Posting your rating...
896 8-Year rum

896 8-Year

Barbados | Aged

6.5/10
24 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
9
9
2

Rate 896 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

24 896 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 74 ratings

It's noticeably smooth to drink but in muting the harshness they seem to also mute the flavors. There are some mild dried fruit flavors with a bittersweet vanilla finish. It's good and smooth but nothing pops. I will revisit this as I do most of my reviews.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I admit right up front that I am a fan of Barbados rums.

This rum has a nice rich amber hue that borders on mahogany. It has a very nice aroma. Swirling it in my snifter reveals long, slender legs. A subtle aroma with hints of sweetness.

The flavor is surprisingly mild. Smooth enough for sipping but rather plain. Some initial sweetness at the outset and some oak undertones but mild. It's the best word I can come up with: mild. Not much of a burn for an 80 proof rum. It does have some butteriness to it and noticeable vanilla undertones. Could be sugared a bit. I am not sure. Doesn't seem to be much, if any.

This rum is kind of an enigma...sort of tasty but something is lacking. Can't quite put my finger on it. I may have to revisit this review sometime down the road.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Chet from United States with 192 ratings

For an 8 year old rum I would expect more. Decent with a splash of coke or in a cocktail but "NEAT" it is not.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Robert from United States with 77 ratings

Not much flavor. Good with cola but not much else.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by KrisE from United States with 1 rating

Nose is pleasant
Feels a bit watery and cheap
But has some upside might make a better cocktail rum then a sipper

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by jackw625 from United States with 30 ratings

The flavor is what I’m looking for but it doesn’t com through enough

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by AntonioPatriarca from United States with 7 ratings

I purchased this to be a mixer and it does quite a nice job. I would not consider it a sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Kevin Guske from United States with 6 ratings

Too strong for 8-year aging, but 896 has a nice flavor once you can feel your tongue again.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 401 ratings

After having just tried Old Brigand Black Label, also from Barbados, this one falls several rankings below. It still rates as a 7, but is in a crowded field in my rankings with Don Q Anejo and Flor de Cana 5 Year Anejo. It is a mixer, but can marginally pass as a sipper. Nothing offensive, but nothing memorable either. I don't regret buying this one, but probably not again, with too much competition and others being much more readily available. It also has no added sugar.

Update 02 SEP 2020: This rum has finally passed up my former cheap favorite of Old Brigand, which has also really sunk down in my ratings. This one is still a very good budget rum.

Small inline garnish 2

Posted 11 months ago by poly.pop from United States with 32 ratings

On the nose, noticabley hotter than comparable bottles (Doorlys 8, etc) and less complex. Some caramel and vanilla up front, oaky almost bitter on the tail. Lacks the depth and fruity richness you'd expect from an 8yr Barbados rum.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 12 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 282 ratings

This rum has a nice Golden brown hue I tend to love in my rums. It starts out with a full bodied scent, somewhat similar to Demerara rums from Guyana but it stops short. I have purchased it several times and for around $20 bottle I consider it a value as a mixer rum with full bodied flavor and can occasionally sip it like now.

I gave it a 6 as comparing to my staple table rum Pusser’s that clearly is a bit superior.