Posting your rating...
Siesta Key Toasted Coconut rum

Siesta Key Toasted Coconut

United States | Flavored

Siesta Key Toasted Coconut rum, a version of their Silver Rum that’s infused with real toasted coconut and natural spices. Honey is added before it’s bottled at 70 proof.

via American Rum Report

7.9/10 (26 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
12
3
4

Rate Siesta Key Toasted Coconut

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


26 Siesta Key Toasted Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Cd8e547fce646905ede255ba1da34e90.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Wayne from United States with 2 ratings

This is a fantastic rum for tropical drinks. It adds a smooth coconut flavor to the drinks that makes one think he is on a tropical island. Best of all, for me anyway, is that the distillery is in Florida.

Ec1c5f502fd815cf7a03c0a8ac4fd746.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

I'm going H.A.M.! Hot damn, this is good. First tasted this at the 2016 Miami RumFest. I quickly tracked it down at Total Wine and bought two bottles. This rum, which is 70 proof, actually has a toasted coconut flavor (as labeled) with a nice rich rum taste at the forefront. It is not overly sweet and can be enjoyed on its own, but is a champ in tropical drinks. I'm sure this will become widely available due it's great flavor.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 436 ratings

This is one of the better coconut rums I've tried, and I've tried a lot. So why a 6? Because it's a flavored rum, which I don't like nearly as much as aged rums. Still, I scored this higher than most of the other coconut rums I've tried. As of this review, my favorite coconut rum is the Koloa Kaua'i Coconut.

Tastes of toasted coconut, spice, vanilla, honey, and pie crust.

62490d1c7a2d982e5c2c07640bdef36f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by XenoCorey from United States with 43 ratings

Incredibly underrated, probably due to rarity. This casts a long dark shadow over any other rum posing as coconut flavored.

C539b9795f27ebf7529ee095ffc53ed4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by ProfessionalFloridian from United States with 13 ratings

Dumping flavors into young spirits is one of my biggest pet peeves. If you're a small upstart, of course you need time to age and perfect your product. But all the rums I've had from Siesta Key felt phoned in and shortcut. A good white/silver rum or blend is a fine way to start. Going for the low hanging fruit with flavored rums for people who don't know or care about the differences is a huge turnoff. My hope is the folks at Siesta Kay have some rum packed away in casks and in 8 to 10 years we'll see some more refined and crafted rums, and the winecoolerish candy sweet syrup rums will go away.

5bbd9ca275891e24bc9dcf6802217abe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

This is an excellent rum to sip if you like the taste of toasted coconut. i am not sure it would hold up well in fruity tropical drinks as it is probably not assertive enough. But why would you want to when it is sooo good on its own?

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This stuff is positively delicious. It's a flavored rum, but without any sickening sweetness or questionable additives. The toasted coconut flavor is positvely resplendent with soft, buttery tones and genuinely rich, fruity goodness. Available at Total Wine for $23.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Elsewhere in a review I wrote a while back I proclaimed Koloa Coconut to be the best coconut rum. Now it's tied for first with Siesta Key Toasted Coconut rum.

First off, it was tough trying to track down a bottle in the first place. I had read how good this rum is online and decided to try it but no one for a while could get a bottle. I emailed the company back in November, 2015 and it turned out the demand was so high that they just ran out and wouldn't get more out the door until February, 2016. This rum has gotten very popular. Eventually I got a bottle to try.

The folks at Siesta Key have another absolute winner.

First it is a beautiful straw/light gold color. Swirling it in my snifter reveals good long legs as well as a good cling to the wall of the glass only to slowly slide to the bottom.

The fragrance is also absolutely outstanding. None of that cloyingly sweet artificial coconut smell most cheap rum emit. Rather this smells like toasted coconut mixed in with a noticeable sugar cane aroma. Very nice.

The flavor is exceedingly nice. Definitely sweet with vanilla undertones to go with the toasted coconut but none of that cloyingly/sickenly sweet stuff the cheap rums offer. No significant burn. A nice warmth from the 70 proof rum. Not sure if it is aged in oak barrels but there is really is little, if any, oakiness present. Very smooth.

Now if you want a massive coconut flavor along with alcohol in your tropical drink get the cheap stuff. But if you want a coconut rum worthy of sipping neat then Siesta Key Toasted Coconut is one of only two coconut rums I would recommend (see first paragraph above for the other).

The good folks at Siesta Key rums are doing things right in that part of Florida and word is getting out at how good their rums are. Their products will spread and demand will continue to increase. I expect good things for them.

6148ad8200bb141f8d25381332d7fde6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Ernieren from United States with 3 ratings

It has amazing flavor made with real toasted coconut flakes the flavor shines. You can drink this neat or mixed with oj an pineapple juice

06e775de3ea659802819e69660ac783b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by je_farley from United States with 103 ratings

Maybe not as fun as the Sugar Island or sweet as Malibu, more of a full body that makes this special in the category of flavored rums. Mix or blend, a little tough as a sipper, this is a great addition to your home bar. Not saying get rid of the Sugar Island, one of our favorites, but add then play with this "adult" rum.

6640234cbf09d597f2a330a1e5351c6c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by dgross from United States with 1 rating

Smooth perfect rum, drink it neat. Also, excellent over vanilla ice cream.