Posting your rating...
Diplomatico 2002 rum

Rate Diplomatico 2002

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


89 Diplomatico 2002 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

508e682df3e6ed7228f994fee7871469.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Tinyhunter from Switzerland with 26 ratings

From all rums this is currently my favorite rum. Flavors of caramel, hint of coffee and mild in the back. Not sweet, just great. We love this rum...

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

This 2002 version is smoother than the 2001 version. Climate conditions are certainly the reason . Notes of honey , caramel, vanilla and exotic fruits. Super sweet , very long finish. It is closer to the vintage 2000. Another very good rum from Diplomatico.

52acf3a11e3f6acf119061d53fc090d2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Needs time in the glass as it gently wakes up. I'm not qualified to discuss this rum properly, I only know I've found a special rum. I poured myself a small sample, made the most of it and now I feel almost nervous pouring myself more. It's as though this drink frowns at you for disturbing it without a valid reason. You're pouring me into that glass for no special reason?? How dare you.

Rum cognac. Proud owner.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2575 ratings

Tried Diplomatico 2002 Single Vintage in Caracas last year and it is an amazingly smooth rum, but the reality is that Reserva Exclusiva is less than half the price and offers you 95% the same experience. In its own right, this is a spectacular rum. Try it out, you won't be disappointed. Single Vintage 2002 has a very nice high end bottle. Toffee, light oak and sherry are clearly identifiable to the nose and palate.

Baeaefd9629592e22ba1b27644b5f718.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Zenox from Sweden with 7 ratings

Spicy, but sweet finish.It's a bit pricey, but well worth it.

C0f998c66f19a1143cb6e85ca5a6dc17.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Staffan from Sweden with 26 ratings

This was not really what I expected. It's nice but I think even the simpler, cheaper Reserva Exclusiva is tasting better. It's elegant and a bit more demanding, some cognac tones to the usual Diplomatico taste of vanilla and bitter orange zest. Good but not my choice

19312ec8c6187fb3c4f19403f90a6178.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by SveinMagnus from Norway with 21 ratings

The entire series of Diplomatico Single Vintage is incredibly well made and with amazing flavour, balance and complexiy. Also they are super smooth despite having very little sweetness which shows this is the work of a master distiller.
The 2002 edition had a spicy flavour of roasted oak and treacle, scoring a record 94/100 in my notes! Hands down the best rum I have ever tasted!

B45809a17bafe1c7b71e0eb4e822dc0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

And not just the bottle. I'll have to come back and edit this review, but for now I can say it's quite quite good. I might prefer it to the ambassador even. It tastes a little cleaner but you still sense its cask aging.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 433 ratings

I drank this side by side with the Diplomatico 2000 and 2001, which are some of my all time favorite rums. The bottle was identical with the exception of the vintage. Smell and taste were nearly identical. If fact, I tried to distinguish them in a blind tasting, and struggled to tell them apart.

Has an amazing smell of rich butter toffee, caramel, and butterscotch, with a light sherry taste that isn't strong enough to detract from the rum. Taste is an amazing follow up to the nose. So good, the 43%abv strength is perfect. Simply an amazing rum!

12ed51c119d70dc15b5191208ed82060.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

This is seriously NOT a great rum. The sherrywine + sugar added (premiumisation by more sugar) is NOT impressive at all. Diplomatico's base spirit in this sucks. And no amount of coverup helps. Sad to see how easily others buy the storyline of a "fine spirit". It is a far cry from that.

E4762d45f65efc647bc8007fae0fdb9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 243 ratings

Sherry flavor is most apparent, if you pay attention the plumes on the background become apparent in the after taste. Interesting experience, but a bit pricy for that.