Posting your rating...
Chalong Bay Light rum

Chalong Bay Light

Thailand | Light

4.6/10 (14 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
2
1
3
2
1

Rate Chalong Bay Light

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


14 Chalong Bay Light ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mark from Thailand with 24 ratings

I don't know how this product made it to the market. It has an off taste which is hard to describe, somewhat sour. Reminds me of the smell from a sugar cane processing factory I visited as a kid.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tij1988Belgium from Belgium with 3 ratings

Rum distilled in french imported alambic with cane sugar out of local thai production. The distillery is located south of Phuket Town.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by BigDaddy from Thailand with 7 ratings

I live in Thailand and I enjoy rum so when given the opportunity to try Thai rum, I thought.... Why not? Having now tried it, I can now explain with some authority why I shouldn't have and why I would not do it again. This smells unfamiliar to me, as if trying to mask sugar cane aromas with chemical sweetener. The taste is not much better for my palate. I would rather have bacardi carra blanca and that's saying something. Didn't go any better in cocktails, overpowering and overwhelming everything else.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 53 ratings

For those who have ever visited a sugar mill, the smell is of fresh crushed cane. The taste is raw. Stripped of any flavor and is more akin to what I image of paint thinners.
Someone gifted me the bottle. Struggling how to dispose of other than the sink.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Diego from Australia with 20 ratings

Quite different to other Thai spirits like Sangsom or Hong Thong as it's not Sweet, but Dry and even a little sour. Not what you'd expect but goes well with certain cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Your typical white rum it is not. A unique taste, strange even...salty? Odd, but in a good way. Vegetal (agricole notes also).

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by KaemonAwa from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Cane, perhaps little corn, not too complicated but really solid rum, very reminiscent of French agricole style, if not exactly the same in terms of production. It lacks complexity, but mixes fairly well and can actually be sipped, although I believe it won't suit many people's tastes.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

This is a rather confused rum which can't decide whether it wanted to be fruity or a sipping spirit. The flavours come through as you swallow, while it remains smooth as water as you swish in your mouth. Flavours reminiscent of a mild tequila come out once they hit. Overall, a terrible sipping rum, but could be a quality mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jiri.tutsch from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Ty hodnoceni tady me fakt mrzi. Tenhle rum mi doporucil chlapek ve warehousu a naprosta bomba - uplne neco jineho, ale uzasne na vychutnavani. Pokud jste nekdy v thajsku ochutnali cikrovou třtinu, tak tenhle rum chutna presne stejne tak syrove.
Skvělý rum! Který mi doma nesmí chybět.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Bought a bottle of Chalong Bay Thai rum while vacationing in Guadeloupe. Very nice old school bottle and label design. Super dry Rhum Agricole style flavors alongside coffee beans, cocoa, citrus and plenty of floral notes to the nose and palate. Very strong burn at the end being so dry. This is a mixer rum by all counts.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 69 ratings

Taste better than smell. Kaffir and lime, cocoa milk inside? Rambutan...
Not again.