla and fruit, plus the motorboard oily character and a touch of smoke. No additives, no added sugar - as it should be. Let the spirit - Not fake additives and sweetening - speak. Lovely.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ronnie bo jensen from Denmark with 27 ratings

Nice and easy entry-Level caroni.... not as fullbody as 1996... But Nice and good

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 67 ratings

Die Verdünnung auf 40 Prozent hat dem Rum überhaupt nicht gut getan.
In Anbetracht dass mich die Flasche mal 40 Euro gekostet hat geht Das in Ordnung.
Wer aber einen 74 er Bristol oder einen Kirsch Caroni getrunken hat der schüttet diesen Caroni besser ins Cola

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Tried the Bristol Classic Caroni 1998 edition bottled in 2015 on a cold evening. This is a whisky lovers rum. Very woody to the nose and palate. Surprisingly strong floral burst at the end on the taste test. Semi dark golden color. If you like your single malts woody, then you will score this in 8-9 range.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Fredrik from Denmark with 50 ratings

At a low 40% this rum has its potential to be great, ripped out from under it. This is the story of a Caroni that got wasted