Posting your rating...
896 8-Year rum

Rate 896 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


19 896 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I admit right up front that I am a fan of Barbados rums.

This rum has a nice rich amber hue that borders on mahogany. It has a very nice aroma. Swirling it in my snifter reveals long, slender legs. A subtle aroma with hints of sweetness.

The flavor is surprisingly mild. Smooth enough for sipping but rather plain. Some initial sweetness at the outset and some oak undertones but mild. It's the best word I can come up with: mild. Not much of a burn for an 80 proof rum. It does have some butteriness to it and noticeable vanilla undertones. Could be sugared a bit. I am not sure. Doesn't seem to be much, if any.

This rum is kind of an enigma...sort of tasty but something is lacking. Can't quite put my finger on it. I may have to revisit this review sometime down the road.

Posted about 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

For an 8 year old rum I would expect more. Decent with a splash of coke or in a cocktail but "NEAT" it is not.

Posted over 4 years ago by Robert from United States with 54 ratings

Not much flavor. Good with cola but not much else.

Posted 8 days ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 15 ratings

This rum has a nice Golden brown hue I tend to love in my rums. It starts out with a full bodied scent, somewhat similar to Demerara rums from Guyana but it stops short. I have purchased it several times and for around $20 bottle I consider it a value as a mixer rum with full bodied flavor and can occasionally sip it like now.

I gave it a 6 as comparing to my staple table rum Pusser’s that clearly is a bit superior.

Posted 2 months ago by xrodriguez from United States with 14 ratings

Not bad at all for the price. Worked well as both a sipper and a mixer for me

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Not a ton of difference in the 5 and 8 year but is noticeable enough. Still considering this a mixer.

Posted about 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

Nice oak flavor when sipped, but afterburn a little strong. Oakieness took off when mixed

Posted about 1 year ago by narc714 from United States with 49 ratings

This has the same licoricey taste that all Barcardi 8, and 10 year have.
Not a good thing

Posted about 1 year ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

A bit hot for an 8 year rum. Decided to drink with cola

Posted about 1 year ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

Great aged flavor for every day. Nicely balanced and deep richness. Good for sipping on the rocks. Very good price. Not a 9, but a solid 8

Posted almost 2 years ago by poosu from United States with 36 ratings

I though this one might be nice and I was not disappointed. Not sure why it hasn't gotten higher ratings. I like the taste and it' pretty smooth. I paid more than some other raters but it still was reasonable. If I could get nothing else for the rest of my life i would be happy.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Steve Zuckerman from United States with 1 rating

a tasty, inexpensive, all around good sipping rum, ideal to have around as a versatile house rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Troy from United States with 29 ratings

By far it not a bad rum, but it missing something. I always use a lime when mixed with coke, but this brand needs one. I am at a lost for an eight year old rum. I would buy it again only if my other specialty rums were out of stock. If you never tried it, I would recommend it.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dean from United States with 53 ratings

Fairly mild at first and a spicy finish. Probably a decent mixer.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

It's noticeably smooth to drink but in muting the harshness they seem to also mute the flavors. There are some mild dried fruit flavors with a bittersweet vanilla finish. It's good and smooth but nothing pops. I will revisit this as I do most of my reviews.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Michael Roberts from United States with 5 ratings

Slightly above average aroma and taste, but the finish was not the best - a little harsh.

Posted about 3 years ago by GregS from United States with 25 ratings

I've been keeping an eye on this rum for a while. It's bargain priced and the BTI rates it at 93. I had to give it a shot.
It has a beautiful, dark copper color and nice legs. Aroma is a little sweet but with a tiny bit of smoke. I don't taste the sweetness that the aroma hinted at, but I do get a little bit of what may be toffee. Finishes normally and doesn't really have a lasting aftertaste.
A bit odd to me is there is a lot of tingling on my tongue. Unlike most of the other rum I've tried. But it's fairly smooth. I look forward to trying this one's 5 year old sibling. I'll keep a bottle of this in the cabinet.

Posted about 3 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Purchased for $21.99 in Delaware. At first I did not expect a good sipping rum for the price, but it received a Silver Medal from Total Wine & Liquor, so I thought I'd give it a try. It does have a rich dark color and decent legs which is not expected from a $20 bottle of rum. First taste was rather surprising, very good, quite smooth, but not as complex in flavors as other rums. For the money, it is a good choice.

Posted over 3 years ago by NutterSipper from United States with 20 ratings

Initially I thought this was a 6, but given that I keep going back I will give it a 7. Taste profile somewhat similar to K&S 12 or Pampero, not as thick, nor sweet as either one of those two. Notes of vanilla, leather and vintage trunk. You may want to say, that is an awful description, but in the back of the palate it tastes very nice.